The Weekend That Was

Good Monday morning to you all. We had a nice slow weekend, just the kind we enjoy around here.

BSF started last week, and that went well. Really well considering our Administration team of 4 is down to 3, and we were down to 2 on the first day of class, due to the fact that our new secretary’s mother had surgery. Jip and I soldiered on, but not without much gracious help from our former class administrator, Pam, and our wonderful hosts and greeters. Our teaching leader, The Heifer, even slipped back into her old position to help us take attendance. As you can see, it takes a village.

I was up in the sound booth with Pam, to whom I am eternally grateful! As you know, I am a technological idjit. She saved my keester a couple of times. Once the machine was not advancing, and she quickly reverted to the old mouse click to solve the problem. I just said OH NO!!! and covered my mouth with my hands. Clearly, she was the voice of reason up there.

On Saturday, we had a Caregroup kick off gathering featuring food, conversation and a discussion of what we should study. Our last study was Francis Chan’s Crazy Love. Honey and I have been part of small groups for 21 years and I have to say we have never had as much back and forth discussion as we did with that book! Seriously, the pendulum swung, my Friends! Some weeks we loved, some we were stretched, some we disagreed, some we agreed to disagree, some we had epiphanies, and some we flat out did not know what to do with. My main question was what does living that kind of life look like? It made me think a great deal, and I am still pondering. It certainly turns modern Christianity on it’s complacent ear.

We decided on A Case For Faith by Lee Strobel for our next study. I hope it is as…stimulating.

Yesterday, Mousey and I felt the need to get our thrift on. We were going to go to our friendly neighborhood Salvation Army, but on arrival we discovered they are not open on Sunday. We then headed on over to The Value World. Mousey found her usual bag’o’stuff, and I found a couple of things to augment my fall wardrobe.

As usual, Mama Mia inspected my purchases. She said they were permissible. I actually purchased the patterened Merona sweater at the Goodwill a week or so ago. I actually almost paid full price for that baby last year at Target! In the end, I found I could not justify the $20 when I find so many other good sweater deals thrifting. I’ll take $3.99 over around $20 any day! My purchases yesterday were these soft as kittens, silky and stretchy, sleep pants in a totally usable brown color, and this purty in pink sweater. One was $1.60 and the other was $1.80, I cannot say which was which though. It looks like pink and brown are in my fall future.

003

I also bought Abby a pair of Vera Wang sleep pants for .90 American cents, breaking the order she gave me to STOP WITH THE SLEEP PANTS! I feel it is my own personal job to expose her to the joys of stretchy, silky sleep pant-dom. She usually tends towards flannel, and that is fine for lounging, but sleeping, in my humble opinion, requires stretch.

These will be the last pictures of my plants this season, I promise. I am just amazed how well they have done!

006

Those tiny plants certainly grew their little hearts out! I am forever sold on the mighty, mighty, coleus.

007

The hyacinth bean plant finally took off. There are bean pods and everything! This ONE coleus was a favorite, it is huge! And pink. And delicious!!! Please don’t notice the deck. That is Honey’s project for the spring and it will be none too soon. That puppy is coming down and a new Trex beauty is going up.

008

Continuing to love the new shelf thingy I bought at Homegoods. Next year, all the pots will be like the one at the top. Capri Patt assures me this is important. Considering she helped arrange all of this beauty, I am going to trust her on that.

009

My big toe continues to heal nicely. I have my follow up visit this afternoon. I am thankful that there has only been pain rated a 2 on the 1-10 scale, barely any. Thank you Lord!!! One down, one to go.

I am going to try and walk with Keelyody in the morning. Putting a shoe on last week did not seem appealing, but I am going to force the issue tomorrow. I will wrap it up like a swaddling babe.

Well, what did you all do this weekend? Surely you can think of something to share!

8 Comments

  1. Nan C said,

    September 17, 2012 at 9:58 AM

    Is today your birthday, Miss Kel?? I think it’s the BIG one. Happy Big One, Birthday, Kelly. I hope your day is blessed, despite the milestone.

    If today isn’t your birthday, just disregard this post. 🙂

  2. deb said,

    September 17, 2012 at 11:22 AM

    Your flowers are DELECTABLY DELICIOUS! I am going for more coleus next year. Coleus and dragon wing begonias….love. Happy early big birthday!. See my blob on what I did over the weekend.

  3. Joyce said,

    September 17, 2012 at 11:28 AM

    Is it your birthday? Mine is tomorrow : ) Happy Birthday! Our Bible Study starts back up tomorrow too…there are four options and I’m wavering still on which one to do. Your plants are still gorgeous!

  4. Wendy said,

    September 17, 2012 at 11:44 AM

    Your plants really are BEAUTIFUL and i am going to try and remember to get coleus next year. and i think tomorrow is the big day for you…..so happy early birthday….hope I can read the blog tomorrow!!

  5. caprilis said,

    September 17, 2012 at 5:20 PM

    When I read that they were putting you in charge of tech-y stuff I almost spit out my coffee. But I’m sure God will put more people around you to “save your keester” when needed! lol
    I’m gonna try to skype you tomorrow to sing you happy birthday 😉

  6. Tammy Doane said,

    September 18, 2012 at 6:27 AM

    Happy Birthday-Gorgeous Plants!

  7. Whitney White said,

    September 18, 2012 at 1:10 PM

    Happy Birthday!!! I love the scriptures you included.

  8. jammygal said,

    September 18, 2012 at 3:04 PM

    Our Coleus grew to gargantuan proportions this year also. They have been beautiful and no bugs or lacy holes in them either. I am amazed. Your flowers are beautiful.
    I love your purchases paid for in such small amounts of American money. Fantastic!
    I am even less techie than you. I wouldn’t even volunteer for that sound system. Glad things were managed on the first day of BSF!


Leave a Reply

