Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys! Head on over to Joyce’s to join the Hodgepodgers, it’s a very nice group!

1. What do you think makes a good dad?

I will use Honey for my example, because I have seen him in action for the last 24 years. When we were still dating, Honey talked about how he couldn’t wait to be a father. He had all kinds of plans of doing this and that with them before I was even sure being a mother was IN me. From the day The Ab-Cat, The Boy and Mousey arrived, he has been loving his children immensely.

I can recall my Mom telling me many times that Honey was such a good Dad. She always commented on how much he enjoyed his children, and that was it. All fathers love their children, the majority even like them, but Honey so enjoyed them. He worked a ton of hours when they were young, but it never stopped him from being present and active in their lives. His job was necessary, but his family was his life. He worked to give them security and the opportunities and things that he wasn’t able to have. He modeled a strong work ethic, character, integrity, and a kind and generous heart. He played and sang with them and created adventures and memories that he hoped would make their lives richer and more fun. He tried to be a Godly example, to train them up in the way they should go so when they were old they would not depart from it. He taught them many important things, and many silly things.

So, what makes a good Dad? Loving, present, self sacrificing, God honoring, willing to teach and guide, and fun. And that is the short list of all Honey has done as a good Dad.

IMG_0006 (3)

007

2.  What’s something you learned from your own father?

I have two dads. My Father and my Dad. My parents divorced when I was very young, so for the majority of my life I did not live with my Father. What I learned about that was when the parent is not present, the longing remains. What I learned from my Dad was patience. My teen years were not easy for him, but he somehow believed that I would come out on the other side, and we would be fine. 
3. It’s your birthday-what kind of cake will we be having?

For the majority of my life I chose cherry chip cake, made by my Mother. I still like cherry chip, but have discovered that there is not much cake that makes me unhappy. As Jim Gaffigan so eloquently puts it, “I LIKE CAKE”. I don’t like fruitcake though. And that Mexican wedding cake hovers just above that. I guess I don’t like chunks of stuff in my cake. Well, that narrows it down nicely, doesn’t it?

4. When you’re faced with a big decision are you more of a go with your gut type of person, or are you someone who reasons it all out, weighing the pros and cons?

This is where I think Honey and I are a really good team. He is a more “reasons it all out, weighing the pros and cons” type of person. He is a methodical, thorough researcher and thinker and these are valuable skillz to have when making a big decision. He majors in reason and weighing, but he also minors in gut. On the other hand, I major in gut, I have very good instincts. My guts are pretty accurate. Sometimes unfortunately accurate. Together, with a lot of prayer, we make the big decisions.
5. June is National Dairy Month. What’s your favorite dairy item? Most often purchased dairy item?

I like almost all dairy, but I don’t want to live without cream in my morning cup of chai. I will make a trip to the store just for the cream.
6. Explorer Jacques Cousteau was born on June 11, 1910….what’s something you’ve recently discovered or something you’d like to explore?

I have recently made a sad discovery of something that I don’t want to explore.
7. Are you typical of your generation?

I don’t know, I have never given it much thought. I do think that our generation is different from the previous one and the next one.
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Good thoughts about cake. HILARIOUS.

Have a good week, and I hope it involves cake.

3 Comments

  1. June 12, 2013 at 10:44 AM

    I love my cream too. I won’t drink coffee unless cream is available. That awful powdered stuff? UGH.

  2. Joyce said,

    June 12, 2013 at 12:27 PM

    I love Jim Gaffigan. My hubs has been a similar kind of dad to our girls. He really enjoys them, and has since the day they were born. Happy Father’s Day to your hubs!

  3. deb said,

    June 13, 2013 at 7:56 AM

    Yes, a father who ENJOYS his children gives them such a gift…we are fortunate! I also love my nonfat half and half….and buy it in quantity so I NEVER run out.


Leave a Reply

