Wednesday Hodgepodge

Happy Fall Y’All!!! Thanks for stopping by and my thanks to Joyce for keeping us all on track!

1. The Wednesday Hodgepodge this week falls on John Chapman’s birth date.  He’s more famously known as Johnny Appleseed…what’s your favorite variety of apple?

Most of the time we are a Fuji household, but at certain times of year we jump on the delicious Honeycrisp band wagon!
2.   When did you last say ‘ick’?

Yesterday looking at my poor, after procedure, toes. Let’s hope this does the trick and I never have to talk about my toenails, or lack OF, ever again.
3.   Do you think there’s a generation gap?  Explain.

There probably always is in some ways. Each generation does things their own way, sometimes confounding the previous generation. Sometimes the changes are for the better because of easier access to bigger and better stuff, or technology. But sometimes the changes are not so good, and the previous generation wonders how things have gotten so off course. I imagine my Grandparents generation would have little understanding or patience for the kids coming up now days. The sense of entitlement that saturates our country now would astound them.

All four of my Grandparents grew up in the south, or just about. They all were raised on farms of some sort, whether they grew for others or just supported their own families. They all knew how to work hard and make due without much help from others. Fair, stressed, deserving and rights were probably not big words in their vocabularies. Because of the way that they were raised they wouldn’t understand how people think these days, and that is where the gap comes in.

I think there is even a gap within the last few decades. Not only in work ethic, but in opportunities, personal conduct, what is right and wrong, and most certainly technology.
4.  What’s on your computer screen saver?  Do you leave it alone or change it often?

This is my background page, and it now occurs to me that screen saver is different. We used to have bubbles, but now we have nothing, the screen just goes black.

IMG (31)

Oh well, it’s a cute picture anyway.
5.  If you had the attention of the entire world for two minutes, what would you say?

The only thing worth saying would be to tell them the story of what Jesus has done in my life. And that He can do the same for them.

6.  Four fashion trends to try this fall are-brocade/jacquard (fancy printed fabrics), peplum, lace, and printed pants…which of these four would you be most likely to wear?

Every single one of them would cause me to break out in hives. Seriously.

7.  What can make your bad day better?

Prayer. I know that sounds trite, but it’s true.
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

We watched this movie last weekend, and thoroughly enjoyed it!

Have  a good week!

5 Comments

  1. Joyce said,

    September 26, 2012 at 7:37 AM

    We really enjoyed that movie too : )…and I loved your answer to number 3!

  2. Judy Loeffler said,

    September 26, 2012 at 8:50 AM

    question #3 is really open to discussion and I love your answer.

  3. Susan said,

    September 26, 2012 at 8:52 AM

    I have been wanting to see that movie. Thanks for the rec, I will have to actually follow through and watch it. I don’t like to waste time on a movie that isn’t that great, so I always appreciate good movie advice. 🙂

  4. September 26, 2012 at 11:57 AM

    Love your generation gap answer. This has been the question I have enjoyed reading others comments on the most.

  5. Wendy said,

    October 1, 2012 at 11:50 AM

    Very interesting on # 3. I think my Dad must have lived down the road from your southern relatives. His favorite sayings being ” whoever said life was fair?” and “do you think the world owes you a living?”

    But I think you could rock the print pants!!


Leave a Reply

