Frederick Meijer Gardens and Sculpture Park

Hi Guys!

I feel like I had better tell you all about the week when Mrs. Schmenkman was here before I totally forget what we did. Because, as you know, we are now FIFTY, and Capri’s P and D are both beyond that, and there is slippage and all.

The day after Schmenky arrived we headed across The Mitten to Grand Rapids to check out  The Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park. Capri Deb had been there the weekend before and was singing its praises, for good reason. It was most beauteous to behold!

Right after getting out of the car we were treated to something purty. Don’t you just love a good hanging basket?

002

Deb suggested the tram to see a lot of the sculptures. They were being all considerate about my poor procedure-d toes and I surely did appreciate it. The gardens were beautiful and they had all these unusual things. Since my three companions are all pretty handy in the garden, it was right up their ally.

This was so loverly changing colors. It made good use of a boring white wall.

004 

Driftwood horse sculpture.

006

I think this was called Neuron.

008

Peaceful sitting spot.

010

011 

014

I don’t remember what this was called. I will call it …..Machine Ribs.

015

We were stumped by this one. I have no culture. I don’t get art.

019

Capri Patt gets horses!!! She was a rider and owner and even competed in…. shows where they did tricks. I don’t know what you call what she did. Patt?

023

They had great tails in this area, maybe a homage to the horse tail?

027

The Capri’s! Among the tails!

032

This looks like a little horsey running in a field.

003

Not such a little horsey!!!

034

040

Capri’s Lis and Patt with Frederick and Lena Meijer, after whom the gardens are named. I know them because I have bought our food from their grocery store for the last 23 years. Schmenky gives a smooch. We tried to get her to lick the statue, like our blob friend Warren licks bells. She didn’t do it Warren. Maybe you could add statue licking to your resume. Just a thought.

043

It was a beautiful fall day, everything was in fine form.

048

Found in the children’s garden at an observation station.

059

Kind of gives you a new appreciation for the overlooked cattail, doesn’t it? Those Native Americans were using their noggins. Huggies on the vine.

071 

I loved this statue. I think it was called The Storyteller, but it reminded me of The Grandpa and Ab-Cat.

He was so animated interacting with her.

 069

Her attention was so rapt.

062 

All of these ornamental cabbages reminded me of my Mom.

064

This was a first for me. The Capri’s did not know what this plant was, AND I DID!!!!! It was a popcorn plant. I learned it at a garden walk. When you touch the leaves they smell like popcorn. The flowers are yellow, just like popped corn.

084

Wolf pack.

090

Mowgli and Baloo were huge at our house at one time.

094

Isn’t this the coolest bark? We had gone inside to a tropical garden at this point. It was different and unique and HOT in there.

104

It looks like Capri P’s summer home in Florida.

107

Back into the main building, where even the floor is considered a work of art. I think Capri D said the leaves and flora were made of bronze and placed in with the floor material. We walked on a carpet of art!

110

The beams of the building looked like supporting trees. It was a beautiful place!

112

The day in Grand Rapids will be continued after a break for tomorrows Hodgepodge.

2 Comments

  1. Wendy said,

    October 10, 2012 at 11:35 AM

    Thanks Kel, I’ve wanted to go to the Gardens for years…..you took some great photos.

  2. Nan C said,

    October 10, 2012 at 4:00 PM

    Now I want to go. I’ve never been… to see Frederick’s gardens.


Leave a Reply

