Wednesday Hodgepodge

Happy day before Thanksgiving! Many thanks to our hostess Joyce for hodgepodging the week of a holiday!

1. Turkey-love it or leave it?  White meat or dark?  What’s your favorite thing to make using leftover turkey?

I like white meat turkey the day of and the day after, and then I could be done with it. I might try turkey pot pie if there is anything left after The Boy and The Dane head back to school.

2. Gotta burn off all those carbs the day after a holiday feast so which would you rather do-run a 10K or climb a mountain?

I would never, ever run on purpose, but then again, I would never climb a mountain. On purpose.
3.  Do you feel like social networking has made your relationships better or worse?  Explain.

Mousey says she doesn’t think social networking includes blogging, so I guess I I can honestly say that social networking has not affected my relationships at all. I am not on Facebook, nor do I tweet, instagram, or Pinterest. I have heard from many people that they have reconnected with old friends and acquaintances through Facebook, but I am ok without it.

Mousey would probably be glad to stop sharing hers with me. I play Words With Friends on her account.

4. How do you find and express gratitude for the hard things in your life?

I guess my philosophy is it could always be worse so be thankful for what you have. It is always difficult to be grateful for hard things in the midst of the painful, but if you know the Lord, and really try, you can always see His fingerprints on the situation in some way. I have a very clear memory of sitting in Abby’s ICU room after our car accident in 1995. Her body was broken in ways we couldn’t even fully comprehend yet, but God reminded me that she was still Abby, still the same sweet little girl we loved on the inside. I was very thankful for that.

I also think about the last two weeks of my Mom’s life after her cardiac arrest. She was on a ventilator when we arrived and they didn’t know if she would ever regain consciousness or if her mind had been affected. She was awake when we came in the room and I took her hand. She looked at me and I told her that her hair looked terrible. She smiled with her eyes and I knew she was still there. Oh, that was such a kiss on the cheek from God! Those two weeks were a roller coaster of highs and lows, but being able to eventually talk with her again was one of my favorite blessings. God gave us a chance to say goodbye. So many people do not get that.

Look for the positives and thank God for them. And don’t try and tell me there are no positives, because there is always something. Even in the midst of the awful, they are there. Just the fact that you are mourning something means that at one time you had something worthwhile. Remember that and be grateful.

5.  In the US, the day after Thanksgiving has been dubbed ‘Black Friday’.  Is most of your holiday shopping done live and in person, or is it done more through the magic of the Internet? How do you feel about stores opening at midnight Thanksgiving night? Will you be out amongst the masses on Friday?

Mostly in person but sometimes things are bought online. I don’t participate in Black Friday but I do feel sorry for the workers expected to come in on midnight the day of a holiday. That seems wrong.

My walking buddy Keelyody has strong opinions about this. For years, she and her sister-in-laws have had a tradition of going out early in the morning. Now some of the stores open at midnight, while others still open at 5a.m. She says she doesn’t like it, it’s too hard to stay up late and then get up early!!!
6.  Speaking of the color black-which black item in your wardrobe would you say is your favorite?

Probably my faithful black dress pants. They sure do come in handy!
7.  What do you appreciate about your life today?

I appreciate that all of my People are here with me in the house, including The Boy and The Dane who snuck in late last night. I realize that in the future it will be harder and harder for us all to gather together whenever we want. I am storing these memories up in my heart.
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

I am so looking forward to tomorrow!  Pray I reach my goal of getting the dang Christmas picture taken!!!!!

Happy Thanksgiving to you all and much love to those flung far and wide!

10 Comments

  1. veronica said,

    November 21, 2012 at 9:00 AM

    I feel sorry for the Black Friday workers too! I would want to be with my family rather than working with the chance of being trampled by a mob of people trying to get a deal 😉 Good Luck with the Christmas pictures!

  2. Wayne said,

    November 21, 2012 at 9:13 AM

    Black pants are indeed a nice part of any wardrobe. Have a nice holiday.

  3. Judy Loeffler said,

    November 21, 2012 at 9:51 AM

    I love my black pants. I think I have 6 pairs. They travel well.

  4. Laurie said,

    November 21, 2012 at 12:41 PM

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours.

  5. sterlingsop said,

    November 21, 2012 at 4:27 PM

    Happy Thanksgiving 🙂

  6. caprilis said,

    November 21, 2012 at 5:11 PM

    Happy Thanksgiving to the Schmenkmans!
    Make it a POINT to take the picture first thing…before dinner… no one eats until the picture is taken!
    Have a wonderful day, hugs to you all!

  7. jammygal said,

    November 21, 2012 at 8:45 PM

    Happy Thanksgiving 🙂 hope you get your picture done and that I do too.

  8. Joyce said,

    November 21, 2012 at 11:22 PM

    I loved your answer to #4.

    We took our Christmas photo in August. It is a fun mix of summer and winter, plus we are all in it which was no easy thing to organize! Happy Thanksgiving!

  9. Nan C said,

    November 22, 2012 at 11:57 PM

    My boy, Big Al, has to work at Hoolister on Tgiving night, from 11pm to 6 am (or more). Then he has to go back on (Black) Friday night from 7 pm to close (usually staying until 12 am-ish). I’m sure there’ll more hours on Saturday and/or Sunday. That’s a typical retail Black Friday work weekend that he’s experiencing for the first time.

  10. J.Day said,

    November 25, 2012 at 2:18 PM

    I felt sorry for the retail workers, too. Target was open a large portion of Thanksgiving day as well as all night long. Those poor employees basically had no holiday at all.


Leave a Reply

