Jiggedy Jig-The Tail End

Let’s head back to our Florida vacation and wrap it up, if you don’t mind.

I still haven’t talked to my Uncle Bob to hear if he ever spoke on the phone with his long lost friend, Fred Hill. Which is kind of surprising, as we talked on the phone about 14 times a day when we were in Florida with him. Probably more than I have ever phoned with him in my life. You know full well that I am exaggerating, but not by much. Talking was a constant on that trip.

Exaggerating is a hard word for me to remember how to spell. I have experienced this trouble before, and spell check is of NO earthly use in helping me spell exaggerate. I had to goggle it. In my defense, it looks like a weird word. It sounds like a weird word. But it is a descriptive word, therefore a useful word.

Back to Florida. I believe I mentioned that our main activities with Bob and Phyllis were eating and talking. And introducing. So lets start with the eating, shall we? They have been telling us about their favorite place for ribs for several years now. It is called Bricktops. We have always intended to go, but have never gotten around to actually doing so, so they took us. And they were right, the ribs were very good, and I do not consider myself a rib girl. At ALL. Honey and Mousey seriously enjoyed their mac and cheese. So much, that Honey has been goggling recipes to try and duplicate it here at home. Last I looked, there is some Gruyere in the fridge in anticipation of this experiment.

We also had pizza, Applebee’s, and ate at some ale tavern by the mall that was just ok, but had some good chocolate cake. But not as good as the yummy chocolate cake we had at The Cheesecake Factory!!

Another thing I need to share about my Uncle Bob is he is an A #1 ice cream hound. As is Honey. Honey saw an article, in one of the many papers he collects on vacation, about a new ice cream place called Handel’s. He mentioned trying to find it to Bob, and right away Bob said he knew where it was, and told us that they had happy hour from 2-4. Of course he knew that. I think we visited 4 times. Not a bad ratio for the 7 days I was there.

Which brings us to the introductions part of the week. Due to the abundance of eating and desserting, Mousey and I shared with Phyllis a little saying we are fond of and frequently use around our house. We heard it in an interview we saw with Oprah and Jamie Foxx. Not sure about the reason he said it, but he made the comment that someone asked him “why your belly so big?”. We say this regularly about our own selves, especially after consuming a large amount of something YUMMY!

Mousey also set Phyl up with a Pinterest account, because we knew Phyl would be ALL over the Pinterest. I can hear the sucking sound of her time being wasted all the way up here in The Mitten!

And lastly, we introduced Phyllis to the thrill of the hunt that is thrifting! Bob was not participating in the safari. AT ALL. But Phyllis had a cart full to try on. She bought more than I thought she would, and she messaged me after we came back to Michigan and told me she wore the tiger stripe blouse to church on Sunday!! When she was at the check out, they asked her if she wanted a punch card that rewards every $10 purchase with a punch, and when you have 10 you get a free $10. She said she did! She declared that she just might go back sometime!! Another Goodwill thrift convert!

The majority of our days consisted of reading by the pool, sunning like lizards, and discussing where we were going to eat next. It was so nice and relaxing. So nice in fact, Honey and I had several conversations trying to remember why we were going home so soon. Mousey had to get back to work and school, but we didn’t! We could have checked out of our condo, dropped Mouse off at the airport, and headed on over to stay with Bob and Phyl for another few days. To prepare her for future trips, we had Mousey navigate us through the airport, get us to baggage, figure out which carousel the suitcases would come out of, and tell her ride where she was standing to be picked up more efficiently. She did totally fine. Good to know for future reference!

When I got home and downloaded the camera, I realized that we had neglected to use it. So I guess I will say that these are some of my favorite pictures, Honey and Mousey leaning over the sink eating pickles.

043

046

Yes, these are my People!

5 Comments

  1. Cindy Stratton said,

    March 18, 2013 at 12:06 PM

    We have Handel’s here in Indianapolis YUMMY!

  2. Laurie said,

    March 18, 2013 at 2:15 PM

    You have “Pickle People”?!?!?!?!

  3. jodaley said,

    March 18, 2013 at 4:14 PM

    I love your vacation photos : )

  4. warren said,

    March 18, 2013 at 9:27 PM

    Pickles for breakfast! That’s the best Butch I know!

  5. March 22, 2013 at 3:50 AM

    Ha! Love the pictures. I also didn’t take many pictures in “said place.” I think it is because we had no kids down there this year.


Leave a Reply

