Grand Rapids Art Prize 2012

Let’s head back to Capri Week, shall we?

On the same day we traveled over to Grand Rapids to take a gander at The Fredrik Meijer Gardens and Sculpture Park, we also took in a few other sights. The Art Prize contestant entries were scattered all over the downtown area, in buildings and on the streets. We were fortunate that Capri Deb had been there the weekend before, so she took us around to view all of the must sees, and the ones she thought we would particularly enjoy.

This was the winner of Art Prize from last year, located in a college theological seminary hall, conveniently located right across the street from the gardens.

It was awesome, HUGE, breathtaking, so detail oriented and beautiful. Sort of like God, right?

115

All little pieces of cut glass. That kind of talent is God given, that’s for sure.

116

As a person who does not have that God given talent, I can appreciate it when I see it! I can’t imagine having that kind of perspective. That was a huge mosaic.

118

This was in The Am Way Grand hotel. Schmenky and I have actually attended hair shows there, once upon a time in the late 80s. When we had super big hairs. Scary, I know.

All cut squares. Mind boggling.

119

I think this was my favorite. I believe the name was Return To Eden, or something of that nature. I heard that it placed in the top 10.

122

Such detail. Four big panels grouted together.

123

We are studying Genesis this year at BSF, and we were right in the midst of creation that week.

125

How appropriate.

126

To quote God, “it was very good”.

129

I would greatly encourage you to visit Capri Deb’s blob, she has two posts of pictures of many other things at Art Prize from her two trips, and they are most loverly!.

Schmenky blobbed about it as well, and of course they took pictures of the things that struck them, so there is a whole lot of cool, arty stuff to appreciate!

We have a busy weekend on the horizon. The Boy and The Dane are coming home for a long weekend, Goomba is turning FIVE, and Honey and I are flying out to Chicago to pick up a new van for The Ab-Cat, WOO HOO!!! WHEELS again!!!

Have a beautiful fall weekend!

2 Comments

  1. jodaley said,

    October 12, 2012 at 9:47 AM

    I love the mosaic…makes me think of older art you see in churches around Europe. Enjoy your weekend!

  2. October 12, 2012 at 12:23 PM

    Autumn told me about the van last night after she came home from EPIC. So glad that Ab will have wheels again — I’m sure that it’s been difficult for her! 🙂 The art is lovely — I would have never believed that the first picture was a mosaic until you showed more close-ups. Absolutely beautiful! 🙂


Leave a Reply

