Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys!

Thanks for stopping by and thanks to our hostess Joyce for thinking up 7 questions for us all to answer.

1.  Share your traditions surrounding the Christmas stocking.

We haven’t really had a tradition. We typically open presents on Christmas Eve and Santa comes in the morning. I just put all the little things in the stockings that will fit and place them on the couch next to the other gifts.

Our children are now 23, 21 and 18. I told the kids that Santa won’t be stopping by this year, there will just be stockings on Christmas morning. All good things come to an end, but we will have finally started a tradition with the Christmas stocking!
2.  How many hours of sleep do you average at night?  Is it enough?

The most is probably 8 somewhat interrupted and I have been known to get by on as little as 4 or 5. Sleeping at my age is an ever changing entity. Getting up before 3 is just wrong.
3.  If you had to give up one thing for the remainder of this year what would it be?

I will graciously give up beets, oranges, coffee, shrimp and lobster. All of which I do not care for 🙂
4.  The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge (or Wills and Kate as I like to call them) have announced they’re expecting a baby. Do you follow news of the Royals?

I am aware of news about the Royals, but I do not seek it out. I wish Kate and William the best, they seem like a fine young couple. Hopefully they will break the dreadful marriage record of some of the other Royals.
5.  For me,  the sound of childhood is__________________.

Olly olly oxen free free free!!!!! Plus The Beatle’s Abbey Road, Simon and Garfunkel, Three Dog Night all remind me of playing in the basement at my best friend Tina’s house.
6.  Fruit cake-yay or boo? What’s your favorite dessert made with fruit?

To quote Jim Gaffigan, “fruit good, cake great, fruitcake nasty crap!” I like most fruit pies. Carrot cake is yummy, strawberry sundaes are most delicious.
7. What is one thing you want to accomplish before 2012 comes to an end?

I want to get my Christmas letter and picture in the mail. It sounds so simple, it is so not!
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Keelyody and I went for a walk yesterday morning. It was 55 degrees on December 4th and I wore a hoodie and had to unzip it less than halfway through! It started raining halfway through and by the time we returned to her house we looked like drowned rats. Still, FIFTY FIVE ON DECEMBER 4th!!!! This morning it’s 27 degrees, Michigan is nothing if not unpredictable.

This was the sunset we saw when Mousey and I looked out the front door. It looked like there was a fire out there. That God, He sure is an artist.

003

Have a good week!

9 Comments

  1. Tammy Doane said,

    December 5, 2012 at 8:13 AM

    Gorgeous sunset. Weather has been unusual here-high in the 60’s. Many people keep saying we are in for a bad winter-well it isn’t starting rough!

  2. penguinsauce said,

    December 5, 2012 at 9:42 AM

    That is such a beautiful sunset!!! I see pink and blues in the morning… which is also quite pretty too 🙂

  3. April said,

    December 5, 2012 at 10:45 AM

    Wow…beautiful sunset! Loved reading about your sounds from childhood…those, actually, brought back some memories for me, as well. My newsletter and cards went out in the mail yesterday. I was never so glad to get rid of something in my life! One more thing off the to do list!

  4. Judy Loeffler said,

    December 5, 2012 at 12:40 PM

    What a beautiful sunset. You’re right no one else could ever get those colours on their own.

  5. Nani said,

    December 5, 2012 at 4:24 PM

    God sure is an excellent artist!

    We had the same weather as you in “almost Michigan, Ohio” yesterday. I was waiting outside at my doctor’s office for the bus because it was warm, but my book and I had to finish waiting inside when the rain came. And like where you are, today Hubby had to defrost the car windows before he could leave for work. It sure isn’t boring in our part of the word! 🙂

  6. December 5, 2012 at 5:27 PM

    Love your sunset picture. We had the same stocking tradition but they had to stop last year with 6 adults and 7 grandchildren.
    Ah, the Christmas letter….. I am right there with you…. .not written yet

  7. jodaley said,

    December 5, 2012 at 6:48 PM

    I understand the difficulty of a family photo and letter when kids are hither and yon. Gorgeous sunset! Maybe that could be your Christmas card : )

  8. J.Day said,

    December 6, 2012 at 2:30 AM

    It’s amazing how difficult it is just to get somewhere (anywhere) to buy stamps!! I’ve been telling myself for a week, “I NEED to get stamps.” Of course, working 10 hour days and helping my parents hasn’t been helpful in the stamps area. lol

  9. warren said,

    December 6, 2012 at 1:11 PM

    Beets I get, but oranges, coffee, shrimp and lobster? Are you well? You might want to swing by the doc for a check-up!


Leave a Reply

