Merry Christmas Eve

We are pretty much there. I have a teensy bit of vacuuming and baking to do, a cheese ball to make and I need to pick one thing up. Everything is bought, made and wrapped.

It seems like there comes a point every year. A point when I release myself from what didn’t get done (usually the Christmas cards), accept that it isn’t getting done (before Christmas anyway), embrace that it didn’t get done (there is always next week), and move on with the holiday. I have to admit that I got closer this year than I ever have. It gives me hope that one year I will make it!

Last night The Dane made us Danish pancakes for Little Christmas Eve. She described them as crepes with whipped cream, fruit, maybe some jam. They were very yummy and I wish I had taken some pictures, but in my defense it was 11:30 AT NIGHT, and I was hanging by a thread at that hour anyway! I am going to suggest that she do it again when everyone is there and then I can document it with the camera, and with both of my eyes open.

We thought Honey was going to be off for an entire week between Christmas and New Years, but it was all a cruel hoax. A wonderful treat, snatched away. They called them in to work 10 hours a day for all days EXCEPT Christmas and New Years. And to add insult to injury, he has to work days. I don’t think he has been on days since Mousey was a baby. I am disappointed. Bitterly. He says I should try and console myself with the zipple time he is earning, but it isn’t working very well.

We will be heading out to Ruby Tubey’s with my Dad and our Dear Friends The Hostler’s for a fun filled evening of laughter and conversation. Always something to look forward to! Then tomorrow we travel across The Mitten to my Uncle Bob and Aunt Phyllis’ for Christmas Day. Another fun day to be sure.

We wish you joy this Christmas. And peace. And time to reflect on The One who gives the joy and peace. He was the best gift ever.

2 Corinthians 9:15

Thanks be to God for his indescribable gift!

015

Have a Blessed Christmas, from The NutHatch!

6 Comments

  1. caprilis said,

    December 24, 2012 at 9:16 PM

    Merry Christmas Schmenkmans! Love you all!

  2. Robin said,

    December 25, 2012 at 12:33 AM

    Great picture! Have a Blessed Christmas with all of your nut hatchlings…all our best to you! From one Girl Cousin to another!

  3. December 25, 2012 at 3:57 AM

    Love the picture. Merry Christmas to a great family. We wish you joy and peace this coming year.

  4. CapriP said,

    December 25, 2012 at 6:24 AM

    Have a very blessed Christmas Day! I miss you nutties!

  5. deb said,

    December 25, 2012 at 9:12 AM

    Sending all a wish for a beautiful and joyful Christmas Day!

  6. Vickie Herrold said,

    January 7, 2013 at 8:21 PM

    OOOOHHH…I love those thin pancakes, my grandma used to make them, they are um umm GOOD (tinde pandegar) how you say it in Danish, but I don’t know how to spell it. My grandpa left Denmark when he was 3 so his speaking skills were rather limited. And spelling wasn’t included. ha.


Leave a Reply

