Friday’s List on Monday- AKA M-ist

I was busy on Friday, so I did not have time for the usual list. I offer it to you today.

The Dane’s Grandfather passed away yesterday, thank you so much for your prayers. She is expected back in Chicago this afternoon. I was getting regular updates from The Boy, but he did not seem to have the answers for the things I wanted to know, so I am hoping to have a phone conversation with her sometime this week. She has been a little off the grid while in Denmark. I am sure she is coming home to the kind of behind-ness that goes along with missing a week of college and work. We are glad she was able to go though, I am sure she was a great comfort to her Grandmother, as well as her parents and brothers.

There is a slight possibility that it could be spring. I make no guarantees, but it has been in the 50s for a few days and while walking Keelyody and I saw some green AND a bud!

That means I must get out there with the Preen before the weeds get all cocky.

Honey has had several guys come out to give him prices to build a deck off The Ab-Cat’s door wall, and to replace our wood decks with a Trex like product.

He does this every year, and every year, after getting sticker shock from the estimates, he makes the decision to do it himself.

And then he doesn’t do it, cause ain’t nobody got time for that!!!

Unfortunately for him, this year something has to give or we are going to break some bones falling through some rotten boards.

Anyone care to place a bet on what gives? Honey’s back, his sanity, or his wallet?

The next bet would be what gives next; Capri Kel’s back, her sanity or Honey’s wallet?

Because, as Honey frequently says, we are married and we have to do everything together. Including losing our minds.

I knew the last couple summers were going to be a grueling mix of hauling, clearing and re-landscaping, and they were. I was hoping to have a little breather this year. I am pretty sure Honey was too.

There’s always next summer.

I got through three episodes of Downton Abbey season 3 last night. No one has died yet, but I know it is coming.

Poor Anna and Bates. Poor Ethel. POOR EDITH!!!!

The Ab-Cat will be so happy to have 4 hours off the DVR!

What have you guys been doing?

5 Comments

  1. deb said,

    April 8, 2013 at 8:38 AM

    Have I ever told you I love the way you write. My sympathy to the Dane and her family, so glad she could be with them.

  2. Honey's Older Sister said,

    April 8, 2013 at 10:51 AM

    We have Trex and believe me we have never regretted. It has been 12 or 13 years and it is still like new and….. they have prettier stuff now.
    Tell Honey to open the ‘ol wallet and just do it. You all will be so much happier and it is practically maintenance free. 🙂

  3. Wendy said,

    April 8, 2013 at 11:36 AM

    My granson told us a story about the “aint nobody got time for that”….so your comment made me laugh, as usual! I haven’t seen the original yet! I’m with Honey’s sister…..spend the money and get it done….but my honey would say he’s do it himself too(but would never find the time!)

  4. warrenp94 said,

    April 8, 2013 at 1:58 PM

    Tell Butch to get building! I have been building a deck myself. I have sticker shock myself just in the cost of materials. I can’t imagine paying someone on top of that to do the work!

  5. Laurie said,

    April 9, 2013 at 7:00 AM

    One of our neighbors has Trex decking, and I want some, too. Our wood deck needs some serious sprucing up this year, after just two years from the last time. I need maintainance free. ( My “honey” also has that wallet problem at times!)


Leave a Reply

