Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys! My thanks to Joyce for gathering us and giving us something to talk about. Head over to her place to join the fun! I hope everyone had a good break, now on with The Hodgepodge!

1. Share one fun thing you did last week, while the Hodgepodge was on ‘spring break’.

I did do a very fun thing last week! My Girl Cousin Joyce called and said her sister, Girl Cousin Vickie, was going to be in town from Indiana, and did Girl Cousin Kay and I want to come over for lunch? You didn’t have to twist our tails very hard to accept that invitation! It was such a nice afternoon! Joyce served a yummy soup and Hudson’s Maurice salad, which I have always heard about, but never had the pleasure of having. She said that was where her Mother (The wonderful Great Aunt Adalene) always took her for her birthday. I said I guess my Mother didn’t love me at all because she never took me there, ever. My Mother had other places she liked to go. Like to Sanders for a hot fudge sundae.

We did quite a bit of talking, and laughing, remembering, and trying to remember what we used to know, and got all caught up. it was a very good day!

2.  April 10th is National Sibling Day…do you have siblings, and if so are you close? Share a favorite story featuring one or all of your siblings. If you don’t have siblings, did you ever wish you did?

I have a sibling. He is a boy and his name is Beeve. We are close in heart and location. A favorite story, that comes up often, is the day he came home with our first pet when he was six years old. He had been out doing who knows what, because back in the day kids wandered. He came home with a little kitten that he found somewhere. Our Dad said he should go back where he found it and ask around to see if anyone had lost a kitten. My Dad said he walked down to the end of the street, looked both ways, and said, “nope, no one lost a kitten”. And that was the end of that! We had a sweet kitty who lived to be 19 years old. We named her Muff. Muffietta King Kong George Elizabeth Grenada Halstead Hoover, to be exact. My Mom always said we had so much fun that first weekend! I guess I have not really been without a kitty-witty since.

Beeve and Muff. She was a good girl.

IMG (36) 

3. Is it important to you to ‘buy American’? Why or why not? How much of an effort do you make to ‘buy American’? If you’re not American, insert your own country in the blank.

When I hear that phrase, I think of cars. In that context, since Honey works for Ford Motor Company, we always buy American. Not always Ford, but American made. That can get tricky though. The plant where Honey works used to be the joint Mazda/Ford venture called Auto Alliance. They produced Mazda’s at that time. So while they were made in America, by Americans, they were considered a foreign car. We did have a couple Mazda cars.

If I think about buying American in other things, I find that is also tricky. I can remember my Grandma Georgia complaining about not being able to find American made products back in the 70s. I think things were from Taiwan then. I would prefer to buy American and would probably do it more often if the goods were easier to find. It seems like whenever I look to see where things come from, 95% of the time they are not American made. I think it is a complicated issue, and a conversation that needs to be had. We need to put more Americans to work, but I don’t know if our need it now and want it cheap society would be willing to pay a little more. Honey would say there needs to be equal trade between countries. We are very lopsided in that regard. We are selling our own selves down the river, and throwing in the paddle as a bonus.  
4. Besides The Bible, what book has impacted your spirituality in some way?

Funny you should ask! These were the first Christian books I ever read, and I recently reread them. I was just as inspired and moved as I had been about 16 years ago. The themes of faithfulness, serving with love, repentance and forgiveness in 80 AD are just as relevant today. When I grow up, I want to BE Hadassah. I think I even got teary at the end of the second book. It makes you rethink the old saying “Bloom where you are planted”.

First print paperback cover002

5. April showers bring May flowers or so the saying goes.  Do you find rainy days calming or depressing?  When were you last caught in a rainstorm? What’s blooming in your neck of the woods today?

I don’t mind a rainy day, but a rainy week gets old. Keelyody and I have gotten caught in a rainstorm while walking, and speaking of walking, we saw our first daffodil yesterday!!
6. What’s your favorite yellow food?

How about lemon meringue pie!
7. April is National Poetry Month…what’s a poem that holds special meaning for you, and why is it special?

I am not really a poem kind of girl.
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Welcome to The Way Back When-sday part of the post. I was looking for a particular picture of Beeve and I holding a little kitten named Muff. Of course I couldn’t find that picture of us, but I did find these. My brother is a very nice man.

IMG_0001 (15)

IMG_0002 (9)

IMG_0004 (5)

IMG_0005 (5)

IMG_0006 (4)

Thanks for stopping by!

9 Comments

  1. April 10, 2013 at 7:00 AM

    I think I will reread those books again. They were so good. It is so nice that you and your brother are close. What happy memories. Love the pictures!

  2. Cindy Stratton said,

    April 10, 2013 at 8:13 AM

    I LOVE Hudson’s Maurice Salad – and the one from the Buhl Bar Cafe in the Buhl Bldg downtown – TO DIE FOR!!!

  3. Judy said,

    April 10, 2013 at 11:35 AM

    Never heard of Hudson’s Maurice salad however I love to drive Fords.

  4. Teri said,

    April 10, 2013 at 11:41 AM

    Buying American is a very complex issues these days. I can’t help thinking the inordinate amount of imports on American shelves has a lot to do with the amount of American debt these countries are holding. They sort of have us over a barrel when it comes to trade agreements.

  5. Theresa said,

    April 10, 2013 at 1:46 PM

    What great pictures and how nice to see how you both grew up in them. We recently rented a Ford while our Chrysler was getting bodywork done and I really liked it. I would consider Ford for my next car for sure!

  6. Zoanna said,

    April 10, 2013 at 6:00 PM

    The ” nope, no one lost a kitten” cracked me up. Sounds like what my baby sister would have said. Animal lovin kids don’t try very hard to give back their finds, do they!

  7. deb said,

    April 11, 2013 at 6:26 AM

    I agree with Zoanna, the kitten story really was sweet. And she lived 19 years!

  8. Nan C said,

    April 11, 2013 at 1:05 PM

    I agree with yours and Honey’s assessment of ‘buying American’, As they say, “It’s complicated.” and we don’t have equal trade with the various countries. Unfortunately, your statement is true. “We are very lopsided in that regard. We are selling our own selves down the river, and throwing in the paddle as a bonus.”

    Also, I was disappointed not to have seen pics of Beeve during his long hair days. 😉

  9. Joyce said,

    April 12, 2013 at 6:39 AM

    It’s good to have a brother. Mine is special too : )


Leave a Reply

