Rigmarole

I was up at dark thirty this morning. Shortly after, Skype informed me that Mrs. Schmenkman was also up and computing, so we had ourselves a little chat. My sound was out, as it frequently is, so we Skyped holding the phones. Apparently we cannot speak without looking at each other anymore.

As we chatted about this and that, we told each other what was on the agenda for today and what we did yesterday. It was then I realized that my post was tumbling out of my mouth. She even named it for me.

I believe I may have mentioned a time or 40 that things seldom occur in a straight line around here. I don’t know if it’s a deficiency on our part or just our lot in life. There has been quite a bit of running around regarding The Ab-Cat’s new vehicle. Several caravans of both vans and Juanita the Escape going here for this work and then going there for that work. Then all rallying back around the flagpole of home, only to set off again.

Now we have arrived at this week. I visited my new chiropractor, who will be featured in his own post, because he deserves his own post, and then began my day of rigmarole, or as I like to say, fools errands.

You know how some days your errands can be managed in a circular pattern that requires minimal back tracking? Scratch that. I thought and thought about the best path to take but my errands did not take a satisfying natural path. It zigged and zagged all around the town.

After visiting my new friend The Chiropractor, I went to the Secretary of State to transfer the van plates, get a temporary plate for the old van, get a new handicapped sticker for the new van, and renew my blue handicapped thingy that hangs from the rearview mirror. I had carefully thought out my argument if they told me I could only have one or the other. My argument was this: do you only travel in one car? well neither does she. End of argument.

Can I tell you how excited I was when I got there and there was NO LINE????? On a Monday? At the Secretary of State??? At 11????

I began my spiel to the friendly person, and her first comment was I could not do the transaction because A) I am not Honey and B) I was not The Ab-Cab and C) I did not have either of their drivers license and D) I did not have the signed forms stating I was their agent and could operate on their behalf. Which sounds a lot like something I might have mentioned to Honey when he asked me to to his bidding that morning. He assured me that was not a problem. I should have heeded that still, small voice inside, the former bank teller in me, that refuted his words because official things require signatures AND identification. Fools errand number 1.

I reluctantly left the nearly empty Secretary of State and screamed home to wake Honey out of a dead sleep to sign the form, stole his license and and made Abby come back with me, before the place filled up with many people.

My plan worked, mostly. There were only 2 people in line ahead of us, YEA! We got the plates switched and the temporary plate. As for the handicapped business, not so smooth. The Sec of State employee said our thingy was expired and we have fallen off their system. I need to tell you that they assure you that they don’t expire. What they need to tell you is they don’t expire if you come in every 2 years to get a new one and keep yourself secured in their system. I have not observed this rule because I have a sticker on the license plate of my van, therefore I don’t need the blasted blue hanging thingy.

The Sec of State employee then gave me a paper to be filled out by Abby’s physician stating that she needs handicapped access. You know what I think? I think if you have your own wheelchair and you have a handicapped accessible van with a lift, YOU ARE QUALIFIED, regardless of a doctors note. Just my opinion.

I then headed off across town with Abby as my hostage, because we were not near home to conveniently drop her off, due to all the zigging and also zagging. She travelled with me to a handy dandy online repair place to get a part for our dryer door, which was essential as laundry slows for no man. Or woman.

We then hit up the doctors office, where I dropped off the form and made my request. I am allowed to be her agent there, as well as Honey’s, because I have already signed THAT form on a previous fools errand.

After that, we hit up Meijer to buy fruit and other essentials. We then came home and parted ways, she to her room and me to the kitchen to make soup. Cheesy vegetable chowder and loaded baked potato soup, neither of which Honey partook of because he had to weigh in at work and needed to loose a pound or he would have to buy a pop for everyone else. I am happy to report he lost 2 pounds! No pop for you!

They will all have soup again tonight for dinner because I have Birthday Club and we are going to Applebee’s.

Sometime during this period Honey, Mousey and I all trekked to another body shop to complete the final transformation of Ab’s new vehicle. Van, van, Escape.

Mousey and Ab-Cat had been going to a young adults BSF class on Monday nights. Mousey pooped out early on, but Ab has persevered, so she needed a ride. I scolded Mousey last week for driving her the half hour to drop her off and then coming back home!!!! What a waste of time and gas! I said why didn’t she go to the mall that was 5 seconds away? She did not know there was a mall. Of course she didn’t, it was ALL THE WAY ACROSS TOWNS! Her suggestion was that I go with her and we could hit up the mall together. Well, alright.

We didn’t end up at the mall, because I am not a mall-ish person. Instead we went to Marshall’s and TJ Maxx, where we both scored some essentials. I will share mine in another post if my idea pans out.

We went back to pick Abby up, proceeded home to catch a little of the debate, that I must confess was like watching paint dry, and then went to bed.

See? Rigmarole.

4 Comments

  1. jodaley said,

    October 23, 2012 at 7:01 AM

    Sounds exhausting. The debates make my stomach hurt and I find it hard to settle down after they’re over. Ugh. So glad they’re over!

  2. Cindy Stratton said,

    October 23, 2012 at 9:38 AM

    I’m so exhausted now! ha ha ha

  3. mousey said,

    October 23, 2012 at 1:22 PM

    I did know there was a mall… I’m just broke.

  4. April 1, 2015 at 5:47 AM

    […] I feel like we have a lot of fool’s errand type scenarios around here. I even goggled fool’s errand on my previous blog and 2 popped up right away! You could read about those here and here. […]


Leave a Reply

