Wednesday Hodgepodge

Thank you Joyce for gathering us all together for another week of Hodgepodging!

1. I’m joining my daughter1 in the 101 in 1001 challenge. Essentially you create a list of 101 things you hope to do or accomplish in the next 1001 days. What’s one thing you’d put on your list?

I have several things that need to be done, pronto. I have a get well card to write, a thinking of you note to write and two baby gifts to deliver. I have everything, I just need to DO it!

2. How many remote controls do you have in your house? What’s one item in your home you wish could be operated by remote control?

Too many to count, that’s for sure. Multiple tv, vcr, dvr, fireplace, fan. I wish I could make dinner by remote control!

3. What does having it all mean to you? Is it attainable?

I don’t know, can you ever really have it all? I think that is something our culture strives for, but I don’t think it’s even biblical. The Christian walk is not supposed to be about always feeling comfortable or indulging every whim, or having all the things you have always desired.

2 Corinthians 12:9

New International Version (NIV)

9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness. Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

Philippians 3:7-14

The Message (MSG)

7-9The very credentials these people are waving around as something special, I’m tearing up and throwing out with the trash—along with everything else I used to take credit for. And why? Because of Christ. Yes, all the things I once thought were so important are gone from my life. Compared to the high privilege of knowing Christ Jesus as my Master, firsthand, everything I once thought I had going for me is insignificant—dog dung. I’ve dumped it all in the trash so that I could embrace Christ and be embraced by him. I didn’t want some petty, inferior brand of righteousness that comes from keeping a list of rules when I could get the robust kind that comes from trusting Christ—God’s righteousness.

WOW. That is certainly different from our world view.

I guess when I think of having it all it means I have what I need, and Jesus says His grace is sufficient. I need grace, so I guess I do have it all!

4. What’s your favorite movie soundtrack?

I did not have many records when I was young but my Mom had two that I LOVED. Mary Poppins and The Sound of Music. Played them over and over! I think Abby loved them too!

5. Describe the best view you’ve seen from a rooftop.

 Nothing is coming to mind. Seriously, I can’t remember a roof I have been on, and I am sure I have been on a roof! It’s early.

6. What’s your least favorite thing about summer?

My least favorite thing about this summer has been the unrelenting HEAT! The flipped schedule of the kids gets annoying as well. Most FAVORITE thing? BOUGHT AIR!!!!! I have a deep respect and genuine love for the air conditioner.

7. Our weekly Hodgepodge falls on the first day of August. In ten words or less sum up your July.

Hot, sweaty, melty, yard work, watering, boiling lava, furnace, sweltering, hose, OLYMPICS!!!!

8. Insert your own random thought here.

I am random, therefore I have many random thoughts a single day. These are from today. And mainly concerning the Olympic games.

1. I know that God created us in His own image. What I don’t know is why are so many, so different? I mean fundamentally different? And we all look so different! What must God be like?

2. Watching gymnastics last night made me wonder what in the world would have ever made one curious to see if one could do three somersaults in the air and then land on their feet? Or run like the wind and then propel yourself off a vault and twist all over the place, just to see what would happen? I have never had those thoughts.

3. Will there ever come a time in the Olympics when no more records can be broken, no one is faster or better?

4. If that time comes, will they stop having The Olympics?

5. Why do men divers wear such teeny tiny bathing suits?

6. Why do women volleyball players have to touch in some way after every play?

7. Why do swimmers splash water from the pool into their mouths? This particularly bothers Abby.

8. Do you think these athletes ever just lay on the couch all day and read a book?

9. Or have dinner at Five Guys?

10. Or have dessert AND chips in the same day?

Have an Olympic week, thanks for stopping by!

4 Comments

  1. jodaley said,

    August 1, 2012 at 6:45 AM

    About your random-#8,9,10=no I kinda get the urge to try a flip or three. Not at the age I am now but definitely back when I was a young teenager : )

  2. Susan said,

    August 1, 2012 at 8:32 AM

    I loved all your random Olympic thoughts. About the flipping, we were wondering the same thing… how to you even start to learn something like that? Why? 🙂

  3. Marla said,

    August 1, 2012 at 1:24 PM

    You made me laugh AND you asked good questions! Ha! I wonder too. I certainly hope the athletes get to pig out on a bit of junk food from time to time. And, yes, why did God decide to make us so different? And why didn’t God give me the genes to be a top athlete or wonderful singer? ( :

  4. August 1, 2012 at 6:29 PM

    Hi, I found you through Joyce’s hodgepodge. I really like your random thoughts, agree on the divers’ suit, but I guess better them than the sumo wrestlers…lol


Leave a Reply

