Work Weekend-Part Two

Last year, when Honey and I began the backyard portion of our carnage, he had originally thought that we would take care of the area that I showed you on Monday and call it a day.

But I had turned my laser like attention to this eyesore.

017

We planted the Carl something or other grasses last summer after we pulled out the dying, ant infested, red twig dogwoods that had served us nicely for the previous 10-12 years.

That was when the dream was born. The dream to remove the stinky cat pee shrubs that threatened to take over the area. No cats tinkle in there, it is just their natural, stinky smell. I had trimmed them back, which only made them uglier. The hostas were dying a slow, crispy, death. Have I mentioned that we have a shade free yard? This is the shadiest area we own. Clearly not shady enough for the poor hosta. This picture was taken in happier times.

Because the area had been greatly disturbed with the last summer dogwood removal, it left plenty of opportunity for weeds to mosey on in and make themselves comfortable. They invited more friends as the summer went on.

020

We then needed to make a decision about what to plant.

I decided to throw caution to the wind and try my hand at one of my favorite plants, the beautious hydrangea. We will hopefully learn and grow together. I will be ever so sad if they quit me.

The reason that this day was harder was because, once again, there was rock removal involved. Mousey and I got out the trusty gloves, dust pans and empty cat litter containers to scrape up many, many, many wheel barrels full of rocks and redistribute them all throughout the front yard rock areas. You would think there would not be many rocks in such a small area. You would be wrong in your assumption.

004

After the rock redistribution, Mousey and I took our sweaty selves over to Randazzo’s to purchase the all the beauty.

Honey ripped out the bushes of stink, then he and The Boy worked at installing this border to, yet again, keep the mulch on the mulch side of the fence. We are bossy like that. A place for everything and everything in its place!

We already had the stones. They had been around the pool before we had the cement installed. It also keeps the brick pavers from sinking any more.

005

The Boy helped us plant Precious number 1,

006

Precious number 2,

007

and Precious number 3.

008

We then moved the rocks around because our one rock broke into three rocks. Then we mulched like sons of guns. Then we mulched again. If I see any weeds out there I am going to squirt them with weed killer right between the eyes, before I stomp on them. I might even spit in their general direction.

012

The other little area prone to weeds. Look out fellas, consider yourselves WARNED.

013

And THAT, my Friends, is the end of our work weekend.

5 Comments

  1. caprilis said,

    July 26, 2012 at 8:56 AM

    May I suggest that you sprinkle Preen in the mulch now… it will prevent any weed SEEDS from germinating. Some weed ROOTS might already be present in the soil… for those you will need to use Round Up when they start to grow. Check often and get weeds taken care of before they grow up and start spewing seeds all over!

  2. peanuts champ said,

    July 26, 2012 at 11:03 AM

    Very purdy! (I think I am spelling your word correctly.)

  3. warren said,

    July 26, 2012 at 3:40 PM

    You have a rock habitat! They are slow to breed though so you will have plenty of space!

  4. July 26, 2012 at 8:29 PM

    Love it!! Wow! You guys have been busy beavers! Love the hydrangeas-I bought a new one today and am thinking of getting a few more. They are my favorites. Like the comment by caprillis; great idea!!

  5. CapriP said,

    July 28, 2012 at 5:51 AM

    Looks terrific!


Leave a Reply

