Jiggedy Jig Part 1

Hey Y’All! We’re back!

She said with more excitement than she feels. It was cooler than usual in Florid-ee, and it finally reached 80 yesterday when we left. But on the upside, it was 66 in The Mitten when we arrived home and that has to count for something!

We did an enormous amount of nothing this year, and I mean that in the nicest possible way. If it were not for my Uncle Bob and Aunt Phyllis, who were wintering just around the corner, we would have been total sloths.

We all got out of Dodge on Friday the first. The Ab-Cat declined ALL of our pleas to join us, so she held down the fort at home. With our many felines, felines that she said routinely ignored her.

On Friday the first, Honey and Mousey left The Mitten for Fort Myers Beach, and I left for my trip to Cincinnati with the leaders in my BSF class for our Leaders Retreat. The Retreat is another post for another day. That meant that Honey and Mousey did without my company and activity input until Monday when I finally made it down there. They did fine, just fine. Although I was told that it was FREEZING, and they both asked for me to stick some extra things in my suitcase. Things like long pants and a leather jacket. It might have been chilly, but it was beautifully sunny the entire time. And I can make due with weather in the 70s in March anytime.

While left to their own devices, they took in The Ringling Brothers Museum in Sarasota.

010

Contemplating facial fur.

013 

I am still not certain if this is strictly a museum or if it was the Ringling home.

026

There were lots of pictures of the inside of the museum, all of which I found supernaturally boring. This one did strike me funny though. I wondered if perhaps these urns were the final resting place of Mr. and Mrs. Ringling?

021 

Banyons!

030

They are just so cool!

031

They also did some eating, some ice creaming, and some some thrifting. Spell check, we have had this disagreement before, thrifting is SO a word! Tomorrow we will travel up to Tampa to visit relatives. Enjoy your Monday, I have lots of stuff to do.

4 Comments

  1. deb said,

    March 11, 2013 at 12:13 PM

    Where did they see the huge banyon tree?

  2. deb said,

    March 11, 2013 at 12:19 PM

    This post has reawakened my curiosity about the difference between banyons and strangler figs…I found an interesting article here:
    http://www.eattheweeds.com/wild-ficus-who-gives-an-edible-fig-2/
    Did you know that the biggest banyon tree covers 4 acres and can shelter 2,000 people….its in India.

  3. Tam said,

    March 11, 2013 at 3:46 PM

    Good to have you back. You were missed.

  4. Laurie said,

    March 12, 2013 at 7:26 AM

    Glad your vacation was fun — looking forward to your new posts.


Leave a Reply

