Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, thanks for dropping in for another week of Podging! As always, thanks go out to our hostess Joyce for gathering us together and giving us something to blob about!

1. My daughter earned her Master’s Degree this past weekend…what’s something you’ve ‘mastered’ in recent weeks or months?
I feel like I have become accomplished at purging and moving since that is what I have been doing practically all summer. By the way, my Dad is LOVING his new condo! And we are both relieved and ELATED that the job is done!!!

2. What song most reminds you of your childhood?

That’s a hard one to narrow down. My childhood songs tend to be the ones I heard over at my next door neighbor Tina’s house. She had many older siblings, and was therefore considerably more hip in that area. Their tastes ran the gamut from Simon and Garfunkel to The Beatles, Three Dog Night, to early 70’s rock, to Elton John and his friends Captain Fantastic and The Brown Dirt Cowboy.

But the very first one that popped into my mind was this gem from 1969. We 7 yr. olds sang it a lot, sometimes while going around and around in our tiny backyard wading pools trying to recreate our version of a whirlpool. An oldie but a goodie.

3. What do you think about single gender groups and/or events? Should every group/event be open to both genders?  If not, what sort of exceptions do you think are appropriate?

I think I am not sure what this question is about. Are you asking do I think its ok to to have gatherings for only women or only men? I don’t have any problem with that.

Do I think that boys should be allowed to be in a girl scout troop, or vice versa? Well, that’s a different kettle of fish. If you want to be a GIRL scout, then by definition, I think you should be a girl. Sometimes girls want to be together and do girl things and I imagine the boys feel the same way. If there are boys and girls who don’t want to do the traditional things that these clubs offer, perhaps they could start a club that would meet their needs. I don’t think they need to get in there and make a big ruckus with these existing groups that are happy with the way things are.

I remember one time we had a man visit our Moms In Touch International prayer group. He was a stay at home Dad and we welcomed him with open arms. He never returned after that one meeting and I eventually heard that he didn’t want to join us, out of principle, because he was a dad and objected to our Moms In Touch International name. I thought that was sort of a lame excuse for not wanting to pray for his kids and their public school. Since our prayer group ended up being sort of a rogue group about following some of the guidelines of Moms In Touch International anyway, I thought he missed a good opportunity to pray his kids through school. We certainly would have been willing to call our group Parents In Touch. So there he was, all alone, standing on his principles.

I think Moms In Touch did change their name in the last few years, but I am pretty sure there were not mass demonstrations. Maybe that man should have brought it up to someone in a position to make the change about 20 years ago.
4. What’s your favorite spice? Your favorite dish containing your favorite spice?

This question is more suited for Honey. I don’t use a lot of spices but he does. I have been known to fight for a grilled burger with salt and pepper ONLY.

5.  I saw this question on Marla’s facebook page and asked if I could steal borrow it for the Hodgepodge…thanks Marla!
Chevron patterns are everywhere!  Do you like it or think its just a little too much? Do you own anything ‘chevron’?

I like a touch of chevron but it is not represented anywhere in my wardrobe or home. I think it’s darling though.

6.  What’s something you disliked as a child, but can fully appreciate now?
Going to bed at a reasonable time!

7. What can irritate you very quickly?

Stupid people, drivers distracted by their cell phones. Have you ever noticed that the majority of those pulling bonehead moves on the road are holding a cell phone? Rudeness is very irritating. Constant recitation of busy-ness or stress in their life gets on my last nerve. Everyone is busy and has stress. Get over yourself. Who is in charge of your life? Make some changes for goodness sake. Taking advantage of people causes peevishness. You have all heard these things before!
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Will someone please put the brakes on August??!!!!!! Good gravy this month is flying by!

5 Comments

  1. Nan C said,

    August 14, 2013 at 11:15 AM

    Admittedly I had to look up what a “chevron pattern” was. They make me think of Charlie Brown.

  2. Tammy Doane said,

    August 14, 2013 at 11:37 AM

    Loved the song Dizzy! Couldn’t agree with you more on your random thought.

  3. jodaley said,

    August 14, 2013 at 12:32 PM

    Dizzy! Haven’t heard that on in years, but I liked it too. I loved being a part of Moms In Touch : ) How about the people on their cell phones who forget they’re DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE and suddenly go from 70 to 20 mph as they get caught up in their call-grrrr!

  4. Marla Fabian said,

    August 14, 2013 at 12:34 PM

    I agree with you about August! I actually went to put the date on something this morning and was practically a week behind! Please! Slow down summertime!!

  5. deb said,

    August 15, 2013 at 7:29 AM

    Much agreement on many topics! I just finished making a chevron quilt.


Leave a Reply

