Sifting and Sorting

Hi Guys, how about a Friday list on Monday?

Mousey and I spent Wednesday and Thursday out at my Dad’s home on the lake. It appears to be sold (WOO HOO!!), so we have begun the process of packing and sifting through a lifetime of accumulation. Beeve joined us Thursday to haul things to Salvation Army and help Dad pack up his train room.

Mousey and I have been all over the place, closets, cupboards, china cabinets, and storage areas.

Here are some things we have discovered.

We knew my Mom had a love of turtlenecks, Tupperware and teapots. We can now add tablecloths to the list. Something about the t’s.

She also seemed to keep every card, Valentine, homemade gift from her children and grandchildren, and quite possibly every piece of personal correspondence she ever received.

She had a lot of candles. And there are more, I just know it.

And potpourri.

Mousey and I agree, we don’t like the potpourri. The smell or the mess when you accidently tip it over.

We are making progress, but it seems like we have a long way to go.

We are all afraid of going through the Christmas aisle of the storage area. It’s….overwhelming.

It could be a time consuming, black hole, sucking us into an alternate universe.

You think I am being dramatic. I’m really not.

It’s kind of become a funny thread of conversation though.

There are so many things from my childhood and I find myself telling Mousey about the memories the item inspires.

The game cupboard had our original Yahtzee, Clue, Trouble, Scrabble and Scrabble Junior games. Well used games. Well loved games.

Mousey kept some.

She has a burgeoning hope chest.

Honey says it should attract many suitors.

She could possibly be set for life in the household goods area.

I find that Mousey and I do not have the same taste.

She loves most things that I find hideous.

I should just put truly heinous things in a pile for her.

I find I can not get rid of any of the afghans that my Grandma Georgia lovingly crocheted in the 1970s.

They are all in great shape despite being lovingly used for many years.

Some are downright unique colors. Did I mention they were made in the 70s?

I was willing to get rid of a quilt she lovingly made, also from the decade of bad taste. Polyester, and super ugly.

Mousey LOVED it and reclaimed it from the Salvation Army pile.

Sometimes I worry about that girl.

Every time we travel home, the back of Juanita is full of totes and bags.

The this and that of a well lived life.

My rule is I have to put everything away in our house before I head back out.

It’s not like we need anything around here.

But some things you are not ready to let go of.

Another day, it will be easier.

I know this for a fact.

I’m ok with it.

8 Comments

  1. caprilis said,

    June 24, 2013 at 10:38 AM

    Please post a picture of the “super ugly” polyester quilt.

  2. warrenp94 said,

    June 24, 2013 at 11:15 AM

    I have an old polyester quilt and I love it…orange and green and yellow and all!

  3. Wendy Gerstenberger said,

    June 24, 2013 at 11:42 AM

    I can SO relate to what you’re doing….I’m doing at, again! I just wish we had a big house to keep all the things I don’t need, or have room for, but just can’t seem to let go of.And don’t even start with the books!

    • Capri K said,

      June 24, 2013 at 3:26 PM

      Yes, you have LOTS of experience in sifting and sorting!!!

  4. Honey's Older sister said,

    June 24, 2013 at 1:31 PM

    It’s very hard to let go of things. I still have a “shift” (of all things) that my mother wore and I can not bring myself to give it away. Memories just seem to flow don’t they.

    • Capri K said,

      June 24, 2013 at 3:24 PM

      Is a “shift” a slip?
      There is no reason to let it go. It is a memento of your Mama 🙂


Leave a Reply

