The Monday Morning List

Hi Guys. Every time I turn around, it’s Monday. Or the weekend. What I mean is, time is mooooving!

I can’t remember if I ever officially told you, but my Dad sold his house! He passed the inspection and the thingy that says the buyer did not pay more than the house is worth, they are just waiting for a closing date now.

He is having an estate sale on Wednesday, praying that many things are SOLD!

After that, we pack up what he wants to keep and haul the rest to The Salvation Army.

It sounds all neat and tidy, but there is a lot of work packed into those two little lines.

He has had company for the last few days, his daughters Margie and Bonnie and granddaughter Shannon came from Florida to The Mitten for a wedding.

I totally lifted these pictures from Margie’s Facebook page. I am hoping that I won’t go to prison since I am not trying to claim them as my own photography!

It was really beautiful the day they arrived and they were oohing and ahhing over the lower temperatures and humidity. Well, yesterday put the kabosh on all that and it is once again muggy Michigan, all hot and sweaty.

I have been on a bit of a tear the last couple of weekends. For those not familiar with the expression, I offer you this from The Urban Dictionary.

On a tear

On a streak or series, usually a winning streak. Will sometimes be used (semi-sarcastically) to define a losing streak.

Our house was bugging me. It needed so much attention in every little area imaginable. The closet in our bathroom was especially annoying and ill functioning. It was the hair accessories. Why do I have so many hair accessories when I only really use 5?

016

The bookshelf in our bedroom was not doing it’s job properly. Then I noticed that there were many books that I didn’t even want any more. I put those into 2 bags; Salvation Army bag and another with some Christian books that I will offer to my friend Sandra who runs the library at her church.

008 (2)

I was then able to get all of the books I wanted to keep on the shelves in a reasonable fashion.

017

The dust. Oh.My.Word.

And the cat fur. How are our cats not bald?

I was also in purge mode in my clothes closet. I was getting fed up with the crammed-ness in there. Yeah, I know, that is not a real word, but you know exactly what I’m talking about, don’t you?

Mousey had been working on this task as well. She has enough clothing for several young girls. i see that she is still adding to the pile.

011 (2)

The fruits of our labor. Mama Mia approves.

Then I vacuumed and mopped and cleaned bathrooms and then just sat on the couch because I was all worn out.

I know these are all things we all do, all the time, but it was concentrated into a day, therefore I feel the need to unload on y’all. It was like I was nesting!

Notice that I did not show you the before pictures? That was intentional.

Oh, The Ab-Cat and I went to see Pacific Rim yesterday. It was good, but she especially loved it because there was fighting and she says in her heart she is a 12 year old boy.

It was 3D. I don’t understand that craze.

The Boy and The Dane are in Sweden right now with her People. He says he now has 2 stamps in his passport!

Keelyody and I are going to try and walk THREE times this week! Considering we have barely made our goal of TWO times a week due to scheduling conflicts, I hope this can occur. I know my body would appreciate the effort.

The physical therapy for my tennis elbow, acquired by NOT playing tennis EVER, has settled into a twice a week mode, Mondays and Fridays. So far, no noticeable change.

What I have noticed? The music from the gym behind the therapy place is very loud and can only be described as the soundtrack of HELL.

I have super good hearing and the music is super duper loud.

Honey, The Ab-Cat and I ate at Outback AND our favorite Mexican place, Chip and Dip this weekend. It goes without saying that it was a yummy eating weekend. But I evidently needed to say it anyway.

Mousey was bummed about the Outback. She said she would have had the ribs. She is liking the ribs these days.

Ok, that’s enough random for anyone. I must get my walking skort on and git over to Keelyody’s. It’s supposed to be a scorcher today, we like to get out there early.

Have a productive day!

4 Comments

  1. Laurie said,

    July 15, 2013 at 12:29 PM

    I hope all those bags are going to the thrift store — maybe you will buy back some of your own things!!!

  2. jodaleyJoyce said,

    July 15, 2013 at 4:33 PM

    I feel the same way about time this summer. I remember when there was nothing on our summer calendar-not these days!! You’ve been busy. I’m sure all the purging feels good. I did a big purge a couple years ago, but am noticing the closets are creeping back up. I don’t think I’ll get to them before the fall.

  3. July 16, 2013 at 9:49 AM

    I do NOT do all that work ALL the time. I wish a tear, or streak or something like it would come along and motivate me to do some of those things! Good work!

  4. deb said,

    July 17, 2013 at 8:45 PM

    The bookshelf looks wonderful! I recently cleaned my pantry out….finding little bugs around was just the motivation needed! Ended up the main culprit was an old, open bag of Cheerios crammed into the corner on the top shelf. Gross!


Leave a Reply

