Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hey Guys! Thank you so much for all of the loverly Birthday wishes yesterday! They were very appreciated and made my entry into the fifth decade somewhat more tolerable!

I want to send a big Happy Birthday to Joyce, who also celebrated a birthday yesterday. The 18th of September was a very good day!  I also thank her for the time and effort she puts in to make the Wednesday Hodgepodge a success every week!

1. What’s the best and worst thing thing about growing older?
The best things are the relationships. Most get sweeter and more loving as time goes on. I love watching our children grow and mature, and I have heard it takes a long time to grow an old friend :)  I know I love Honey more and more!

The worst thing is the body mutiny. I never worried about my weight, aches or pains, fatigue, or waking at unacceptable hours, toenails, forgetfulness, or a skin care regimen. Sometimes I barely recognize who I am. I try and tell myself it’s all about temple maintenance now.

2.   Autumn arrives this week in the Northern Hemisphere…what one thing do you love most about the fall season?

There is a much to love about a Michigan fall. Only one? Nah, can’t do it! I will try and be brief. Beautiful leaves, cooler temperatures, fall clothes, the smells of apples and pumpkin, the end of the watering season, and I hope we love our new fire pit!

3.  Speaking of fall…pumpkin seems to be flavoring everything these days-are you a fan?   What’s your favorite pumpkin flavored food or beverage?

Totally a fan. Love pumpkin spice tea. I have a great recipe for pumpkin chocolate chip muffins that are SCRUMTRULESCENT! I just looked and I can’t find it anywhere, hmmmm.
4.  Since we’re on the subject of fall…what’s the worst fall you’ve ever taken?
The very first thing that came to mind was at Weekee Watchee in Florida. I was walking down some steps carrying 2 year old Mousey. They had these weird, thin, wide steps and I was really watching them because they were so awkward. My attentiveness did not help one iota, I took a wrong step and fell hard trying to break Mousey’s fall. She was fine, I was a little banged up. I’m sure it was a sight to see though!

5.  If you could own a prop from any film what would you choose?

I would choose Kathleen Kelly’s apartment from You’ve Got Mail, and give it to Abby. She has always loved it and would probably like to live there! I know, that’s a big prop, but size was not specified.
6. What’s the most interesting word you’ve read or learned in the past week?

We had to read Genesis 1 this week for our Bible study and I was again struck by the detail and provision in creation.

11-13 God spoke: “Earth, green up! Grow all varieties
of seed-bearing plants,
Every sort of fruit-bearing tree.”
And there it was.
Earth produced green seed-bearing plants,
all varieties,
And fruit-bearing trees of all sorts.
God saw that it was good.
It was evening, it was morning—
Day Three.

14-15 God spoke: “Lights! Come out!
Shine in Heaven’s sky!
Separate Day from Night.
Mark seasons and days and years,
Lights in Heaven’s sky to give light to Earth.”
And there it was.

26-28 God spoke: “Let us make human beings in our image, make them
reflecting our nature
So they can be responsible for the fish in the sea,
the birds in the air, the cattle,
And, yes, Earth itself,
and every animal that moves on the face of Earth.”
God created human beings;
he created them godlike,
Reflecting God’s nature.
He created them male and female.
God blessed them:
“Prosper! Reproduce! Fill Earth! Take charge!
Be responsible for fish in the sea and birds in the air,
for every living thing that moves on the face of Earth.”

29-30 Then God said, “I’ve given you
every sort of seed-bearing plant on Earth
And every kind of fruit-bearing tree,
given them to you for food.
To all animals and all birds,
everything that moves and breathes,
I give whatever grows out of the ground for food.”
And there it was.

The Message

Amazing!

7. When was the last time you locked yourself out of your house, car, or office?  Was it a big deal?

You know, this is not an area I struggle in. I even went and asked Honey if he could remember me ever doing this and he said he could not. The only time I can remember ever locking myself out of the house was when I was growing up. We moved from that house when I was in 9th grade and I am pretty sure it happened when I was in elementary school. I pried the screen off with something sharp and climbed through the porch window. I think I joophered up the screen a bit, but it couldn’t have been that bad because we never talked about it much after that. You know how those things go down in family history.

Now Honey could tell you a tale or two about locking himself out of cars and misplacing keys and the like!!!

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Abby took me to lunch yesterday for my birthday,  because she is a sweetie like that! What I thought was kind of funny? We both had the exact same thought.

We were seated in a booth that had a couple sitting in the booth attached to ours. Right next to us. No isle or anything. They ordered their meal and then never said a single word to each other for the entire meal. Not O.N.E. W.O.R.D. Silence. No convo what so ever. They were probably in their 30s. They didn’t seem mad at each other. It was SO strange. Who does that? Right after they left, Abby leaned across the table and whispered “those people never talked to each other!!!”. I said “I KNOW!”.

Weird.

Oh well, we gabbed enough for the 4 of us.

Thanks for stopping by!

6 Comments

  1. Susan said,

    September 19, 2012 at 6:23 AM

    Happy belated birthday. Continue the celebration with some pumpkin spice tea!

  2. Judy Loeffler said,

    September 19, 2012 at 7:24 AM

    Happy birthday! Glad you enjoyed your luncheon. I don’t think I have had a totally silent meal.

  3. Joyce said,

    September 19, 2012 at 7:33 AM

    Our meals are never silent : )
    #1-Sadly I relate.

  4. April said,

    September 19, 2012 at 12:19 PM

    Happy Belated Birthday to you! I love the pretty changing colors of fall, too! Can never get enough of them!

  5. Marla said,

    September 19, 2012 at 12:33 PM

    Was the couple texting?? Or, playing games on their iphone? And, yes, I too relate to #1. At least many of us feel the same way!

  6. Tammy Doane said,

    September 19, 2012 at 4:10 PM

    Silent meal-:)


Leave a Reply

