Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys! It’s good to be back hodgepodging with you all! Head on over to Joyce’s place to read what others have wrote. Thanks to her, as always, for choosing this weeks questions.

1. Noah Webster was born this week back in 1758….besides the online version, do you own a dictionary?  Do you ever use the hardback copy or is your hunt for a definition strictly online these days?

 We do have several dictionaries, and yes, I do use them. But if I was sitting at the computer, I would probably google the word.
2.  Should public schools ban Halloween celebrations?  What about other holiday celebrations currently under fire?

  I don’t remember celebrating Halloween when I was in school, so kids could probably manage to live without it. There is not a lot of learning going on that day anyway!

I understand the theory behind not celebrating other holidays, mainly Christmas, because of the cultural and religious differences. We live in a city that resembles the United Nations, so I have a good working knowledge that not everyone celebrates the same things in the same way.

I could get behind not celebrating holidays at school. It’s not exactly where I would want my children to learn about Christmas and Easter anyway.

3.  What’s your favorite ‘dog’ movie?

   Homeward Bound was HUGE around here. Full of funny one liners that I believe are used regularly in our house to this day. We loved Shadow, Chance and Sassy.


4.  When were you last somewhere you’d describe as ‘too quiet’?

I have no answer for this one. Nothing comes to mind.
5.  Are you a neat cook or a messy cook?  In other words do you clean as you go or make a big mess and then deal with it later?

Honey tells me I am a messy cook, but I always clean up.
6.  Did you hear about Felix Baumgartner, the skydiver who broke the sound barrier via parachute?  Was your first thought  COOL! or was your first thought CRAZY!  Are you adventurous?

My first thought was WHAT would make someone even think to do that??? WHY??? No, I am a very unadventurous person.
7.  What’s not a word but should be?
Uncrusted
should totally be a word because I could have used all 7 tiles on a triple letter, triple word, Words With Friends turn and earned zipple points!!!!!!!

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

The Boy and The Dane are heading back to Chicago today.

002 

It has been wonderful seeing them on this long weekend.

004 

They have eaten a lot of fruit, eggs and Vernor’s and mainly enjoyed not eating Moody food. We will be sad to see them go but I console myself with the knowledge that they will be back in about 5 weeks for Thanksgiving!

006

Thanks for stopping by today!

9 Comments

  1. Jocelyn said,

    October 17, 2012 at 6:46 AM

    Thanksgiving is in 5 weeks!! wow… I can’t wait lol. Hope you all have a great time then too!

  2. Nan C said,

    October 17, 2012 at 7:27 AM

    Ooh, The Boy and The Dane are cute together, aren’t they?

  3. April said,

    October 17, 2012 at 9:28 AM

    I’m on the countdown, too, until my daughter comes home for Thanksgiving. Those 5 weeks can’t get here quickly enough!

  4. Tam said,

    October 17, 2012 at 10:49 AM

    It is official…..uncrusted is my ick word! Eewww.

  5. warrenp94 said,

    October 17, 2012 at 12:23 PM

    I agree with Nan C. They look good!

  6. jodaley said,

    October 17, 2012 at 2:59 PM

    We loved Homeword Bound in our house too. The boy and the Dane are cute : )

  7. Susan said,

    October 17, 2012 at 3:10 PM

    Homeward Bound was my choice as well. I may have to dig it out and watch it. Yes, we still have a VCR. 🙂

  8. October 17, 2012 at 11:14 PM

    Homeward Bound is a good movie. 5 weeks until Thanksgiving. I look forward to a big ‘ole turkey and a pumpkin pie.

  9. The Dane said,

    October 19, 2012 at 10:41 AM

    We had a wonderful time and are so thankful for you. Thanksgiving come quickly!


Leave a Reply

