News From the D

Hi Guys. I really need to tell you about tutoring last Saturday morning in Detroit.

In December, I mentioned my frustration about connecting with the boy I was assigned to tutor. Our sessions last month were a bust. He was in a horrible mood, didn’t want to do anything,was constantly trying to get upstairs to play basketball without working on anything and I was discouraged. I told you about it here.

I had been praying during the break that God would cause some sort of change, give some glimmer of hope that we would form some kind of relationship. One that didn’t involve him not doing anything or me getting after him.

I have to tell you, I was dreading Saturday.

It’s not like I’m some kind of cheerless taskmaster. I can usually talk with boys. I can be a fun person! We had to find a way to work together.

From the moment we went into the tutoring room on Saturday he seemed better. His mood was better, his attitude was better. He informed me that he didn’t want to do that Bible story cause it’s too long. I showed him it was all on one page, see? The story and a few questions. He looked at it, agreed, and that was it, no more grumbling. I asked him what he wanted to do for math and he went and picked something out….AND DID IT! Then he went and got a game to play. I was surprised that he chose Candyland, but whatever, we played Candyland. He wanted to go to the brain gym portion of the class that was up in the gym. I said ok but mentioned that he still needed to write a summary of the Bible story in his journal. He didn’t want to but I reminded him that he could waste his time trying to get out of it or just do it and we would go to the gym. He sat down and wrote it!!!!!

The whole morning I was just thanking God for how well things were going. It was SUCH an answer to prayer. After the last morning we had, I was pretty sure he could have lived the whole rest of his life without ever seeing me again. I was encouraged.

After the tutoring, they have a gym time. Some of the other men tutors were running with the boys and shooting baskets. My boy endures the whole morning for this part. I sit on the stage and watch because there is NO WAY I could keep up with that child. He is doing back flips, throwing balls all over, jumping rope and running 90 miles an hour with his hair on fire. I noticed that he was playing with a high school guy from the other church that goes down there with ours. After the day was over the coordinator came up and asked me how things were going. I said all right. He said he was considering putting my boy with the high school guy from the other church and did I mind? I said that would be great because he NEEDED a guy!!!!!!! It turns out that guy didn’t have a student. Was that perfect or what??

What I am most thankful for in this whole process is that we went out on a good note. It had been a 1000% better morning than the others. He is going to be happier with this younger, basketball playing high school guy. He may even want to learn something with him.

I think I need to ponder some more to see what all I have learned through this experience, but I do know one thing. God heard me. He knew I didn’t want to be a thorn in the side of this boy. I want him to come and learn, feel safe and accepted and be friends with his tutor and Jesus. He is going to need Jesus in his life to succeed. He has circumstances to overcome and uphill battles to fight. And maybe that high school guy is just the one he can connect with.

That God, He knows what He is doing.

7 Comments

  1. Sheila said,

    January 7, 2013 at 8:11 AM

    This is an awesome “God showed up” story. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Nan C said,

    January 7, 2013 at 8:30 AM

    This was so nice to read! It was an encouragement to my day and to the new year. 🙂

  3. deb said,

    January 7, 2013 at 8:30 AM

    So nice to see answered prayers with such clarity! How wonderful!

  4. Cindy Stratton said,

    January 7, 2013 at 9:33 AM

    How exciting and wonderful!

  5. jammygal said,

    January 8, 2013 at 3:53 PM

    This was so encouraging.

  6. Marcy said,

    January 10, 2013 at 7:34 AM

    So glad about this update. You should have shared this at lunch yesterday. -Excited to hear about your next student.

  7. January 21, 2013 at 11:01 AM

    […] have talked about tutoring in Detroit before, most recently here and here. After I went two weeks ago, I was in limbo. The coordinator decided to put my basketball loving […]


Leave a Reply

