Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys! It seems like it has been a while since I have joined up with The Hodgepodgers. It has been a busy summer and blobbing has definitely been put on the back burner. My thanks to Joyce for corralling us every week and giving us something to talk about! Head on over to her place to join the crowd.

1. The first week of August is National Simplify Your Life Week…what’s one thing you could do this week to qualify as a participant?

It would appear that I have already done it! I have not cooked in DAYS. Moving my Dad into his new condo has kept us busy and not at home.
2. It’s also National Peach Month…peach pie, peach cobbler, or please pour me a Bellini?  What’s your peach pleasure?

I like peaches in pie, cobbler, over vanilla ice cream and just a plain old peach. Have never had a Bellini and other than something you pour, not sure what it even is.
3. Eleanor Roosevelt once wrote, "Do one thing every day that scares you." Agree or disagree…explain.

I like quite a few of Eleanor’s quotes but this one is just not that inspiring to me. I don’t feel the need to do something that scares me everyday to feel like I am growing as a person or somehow alive. I am not a big scairdy cat anyway. My fears tend to be things like sharks, snakes, alligators, velociraptors,  being in dangerous places and losing loved ones. I don’t plan to get all up in those fears.

4. What’s your favorite household chore?  Yes-you have to name one.
I don’t mind a lot of household chores. They all have their place in making the house run smoothly and look better. I appreciate that. Running the vacuum over the hardwood to get rid of the debris and cat fur probably makes me feel the best, but it would not be my favorite to do.

I am going to say laundry. I have always been pretty careful with laundry. Lots of spot cleaning when the kids were younger because I don’t like messy clothes, and I am picky about line drying things that could shrink. I don’t mind folding it and it needs to be the way I want so it fits in the drawers better. Putting it away can be another matter entirely! One bad thing about laundry is it is never really done. It’s like the poor, always with you. Matthew 26:11

5. Fodors recently listed (what they’ve dubbed) the ten most beautiful sunset spots in America. Click here to read more and see the pretty pictures, but this is their list:
Butterfly Beach in Santa Monica CA, Mount Haleakala in Maui HI, Old Fort Marcy Park in Santa Fe NM, Laguna Beach CA, Hopi Point in Grand Canyon AZ, Four Seasons in Miami FL, Santa Monica Pier in Santa Monica CA, Gay Head in Martha’s Vineyard MA, Ensign Peak in Salt Lake City UT, and Mallory Square in Key West Florida.
Have you seen the sun set from any of these spots?  If you could choose to watch the sun set this weekend from one spot on the Fodors List, which would you choose?  Where was the prettiest sunset you’ve ever seen?

I have not seen a sunset from any of these places and I would be willing to go to any. I have never rated sunsets, they all look fairly similar to me.
6. What’s your favorite or most used app?  If you don’t use apps how about your favorite or most visited website?
Words With Friends, which Abby just helped me buy on Sunday. YEA, no more ads!

7. We’ve recently passed the halfway mark for 2013…write a seven word sentence that sums up your year thus far.

Oh dear, this is like homiletics, with less words!!!!  2013 will not go into the record books as my favorite year. How about this;

Glad this disappointing year is half over.

or

Four months left to redeem itself, unlikely.

or

Hoping 2014 is a much better year.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

I said I was going to try and take pictures out at my Dad’s new condo yesterday. Yeah, well that didn’t happen. Why do I carry that camera all over the place when I never remember to use it? We did find his pots and pans though! It’s coming along nicely.

Thanks for stopping by, have a good week!

4 Comments

  1. warrenp94 said,

    August 7, 2013 at 11:14 AM

    Peaches are too weird…they are furry fruit. I can’t get over that

  2. Wendy Gerstenberger said,

    August 7, 2013 at 11:39 AM

    I am so with you on #7! NOT that we’re whining!!

  3. skoots1mom said,

    August 7, 2013 at 12:44 PM

    I don’t need any awards for getting on up in any of those fears either…and, Eleanor didn’t push the limit too much either; she had people.

  4. jodaley said,

    August 7, 2013 at 4:02 PM

    We’ve had a strange summer, going from one thing to the next, mostly fun but still I can’t seem to get into a rhythm…I feel like I’m going to need a nice big nap when summer concludes. Glad things are going well with the big move in!


Leave a Reply

