Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys!!! It’s been a sweet forever since I have Hodgepodged! I am back in the land of the living and off our couch, The Scourge of 2013 laid me low but I have returned to blob all the random bits of nonsense you never knew you needed to read!

If you have a hankering, head over to Joyce’s and join the party, they are a nice, chatty bunch!

1. What question do you often ask yourself?

What was I going to do? I then have to walk back to where I was, and then it comes back to me!
2. Do you grow roses? What’s your favorite color of rose?  Ever been given a dozen roses?  Where was the prettiest rose or rose garden you remember seeing?

I have never had roses at our current house, although my Mother gave me some when we lived at our last house. She was a fan of roses, like her Mother before her. They devoted much time and energy to their rose beds. Did this and that and fed them unicorn dust and trimmed them with magic pruners in an attempt to have the fairest roses in the land.

My Mom gave me several as Mother’s Day presents and, for lack of a better idea, we planted them at the back of the house, near the hose reel. The only time I ever noticed them was when one bloomed and I had the fleeting thought of “oh, that’s pretty!”. My Mother was frequently in our backyard with her young grandchildren, so she had the opportunity to view the rose bushes she had so thoughtfully given me. Unfortunately at that time my gardening skills hovered a notch above the thumb of death. Certainly not green.

What I like to remember about this scenario is the occasion my Mom asked me what I did to make my roses so spectacular??!! You can imagine how I enjoyed the look on her face when I told her I did nothing. I did observe that our hose leaked a little and maybe they liked the extra water. I have liked remembering this little story!

I like the pinks, prefer not to receive them (although I have) and I could not tell you whose garden was the fairest in the land. Roses are not my Precious.

3. Do you read the freshness dates on grocery store products?  Will you use eggs past their ‘use by’ date?  Take medication that’s expired? Buy a dented can?

Food does not usually linger that long around here, but I have looked at a date if something has been kicking around in the pantry a while. I have had a tossing fiesta on occasion. I hate to be wasteful, but I am a little grossed out by old food. Honey is even worse than I am about that.

I am not usually aware of an egg expiration date, but as I said, they don’t linger long. I try and buy the undented can, although my recollection of why is somewhat fuzzy. Something from junior high homec class. Our teacher, Mrs. Fane, said it wasn’t a good idea and that is all I recall. Good enough for me.

I have taken somewhat expired medication with no ill results. Usually my back pain medication, because HEY, that cannot be wasted, they are like pure gold! I have purged the kids medicine cabinet and been shocked at how old some things were. They weren’t using them though.
4. Should athletes be role models?

That certainly depends on a multitude of factors. Of course they can be role models for their particular sport and athletic prowess, you can’t take that away from them. Putting their whole life on a pedestal is quite another thing. I am sure there are a lot of athletes that are worthy of being a role model, but there are just as many, if not more, who are self serving, egotistical JERKS. I would have steered our kids to the whole package type of athlete. I remember The Boy often liked the sports hero who was a professing Christian.
5. Edmund Hillary of New Zealand and Tenzing Norgay of Nepal became the first explorers to reach the top of Mt. Everest on this date (May 29) back in 1953. What’s something you hope to achieve in your lifetime?

I would like to finish this life, in all areas, knowing that I finished strong, held true to the Christian walk that the Lord has given me to travel. As a faithful, loving wife, a  helpful mother who points her adult children God’s truth always, a grandmother who can sow seeds of God’s love, and grace in little hearts, a family member who makes the time to stay in touch, a friend worth having, and a loyal servant of the living God. That would be quite the achievement.
6. What would you do if you had twenty acres of land and the money to develop it any way you choose?

I would give it to Honey to do as he saw fit. He likes that sort of stuff.
7. If I invite you to a party with a 7 PM start time, what time will I actually see you there?

7 PM, and I would not stay super late because I am old and can’t stay up that late anymore.  
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

I returned from The Memorial Day Extravaganza Hootenanny with Mrs. Schmenkman in Virginia last night. I feel like I am majorly behind in all areas of my life. Three weeks of The Scourge of 2013 have not helped one iota. There are weeds to pull, the patios to get together, flowers to buy and plant, housework to be done, and new clothes purchased on my trip to be put away. I feel like the month of May was lost to me! There is MUCH to blob about, I hope you will come back to hear about all of the many topics that have been simmering on the back burner for the last 31 days! I leave you with a couple pictures from my Virginia trip. I miss them all.

Beautiful gardens.

003

Mr. C and Schmenky

032

Poppet. She loves me.

037

Evening tv with Poppet and Mr Casey Lee Bumgardner. He liked to have his tail on me at all times.

053

Thanks for stopping by and hope to see to tomorrow!

7 Comments

  1. Lucy said,

    May 29, 2013 at 9:47 AM

    Sounds like you were really under the weather and I hope you are on the mend now. Like you I don’t usually have to toss much food but do pay attention to dates. Love the story about your experience with roses 🙂

  2. jodaley said,

    May 29, 2013 at 10:57 AM

    I felt that way when I was laid low in January-February. Course those are not my most productive months anyway : ) Glad you’re feeling better!

    To answer the question you asked in your comment-Furman

  3. May 29, 2013 at 11:11 AM

    I enjoyed reading your answers! I especially enjoyed your #5. Have a lovely week!

  4. BFG said,

    May 29, 2013 at 11:20 AM

    K you got one heck of a start on # 5
    don’t believe you will have a problem with finishing strong

  5. caprilis said,

    May 29, 2013 at 5:10 PM

    Ditto what BFG said… and you are MOST DEFINITLY a friend worth having! The best of the best!

  6. CapriP said,

    May 29, 2013 at 6:10 PM

    Ditto what they said!

  7. Tammy Doane said,

    May 29, 2013 at 9:59 PM

    Glad you are feeling better. Great answer to #5.


Leave a Reply

