Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys! I am so glad our hostess Joyce is up and running again after Hurricane Sandy threw New Jersey under the bus! Welcome to the 101 Hodgepodge!

1.  What rule of life should never be broken?

New International Version (©1984)
"You shall have no other gods before me. Exodus 20:3

If you can do that, you probably have a fighting chance with the rest of them.

2.  What’s your favorite family recipe?

Our family cornbread dressing is pretty awesome! My Mom has a really good banana bread recipe. Our kids would say that their favorite recipe is the one for our cutout cookies, otherwise known as pumpkin cookies. I got the recipe from my Aunt Phyllis, so it is still family.
3.  Is the media manipulative?

Heck YES. Their sins of omission are almost as great. The media should mostly be ashamed of themselves these days. Just report the honest facts and let people come to their own conclusions. And there is where another problem is, many people don’t think for themselves anymore. They let others tell them what is best for them.  
4. Hubs and I saw Skyfall last weekend…are you a fan of the Bond films? If so, who’s your favorite Bond?

I would not say I am a true fan of Bond because I never enjoyed him at all until Pierce Brosnan became 007. I would have said he was my favorite Bond because I generally like him in all things, but this new fellow Daniel Craig is doing a good job too.

5. What is one thing you hope people never say about you?

There are things to be said about me, but I would hope no one would ever say I was emotionally manipulative complaining whiner. That’s just one thing, right?
6.  What’s a nearby tourist attraction you’d like to see, but haven’t gotten around to visiting?

I don’t generally enjoy tourist attractions, so nothing comes to mind. Honey, on the other hand, has been teased about his willingness to track down The Biggest Ball of Twine type places.
7.  Where’s your favorite tree?

There is a tree in front of the church where I attend Bible Study Fellowship that turns the most beautiful colors in the fall.

Our former class administrator Jeanne took this several years ago and gave us one. She said it wasn’t retouched, the colors were all God.

It was looking pretty when I left for Florida, it’s probably naked now.

IMG (32)

I will say that one.
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

I have mentioned before that I walk with my friend Keelyody. We joke that we like to talk about this and that and solve all the world problems. When I went over to get her yesterday, after not walking for almost a month, she said we had better get going, we had a LOT of work to do! She funny!

17 Comments

  1. Hootin' Anni said,

    November 14, 2012 at 6:45 AM

    Wow…the tree’s color is breathtaking!!! As for hunting down the biggest ball of twine…that would be going to Ripley’s Believe it or Not kinda place. Right? LOL

    Your friend’s humor, I like!!!

  2. Nan C said,

    November 14, 2012 at 6:52 AM

    Two random thoughts:
    I read Joyce’s post-election commentary last week and totally agree with her, as did you and MANY others. I almost wanted to print it out.
    Now, question. When you walk with Keelyody, do you walk to her house to get her or do drive to her house? Just wondering. Hubs always says I should go here or there to walk, but I don’t like the thought of DRIVING just to walk.

    • Capri K said,

      November 14, 2012 at 7:40 AM

      I do drive to her house because we walk back in her neighborhood. I used to always walk to her house but it added time and I started to need to get home to work and stuff, so I started driving. It became a habit I guess!

  3. Marla said,

    November 14, 2012 at 7:30 AM

    AMEN to your answer for #3!

  4. November 14, 2012 at 7:31 AM

    I remember that tree. What a beauty!

  5. Wayne said,

    November 14, 2012 at 8:58 AM

    A very nice set of Hodgepodge answers. That is a fabulous tree! Have a great week!

  6. Judy Loeffler said,

    November 14, 2012 at 9:07 AM

    Hubby and I walk the neighbourhood and study the houses. We suggest how to update or fix them up.

  7. April said,

    November 14, 2012 at 10:44 AM

    Great answer to #1! Wow…that tree is stunning! Love the vibrant red color! Don’t you wish it could always stay that way?

    • Tammy Doane said,

      November 14, 2012 at 12:00 PM

      The tree is absolutely beautiful. When my friend and I walk, we also solve the world’s problems!

  8. Jill said,

    November 14, 2012 at 11:52 AM

    The tree pictures takes my breath away! And great answer to #1. It does kind of handle all the other problems in life, doesn’t it?

  9. Tracy said,

    November 14, 2012 at 12:24 PM

    There is a website that lists all the unusual kinds of roadside attractions like the Ball of Twine. My husband one time stopped at the Coon Dog Cemetery.

  10. Carol said,

    November 14, 2012 at 1:41 PM

    And just to affirm you that never describes you. I love seeing you and talking with you. You are NOT an emotionally manipulative complaining whiner! You are a caring, compassionate, lover of the Lord & your family and friends.

  11. Joyce said,

    November 14, 2012 at 6:10 PM

    Oh that tree is stunning! I snapped a picture of a similar tree in my moms front yard. My mom lives two hours south of me and there’s still a fair amount of color here. We’re fading to brown in our neck of the woods.

  12. deb said,

    November 14, 2012 at 8:31 PM

    My favorite family recipe of your family is that spaghetti sauce, so tangy and delicous…..and then there’s also the cheeseball that my kids absolutely love. Yum its that time of year almost!

  13. Mary said,

    November 14, 2012 at 9:15 PM

    That tree is really pretty. I like finding out of the way, not well known touristy things.

  14. J.Day said,

    November 15, 2012 at 2:30 AM

    Sometimes it just seems that all the government needs is a little logic. Nothing is as easy as it seems and I’m in no way crazy enough to jump in there and fix it myself. lol

  15. Jhona O. said,

    November 15, 2012 at 2:10 PM

    That is a beautiful tree! Things are really starting to get colorful around here. I enjoyed your Hodgepodge!


Leave a Reply

