Last Bargains of the Year and A Brown Dane

Hi Guys!

Happy New Years Eve! We are going to get our celebration on later this evening with a little homemade pizza, maybe some banana splits and surely some cards. There are things to do before that though. Things like vacuuming and last minute grocery store visits and the last chiropractic visit of 2012.

I went up to Kohl’s over the weekend  to spend the twenty dollars in Kohl’s bucks that were burning a hole in my purse. Not exactly burning a hole in my purse, more like a constant nagging that I would forget to use them. It has happened before and it’s not a good feeling. I usually give them to the Girls to buy unmentionables but I had offered and no one took me up on it, therefore they were squarely back burning holes in my pocketbook and nagging me.

The last time we used Kohl’s bucks our coffee maker had conveniently died, making our Kohl’s bucks purchase easy. We ended up paying $9 dollars for a new one, pretty good deal! This time, there was no obvious purchase so I started perusing. I had a vague idea that I would like a new pair of swippers. I have a quasi new pair, but I really like to have two pair. Because sometimes you can’t find one pair. This wasn’t the pair I had envisioned, but very similar and they were only $7. I am nothing if not flexible.

002

I was not looking for a new scarf but this one caught my eye with it’s purty colors and tiny bit of sparkly bling. When I read $3.60 on the tag I snapped it up! You can’t even buy yarn for $3.60!!!!! The regular price said $36.00 but who would pay that? For a scarf!! At Kohl’s!!??

005

I perused for quite a while in the rug section because our bathroom rugs died a noble death a month or so ago. They were a color that could not be duplicated this season so I focused my attention on greens. They will do, and then I found some for The Ab-Cat’s bathroom. And then I remembered that I needed one by the front door where folks take their shoes off. I was regretting my decision to forgo a cart at this juncture. Especially when I saw that I was going to have to wait in line for many minutes

When I reached the cashier she informed me that clearance was an extra 25% off! I had no idea! So my swippers were $5 and my scarf was $2.90! Bargains of the month!

The Dane has been wanting to do a little something with her hairs. She makes a loverly blonde, but the upkeep is a bane to her existence.

009

She needed to do something. Clearly.

011

She decided to go brown. Light brown, not a shoe polish dark brown, or heaven forbid, black. We mixed up copious amount of equal parts chestnut and brandy, applied liberally, and plunked her under the dryer for 13 minutes, then cooled her jets for 10.

012

Then rinse, rinsing, rinsed all that color off.

016

It turned out well, and made her pretty eyes look SO blue!

020

A new look for a new year!

Have a wonderful evening and I will talk to you in 2013!

1 Comment

  1. warren said,

    December 31, 2012 at 5:38 PM

    Oh def! She was a loverly blonde but I think she is much prettier as a brownie!


Leave a Reply

