Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys! Another Wednesday, another Hodgepodge. As always, my thanks to Joyce From This Side of The Pond for gathering us together.

1. In an effort to combat obesity, the mayor of NYC has plans to ban the sale of large sugary drinks (anything over 16 oz.), initially in restaurants, movie theatres, and street carts. Corner stores would also be affected if they are defined as food service establishments. You can read more here . Your thoughts?

When I first heard this is sounded ridiculous and my thoughts have not changed much. Do I think people need to drink that much pop? Of course not, but PEOPLE, is this a hill to die on?

One can smoke like a chimney until their hearts are content and their lungs are black, or drink themselves out of a perfectly fine, God given liver, and we are going to single out too large, carbonated beverages as a massive health threat?

Why is buying a large size pop any different that being able to have unlimited refills? Who decides how much is TOO much food to consume at one sitting? What if someone says that coffee causes too much morning stimulation and contributes to road rage?

To quote the fine, fake, American, Forrest Gump, “Mama always said, stupid is as stupid does”.

The ban would not personally affect me one iota. I typically only have a Diet Coke at Mexican Fiesta because I feel that water with Mexican food is just wrong, and it is my perogative to do so.

2. Art festival, music festival, food festival…which would you most like to attend?

I am not really a festival kind of girl.

3. What are you irrational about?

Probably my insistence of clean hands when my family comes into the house. I don’t care that you washed them before you left where ever you came from, or that they are clean, wash them again before you germ up the house with your outside hands! I don’t have to say this much anymore, they are like trained seals.

4. Do you feel confident you’ll have a comfortable retirement?

Honey is all over that sort of stuff, he is a planner, so I would say yes. Of course, God could have other plans.

5. What’s been your favorite Olympic moment so far? (Not ever, just in the 2012 Summer games)

I am going to have to say the race and back story with Oskar Pistorius, the South African paralympic athlete.

The Subject and I had a conversation last night. He thinks Oskar has an unfair advantage. I disagree. I am pretty sure he would not want to have his legs amputated below the knees and attempt running on blades to prove his point.

South Africa’s Oscar Pistorius, right, exchanges bibs with Grenada’s Kirani James, who won the heat. (Johannes Eisele/AFP/Getty Images)

GO OSKAR!

 6. What would you label as the messiest room in your house?

Easy peasy, MOUSEY’S room!

7. Do you follow your heart or your head?

This is probably not the answer Joyce is looking for, but I can’t answer it any other way; my heart and head are co-partners. I don’t feel I am an overly emotional decision maker, but I am also not super analytical. I think about the facts, factor in the feelings, then listen for the Holy Spirit’s leading. That is who I follow.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

My thought is he is a big old hunk of honey.

An inspiration and he seems like a very fine gentleman. He lost his race, but he is a winner at life.

Have a good week!

4 Comments

  1. veronica said,

    August 8, 2012 at 6:35 AM

    WOW, that last picture brings tears to my eyes – Pistorius was my pick for favorite olympic moment as well…I really don’t see how anyone can think of his prosthetics as performance enhancers – the guy has no feet! He is amazing 🙂 Happy Wednesday!

  2. Joyce said,

    August 8, 2012 at 7:15 AM

    I loved his story too. And I loved that moment when Kirani James asked to switch tags…I almost put that as my favorite.

  3. warrenp94 said,

    August 8, 2012 at 10:08 AM

    I think any advantage he has from the extra spring is off-set by the fact he gets no feedback from his feet and he has to feel some degree of discomfort and awkwardness with the blades as compared to someone with legs. And if it was much of an advantage/easy, many para-athletes would compete in the Olympics. I say good on him for being an exceptional athlete and he deserves to be in the Olympics!

  4. August 8, 2012 at 12:10 PM

    Popped in from the Hodgepodge ~ great pics of the paraOlympian!

    thriftshopcommando.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

