Words In Passing

Today there are two things I am excited for.

One, Capri Patt is visiting from her winter home in Florida!! She came to get her Grandma fix with her grandbaby Lia, and we are squeezing some Capri time in. She also came very far to get her hair cut and colored!

Which brings me to my second exciting thing. I am going to cover up my own skunk stripe. I have a couple functions at the beginning of March that did not fall neatly within my hair coloring time table. It was therefore necessary to delay coloring for a couple of weeks and MAN, Mama looks a little haggish! I’m gonna wash that grey right out of my hair.

I have nothing more for you but an observation. A big lead in, but a profound observation. Sometimes things you say in passing can have an effect.

I saw my friend CMB yesterday. She is someone that I have known forever because we grew up at the same church, Temple Baptist. It has since changed it’s name and doesn’t really bear any resemblance to the church of our youth. Even though neither one of us has attended there in many years, there is still a tie that binds former Temple folk. I call the tie tentacles, in a positive way. They had a sense of community not commonly found. They still maintain connections with each other, 40, 50, 60, years later. They have done life and grown old together, though long separated by location and house of worship.

Our parents were part of a Sunday school class called Harvesters. To this day they still have reunions and some meet monthly to catch up. Unfortunately, they now gather with increasing regularity for funerals as they move into their 70s and beyond.

My Mother was always my main source of information concerning the news of former Temple-ites. She remained in contact with many of these dear friends, some known since her school days. Since her passing, my Dad has been my supplier. But, he is a man, so he generally sticks to illness and death.

This is where CMB comes in. She and I both graduated from Temple Christian School, in addition to attending church there. That is a whole other set of tentacles, but very closely entwined. She is in much closer contact with former members and classmates than I am. She is also very faithful in attending funerals, as again, I am not. Added to that, her Mother is still living, so she is always a fountain of information.

While I cut her hair, I asked about a former Temple woman that my Dad had mentioned was on life support. She gave me the sad news that she had indeed passed away, and about the plans for her memorial service. Since then, I have been thinking about this kind woman.

Her name was Liz and she was a faithful servant of the Lord. She seemed to always be at the church whenever the doors were open. She knew everyone and she knew ALL the news! She was a good friend of my friend Suzanne Suzanna Danna’s mother, so I had fairly regular contact with her in my years at Temple, though for the past 30 years or so, I mainly saw her at funerals.

I am not sure of the timeline on this, but I was grown, and she did not know how to drive. I thought this was shocking and inconceivable that for her entire life she had needed a ride! I can remember telling her in passing conversation, many times, that she could learn. If I could learn, she could learn, and wouldn’t it be great to be able to go somewhere whenever you wanted? I am sure everyone told her the same thing, in fact, I am sure that whoever I was with chimed in with the same thoughts. I’m not sure if she did it before or after her husband died, but Liz learned how to drive! Oh yes she did! I think she even went out and got herself a job!

In later years, without fail, every time I saw her she mentioned how I had encouraged her to learn how to drive. She always said I was one of her biggest champions. I was shocked that I had even made an impression on her. Sure, I remembered casually telling her she could do it, but I had no idea that she had taken it to heart. I am glad she told me.

Sometimes things you say in passing can have an effect.

I am glad it was a good effect.

2 Comments

  1. jodaley said,

    February 19, 2013 at 2:00 PM

    I grew up in a church like that. The building is no longer the church I knew, but the people from my growing up years are still in touch and we’ve reunited a few times. They are the people I think of like my family.

    On a related note, I’ve tried very hard to locate a woman who extended such kindness to me when I was a young mom, but so far no luck. I’m sure she doesn’t remember it as any big thing, but it was huge for me, and I really want to tell her so.

  2. February 21, 2013 at 8:01 AM

    Wow this is so cool and a good reminder to watch our words.


Leave a Reply

