Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys!! Thanks for stopping by! You can link up with our hostess Joyce by clicking on the button below. Come on and join the fun!

1. What’s something people might ask you for help with?

Their hairs! It’s my job.

2. What’s something you might ask someone else for help with?

 I ask people for help ALL the time. Advice, be it decorating, gardening, spiritual, parenting or just LIFE. I require help doing things like moving heavy objects, fixing things, opening jars and containers. I am sure there is much more. I am not above being on the receiving end of a helping hand!
3.  Did your family take summer vacations when you were a child? If so, where did you go? If you’re a parent, did/do you plan summer vacations with your own family? Did/do they resemble those you took as a child?
I don’t remember taking too many vacations in the summer as a child. We did go to family camp with our church when I was real young, and I loved that. In later years we went to Florida.

We did much more traveling with our kids in the summer. We went to Family Retreat with Joni Eareckson Tada and Friends for several years in Indiana at a resort on a lake.

We went on many weekend camping trips with our caregroups for years, and those were SO much fun. I can say that now because many years have passed and I can only remember the good, fun things, not the unpleasant side of packing up everything in our house that we might need to live in quasi comfort while we lived in the dirt like dogs!

There were several years of renting cottages with our dear friends The Hostlers!!! Oh my, they were fun trips!!! We named it DEHOSTWALER Camp, and it would take many, many posts to describe all the fun that went on there!

There were also trips out to my parents house on the lake and weekends up at my Uncle Bob and Aunt Phyllis’ cottage on Gun Lake. I might be forgetting some things, I blame the hormonies.

Our big vacations were typically over Easter break.

4.   Pool-lake-ocean…which one is most appealing to you on a hot summer day?
I like the lake, ocean and the pool, but I prefer to be IN a pool.

5.  Have you ever justified using the expression, ‘you gotta be cruel to be kind’?  Was it really necessary or were you rationalizing?

I use a lot of expressions, but that is not one of them.
6.  The Journal of Psychology recently mentioned the results of a survey identifying the ten most hated foods as-liver, lima beans, mayonnaise, mushrooms, eggs, okra, beets, brussel sprouts, tuna, and gelatin.  Of those foods, how many do you actually hate? Anything you’d add to the list?
I do hate liver and beets, but the word is too strong for some of the other items. I actually like lima beans, mayo, mushrooms, eggs, tuna and gelatin. I am not sure about okra and brussel sprouts, I have very limited knowledge of them and would be willing to try them again.

I would add green olives, and green peppers to the list. And sausage with fennel. They are also of the devil.

7. What’s your favorite book or movie set in a beach or lake town?

Within the last couple of years I have read several books in this category. On Folly Beach by Karen White and Island of Saints by Andy Andrews. Both good, and oddly, both featuring a past and present storyline that included German spies from WW2 on American beaches. I am sure there are more, but these two came to mind first.

But if I am being really honest, the best book featuring a beach is Shanna by Kathleen Woodiweiss. I believe the category would be considered a bodice ripper. And Ruark Beauchamp would be considered a major hottie!!!
8. Insert your own random thought here.

Speaking of DEHOSTWALER Camp!!! Back to 2001, in Boyne, Michigan. We stayed at The Moose Lodge.

IMG

I guess it was cooler this year, everyone has a sweatshirt.

IMG_0001 (2)

That’s a little warmer.

IMG_0003 (2)

On Lake Michigan. From left, Intern Autumn, Nurse Lauren, The Ab-Cat, the Hostler’s friend I Think She Lives In Alaska Kellen, Mousey and The Lone Boy.

IMG_0002 (2)

Playing cards was always so fun!

IMG_0004 (2)

Honey, Rae Babe, Capri K and Nurse Lauren playing what appears to be gin.

I think I will have some more pictures to show tomorrow and I am positive Rae Babe’s other half, Jonafin, he’s the best, is in them!!!

Have a hood rest of the week!

5 Comments

  1. jodaleyJoyce said,

    July 10, 2013 at 8:55 AM

    I’ve seen so many pretty pictures of Michigan summer vacations this year. I’m gonna need to get there one day. Lots of people saying they dislike beets and olives today. I love them both…olives might be one of my favorite foods : )

  2. Nan C said,

    July 10, 2013 at 9:27 AM

    My hubs, myself and one of our kids were discussing the statement, “You gotta be cruel to be kind”, the other day. We we discussing what that really means and whether or not said kid WAS taking on that mentality. I, myself, think that’s a preposterous statement and is rubbish.

  3. July 10, 2013 at 5:12 PM

    Number 1: I went to Gun Lake when I was a kid
    Number 2: That cottage is just down the road from my parent’s cottage. Don and I have even peeked in it and thought it lovely. Did you like it?
    What a small world.

  4. deb said,

    July 10, 2013 at 8:41 PM

    Sometimes you do have to be cruel to be kind. Brutal honesty. With some people, this is the only way to get through, to get them to a better place, to help them SEE.
    Of all those food, the only one I strongly dislike is lima beans! yuk!

  5. Laurie said,

    July 11, 2013 at 6:52 AM

    Beets all hated by all at this house. Okra needs to be deep fried and then it is yummy!!!


Leave a Reply

