Wednesday Hodgepodge

Howdy! I didn’t get in on the Hodgepodge last week and I missed it! Thanks to Joyce for gathering us all together once again!

1.  In what ways do you indulge yourself?

I consider the DaVinci sugar free chai that Honey buys me online an indulgence. I also go out to lunch with friends quite a bit, usually a couple times a week. I consider the time I spend playing Words With Friends an indulgence!
2.  Have you ever taken a cooking class?  Any interest?  What type of class would you most like to try?

I have never taken a cooking class unless I count the years helping Honey in the kitchen. I don’t like to cook, I am thankful that he does.
3. What does it mean to be a good citizen?

Obey the laws of the land, pay your bills, take care of your family, keep up your house and yard, vote, love your neighbor as yourself, help when you see a need, use your manners, be respectful, raise your children to do the same, don’t be greedy or wasteful, don’t litter, don’t cheat, don’t expect others to do what you should do for yourself, be honest.  There is a start.

4.  ‘Tis the season of the political advert…do these ads influence your vote?
They don’t influence me at all, in fact they mainly annoy me. They are considering Michigan a swing state this year so things are really ramping up. We weren’t even a swing state four years ago and I wanted to rip the phone out of the wall!

5.  What’s something you see today that makes you wish you were a kid again?

I saw a pile of leaves the other day and I remembered some fun times making a mountain and jumping in. You know, as I think about it, I don’t ever wish I was a kid again.
6.  What’s your least favorite cliche?
I am actually fond of cliches and idioms. Is there a difference? I remember thinking that the term quality time was dumb.

7.  What percentage of your Christmas shopping has been completed?  How does that make you feel?

ZERO percent. It makes me feel fine, I am never an early bird.
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Yesterday was  a beautiful day up here in The Mitten! Sunny and in the sixties. Honey and I worked outside and got quite a bit done in a couple of hours. He winterized the sprinkler system, covered up the air conditioners and fire pit, moved the flower pots all together to cover and put most of the furniture and stuff in the shed. I ripped all of the dead and dying flowers out of their pots and gardens. Two big garbage cans full of the best and prettiest coleus and flowers I have ever grown. The last two nights of heavy frost had turned them black and ugly, making the job easier. I always hate the ripping when things are still alive and vibrant.

There is still some more trimming to do, and while the pool is closed and covered with it’s new cover, the solar cover needs to be hosed off and brought downstairs. Honey is hoping to get his gutters cleaned out before it gets freezing out there, unlike last year when he thought he might lose the use of his hands! That’s always tricky timing though, the weather is better earlier, but the leaves have not all fallen. Such a conundrum.

This is all kind of a boring bit of news, but my random thought is, I am thankful to have most of the job done. Autumn seems like it is in a hurry this year, and considering we had such a mild winter last year, we could be in for trouncing. I prefer to be trounced with all of the outside work completed.

Have a productive week!

9 Comments

  1. Joyce said,

    October 10, 2012 at 6:28 AM

    We kept our firepit open last year and had a fire outside on Christmas day. Course we didn’t get much snow last year so this year it could be a different story : )

    Jumping in the leaves! Good one. Do people actually rake leaves anymore? Seems we’re all about blowing them away now.

  2. Marla said,

    October 10, 2012 at 6:34 AM

    I agree with Joyce about leaves. You don’t see raking very much anymore. Instead people use the more efficient (and noisy) leaf blowers!

  3. Sue said,

    October 10, 2012 at 7:35 AM

    Jumping in the leaves was such fun, and yet so simple. 🙂

  4. Mary said,

    October 10, 2012 at 7:51 AM

    Sounds like y’all had a very busy, productive day! My sister & I used to make “leaf houses”: we would rake the leaves in an outline of a house (kind of like “house plans”). Love the imagination of kids!

  5. zoanna said,

    October 10, 2012 at 8:45 AM

    I guess in the Mitten your fire pit gets snowed under, right? Around here (Maryland) they are going strong through the winter. Oh, how I used to love to jump into a pile of leaves! Now I just pray I don’t slip on a wet leaf and end up cracking a bone.

  6. Wendy said,

    October 10, 2012 at 11:29 AM

    I still rake the leaves….those blowers are TOOOOO noisy!
    I like your points on being a good citizen.

  7. Tammy Doane said,

    October 10, 2012 at 7:57 PM

    Jumping in the leaves-great answer. Not much of a cook myself, will gladly clean if someone does the cooking.

  8. Laurie said,

    October 11, 2012 at 9:13 AM

    Many, many years ago, it was okay to rake your leaves into the street and burn them. We could roast potatoes in the fires. And the smell was purely autumn. Too bad things like that have to change.

  9. warrenp94 said,

    October 12, 2012 at 2:25 PM

    Yeah for cliches! I wouldn’t have much to say without them!


Leave a Reply

