The Year of the Corduroy

Hey Y’All, hope you are getting along swell in this first month of the new year. For us, it started off thrift-ily!

Honey texted all of his Girls that The Salvation Army was having a half off clothing sale on New Years Day from 7-10. In a New Year MIRACLE, I convinced The Ab-Cat to join me!!!! I seduced her with anticipation of books, five for a dollar. She even drove her own car so she could split when she was finished, therefore not cramping MY style, or cramping hers by having to wait for me.

While she was happily perusing the well stocked bookshelves, I was filling my cart with things she could try on. That Girl is NOT a shopper, and I know to strike while the iron is hot, make hay while the sun shines, and get when the gettin’s good!!! Oh yes I do! I may never get her into a store for the rest of the year!!! She gave me the stink eye when she saw my heaped cart, full of possibilities for her. But she gritted her teeth and started trying on pants. All manner of pants. Jeans, khakis and corduroy.

The pile on the right is her stash, FIVE new pair of cords and some aqua Life is Good pajama bottoms, S.C.O.R.E.!!!!!!  The brands were Ann Taylor Loft, Jones New York, J Crew, Chaps and Gloria Vanderbilt. These will probably come in handy whenever she gets that job she is looking for. She also found the cute black star bag, to carry her BSF things in, that fits perfectly behind her wheelchair.

008

My haul on the left is also corduroy heavy. I have recently discovered they have a nice amount of give to them, making them most desirable to me. The brands were Liz Claiborne, Sonoma, Jones New York, 2 pair of Christopher Banks, and the Bargain of the Month, 7 For All Mankind. I have heard of this brand on blogs, and tried on some of their jeans at TJ Maxx and Marshall’s, but if memory serves me correctly, found them to be too short. Or too ill fitting. Or something, because I did not purchase them. These were long, and nice fitting, and are now MINE! They don’t even look like they have been worn!

010

When I got home I goggled them and found they were easily over $100. new. That just is unbelievable to me. HALF OFF $4.99 seems like a steal!!! I mainly bought them because they met all of my personal criteria, long and fits. I’m pretty easy. I am pleased with my purchase!

012

Abby’s books! She chose…..wisely.

018

How about you Guys? Any bargains out there with your name on them? Do tell.

4 Comments

  1. Tam said,

    January 4, 2013 at 11:00 AM

    I don’t know if this is what people consider a bargain, but I just bought 83 pair of vintage clip on earrings and 10 necklaces for $40. Love me some good, unique rhinestones to classy up my yoga pants and jeans. BTW…Lovely Bones is awesome, as is Nanny Diaries. Better than the movies. Seriously.

  2. deb said,

    January 5, 2013 at 7:19 AM

    Cords are so comfortable! I love my cordouroy shirts too. We went to the Big Cheap Store in VA, I bought new hangers for my closet,the fuzzy kind that things don’t slip off of. What a treat, and they were a bargain.
    Anyone need any plastic hangers?

  3. jammygal said,

    January 5, 2013 at 7:52 AM

    I just bought my first pair of cords-haven’t tried them on. Love your purchase and Ab-Cat is lucky to have such a helpful mother. Now I want to go to Salvation Army TODAY!!!


Leave a Reply

