Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, thanks for stopping by! If you would like to join the other Hodgepodgers, click on the square below and join Joyce and the gang!

1. Picture postcards were first printed back in the mid-1800’s and deltiology is the official name for postcard collecting. When did you last send a postcard?

Receive one? Do you save postcards sent to you? Do you collect and/or send postcards when you travel?

These are the only postcards I have received in recent memory. Both from The Dane, both with very sweet notes, in very neat penmanship, on the back. I especially like the No Whining one, for obvious reasons :)  I kept them because they were from her.

I could not tell you when I last mailed one, probably when I was a kid.

002 (2) 
2. What treat do you most like to indulge in while on vacation?

The last couple of years it has been frozen yogurt. It was previously ice cream because that is Honey’s own personal catnip. I have to say that it is not so much of a draw for me when not vacationing. I think going for ice cream is a fun activity though. 
3. Are you good at hiding your feelings?

 Not in the sense that I stuff my feelings and don’t recognize them for what they are. If someone asks my opinion, I will tell it.

If you are talking about my game face? Then I probably am. Not every thought or conversation is productive. I don’t feel the need to engage with everyone who thinks differently than I do. Two expressions come to mind as I think about this. The first, that I have shared many times from my good friend Jip the Farm Dog, you have to pick your hill to die on. The second, from my wise Mother, if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all. I don’t say anything a goodish amount.

If this is about emotional feelings, that might be a similar answer. I don’t hide my feelings emotionally, but I am not a super emotional, dramatic, wears my heart on my sleeve kind of gal to begin with. I think those who know me well can ascertain my feelings without too much trouble. I just don’t feel that everyone needs to observe my feelings about every little emotion I might be having. Privacy is a valuable thing.

I am not exactly sure if I have answered this the way it was intended, but it’s my take on it.
4. Does your town/city/county still deliver telephone books to your home? Do you check the yellow pages when searching for a local business number or has the internet replaced the phone book in your home?

We get the books all the time! It seems like more than once a year. I never use them. Honey has been known to use them but I think even he has started using the internet for this information.
5. Would you rather be first or last?

I don’t have any need to be first, and I am usually talking in the back, therefore don’t generally get to go first. Plus, I like to observe others, so I can get the lay of the land before I have to go.
6. July is National Park and Recreation Month (in America, but everyone can still play along)…where and when were you last in a park?  Did you participate in any recreational activities while you were there?

I won’t say I have never been, but I have no immediate recollection of this activity.
7.  What was one of your worst ideas?

I am sure there are several things in this category, but the first thing that popped into my mind was from 2001. The reason I am so clear on the date was I did it right before we left for Boyne City, Michigan and Dehostwaeler Camp.  I was making caramelized pecans, melting sugar until it was liquid so I could stir the pecan bits into it. As I poured the mixture out onto the waxed paper to cool, I caught a drip with my index finger. Oh yes I did. Burned the entire pad of my index finger. The whole rest of the day was spent with that finger in a glass of ice water. Who would think one little digit could cause so much pain? Very bad idea.
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Today is the estate sale out at my parents house. There is a lifetime of merchandise laid out all over!!! We are praying that a whole lot of it goes, otherwise we will have to pack it all up and lug it to the Salvation Army. Things are getting down to the wire there. It looks like Dad will have to be out by the end of July and the lady he bought his condo from is not ready to be out just yet. He may be in limbo, with his belongings stashed somewhere! We just keep telling ourselves it’s almost done!

7 Comments

  1. jodaleyJoyce said,

    July 17, 2013 at 7:49 AM

    I hope the sale goes well! I like your answer to #3 : )

  2. auburnchick said,

    July 17, 2013 at 8:11 AM

    Oh my, I’m so sorry you burned your finger, but that sugar/pecan mixture sounds delightful! Hope it still tasted good!

  3. July 17, 2013 at 10:52 AM

    Hope your estate sale goes well.

    I don’t know of anyone that still uses phone books. I wonder how long it will be before they are a thing of the past.

  4. rebeccaonthehomefront said,

    July 17, 2013 at 12:57 PM

    I have burned my finger the exact same way with caramel sauces…I just don’t think, and it smells and looks so good! But, oh, so painful. I hope you enjoyed the caramelized pecans to make up for it!

  5. veronica said,

    July 17, 2013 at 6:47 PM

    Yikes! Your burn story makes my fingers curl…I done similar things like picking up lids I know are hot with my bare hands without thinking! Hope the estate sale goes well 🙂

  6. deb said,

    July 17, 2013 at 8:26 PM

    Since its evening, I’m am sure you are ten toes up after a busy day! Hope many found treasures!
    I have a friend, Leann, who regularly send postcards…watercolors or drawings done by her, each one unique. Just for fun. I love them and have enough to make a book.

  7. keelyody said,

    July 19, 2013 at 1:25 PM

    OMGosh, I just read this. Isn’t it weird that I talked this morning about wearing my heart on my sleeve??? I swear; I just now read this.


Leave a Reply

