The Reception Deception

Capri Deb and her honey, BFG, have been preparing for their art showing for many months. They are the featured artists at the Two Twelve Arts Center in Saline for the month of May and the first 26 days of June. I KNOW, how exciting!!!!!!!

I have several of these invitations left. One in my car, the laundry room, the office. I just love them. I need to keep them, just to look at them and be proud of the accomplishment of my dear friends!

012

While Capri Deb and Jeff were in the throes of last minute preparations for their much anticipated show, Capri Patt and Capri Lis (Mrs. Schmenkman) and I were in the throes of our own …..deception.

Back in the winter, Deb had told Schmenky the dates of their show in hopes that Schmenk could make the trip up from Virginia to be there on opening night. Schmenky then told a whopper of a lie. She said she couldn’t, because she had to work. Capri Deb and I discussed this at lunch later on and let me tell you, I rolled my eyes appropriately a good, long time to show my disbelief.

What Capri Deb did not know was Schmenky had every intention of coming , but wanted to surprise her and BFG, her brother. So then Patt and I had to keep a secret. That can be hard! We managed quite nicely until the week before, and I had to resort to some unusual answers. Or maybe I just lied, I can’t remember.

The weeks before the reception were the first 2 weeks week of my sickness, named The Scourge for memory purposes. The only thing I had to do those weeks were keep a GIANT secret that threatened to leap out of my mouth at any moment, and do Capri Deb’s hair. Because normally, I would have done her hair sometime in the previous 2 weeks. I am not sure if you are all aware, but when one is hosting an art reception, one MUST have their hair looking presentable. Even I knew that!

The reception was at 7 on Friday evening. Schmenky was due to arrive in town around 2:30 on Thursday afternoon and I was fetching her from the airport. It was then the plan that Capri Patt would join us and I would do both of their hairs. Already knowing this plan, I had to think fast when Capri Deb called to ask if I could do her hair on Thursday afternoon. I probably could have done her that afternoon, time wise, but how would I get her out of my house in time to go and get Schmenky from the airport??? When we do hair we talk, and linger, and sometimes do lunch, all things I love, but how was I going to get her to leave without looking rude or putting on a dramatic show of Scourge relapse?  When Deb asked, I am pretty sure there were minutes of dead air before my brain came up with an answer. I weakly offered, “how about Wednesday afternoon?” And then gave an excuse so lame that I can’t even recall it’s lameness. That is where I could have lied, and I confess it to God and y’all right here. She said alright and I breathed a great sigh of relief.

It was all gravy after that. She and BFG were busy with their preparations and did not expect to see Patt or me until Friday evening. Here is the result of our deception at the reception, tears of surprise!!!!!

002

Some of their pretties. This is new and I think it’s loverly! BFG makes the metal frames and Dab mosaics inside. Fitches!

003

BFG, Sneaky Schmenky, and Capri Deb.

006

Purty horsey.

009

One of BFG’s specialties is metal work. I have seen some of his ships before, but I had not seen the added glass.

010

I quite like it!

011

Capri Deb makes many beautiful things, but I am a little partial to her roosters because they are so darling.

012

013

The star of the invitation. I know for a fact this one sold, LOVE it a LOT! I think the lines are zippers? who’da thunk it??!!

014

The reception was very well attended by friends and family. Deb blobbed about it here, and Schmenky here. 

I think it was a good surprise,

007

for wonderful, talented, darling lady!!!!!!!

008

BFG said he had a “feeling”, you can’t get anything past him!

7 Comments

  1. caprilis said,

    June 10, 2013 at 8:44 AM

    Oh no I did NOT lie! I chose my words very carefully and said
    “I wish I could come but I’ll just be starting back to work around then and will be very busy.”
    I certainly wished I could come, I was just starting back to work around then, and I was very busy!
    Absolutely no untruths were told!

    • deb said,

      June 10, 2013 at 9:44 AM

      Yes, you are right! And you made the evening that much more special…even though you made my mascara smear.

  2. Nan C said,

    June 10, 2013 at 8:57 AM

    I realized that I’d never reported back on MY visit to the Two Twelve Arts Crnter. My daughter and I enjoyed it, but I was hoping there’d be more. My daughter was impressed with BFG’s work. She also asked if we could purchase the large fish & seaweed composite. I said ‘no, too big’. I would have loved to have purchased one of her smaller pieces, had they not been already sold. I especially liked the raffled off daisy.

    Lovely pieces, Capri Deb!

    • deb said,

      June 10, 2013 at 9:30 AM

      Thank you,Nan! We focused on large pieces that would make an impression on the walls of the gallery, but now I wish I made more small pieces. Live and Learn! The daisy is a charity raffle, a $5 donation to Gleaners gives one a raffle ticket. There is still time to enter, as the winner will be drawn at the end of June.

  3. deb said,

    June 10, 2013 at 9:42 AM

    It was a most delicious deception, and my only regret is that I didn’t get to hang out with the Capri’s on that Thursday! I was totally surprised. I secretly wished Lis’ was going to surprise me, but had abandoned any thought of that because of the actions and words from all. And thank you for the photos, the night went by in a blur and hardly any photos were taken. But most of all, thank you for your sweet words…<3 ❤ ❤

  4. BFG said,

    June 10, 2013 at 11:31 AM

    and a big thank you from BFG-

  5. June 12, 2013 at 7:23 AM

    How exciting and how beautiful everything is. I love the invitation.


Leave a Reply

