Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys! Head on over to Joyce’s to link up with The Hodgepodgers, it’s a fun thing to do!

1. Labor Day weekend (in the US of A) is approaching…what’s something you’ve labored over this year?

Sorry to be redundant, but I have labored intensely over helping my Dad sort out his and my Mom’s lifetime accumulation of worldly goods in his recently sold house. He is supremely happy in his new condo!!
2. What is one word to describe your ‘job’ or career?

One word, do you know us Joyce??

My job, as defined by my state of Michigan license, is a cosmetologist. I usually just call myself a hairdresser, but not a beautician. That word sounds like I should work down at Miss Kitty’s and do roller sets and blue rod perms all day. And for the record, I have not done a roller set OR a blue rod perm set since I left Virginia Farrell Beauty School in September of 85. 

The word I would use to describe it is part-time. I started working at a salon in 1987 and have continued to work in some capacity ever since. Except for a few times when life intervened and I had to put everything but mothering on a shelf. Some weeks I don’t work at all, and others, like this week, I have people calling right and left.

I mainly do haircuts, color and hi lights with the occasional chemical hair straightening thrown in. Most of my clients have been with me for years and I consider them to be friends. It has served me well, and I like to think it has served them also. Not everyone can call in the evening and schedule their haircut for the next morning!
3. What was your worst or least favorite job ever? Why?

They have all had their pros and cons but I guess I will say Burger King when I was 16. The employees had all worked together for a long time and were not very friendly. I have made lifelong friends at almost all of my jobs and I can only remember the name of one girl that I went to middle school with. Oh and another guy that turned up at the Friendly’s I worked at few years later. I was not sad that volleyball in my senior year made our schedules incompatible.  
4. How do you measure contentment?

I think the world has a very different idea of contentment than the biblical view. In our culture, contentment seems to be having everything you might ever need, monetarily, comfort wise, possessions, status, just everything. No hardships. But the Bible speaks time and time again about being content in all of your circumstances, good and bad. That seems more problematic.

Content when things are going smooth or well? Easy peasy. Content when your life seems to be completely out of control? That can only come from dependence on a really big God and a belief that all things work together for the good for those called according to His purpose. Not always so easy peasy. That’s why they call this life a walk or a journey. We are heading toward a destination, learning as we go.

Philippians 4:19

And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.

Maybe I don’t need everything I think I do. Hmmm. Thoughts to ponder. 

5. Pickles-like or dislike? What is something you eat that requires a pickle? Dill, bread and butter, sweet gherkins…what’s your favorite kind of pickle?

Nothing I eat requires a pickle but I am not opposed to them on a burger. My family loves pickles but I do not seek them out. Sweet pickles make me gag. Them too.
6. In your current house-town-state, what is it you like living close to?

Honey teases me about this sort of thing. I like living where EVERYTHING is convenient. I would not be happy out in the boondocks. I know the boondocks have their charm and beauty, but when I need something I prefer to be able to lay my mitts on it in 15-20 minutes and less is preferable!
7. What is one thing on your ‘want-to-do’ list before summer draws to an official close?

I want to have a Caregroup get together at our house. That’s all I can think of.
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

All that hair talk in question 2 reminded me that I am getting my haircut on Thursday!!!! Boy do I need it!

4 Comments

  1. jodaley said,

    August 28, 2013 at 8:40 AM

    I’m getting mine cut on Thursday too : ) When we moved to the UK we seriously pared down our wardrobes (no closets) and also our belongings since we could only take so much. Definitely made me look at my closet differently, and then all that ‘stuff’ that went to storage and we lived without for six years…a new perspective for sure!

  2. Elizabeth said,

    August 28, 2013 at 9:03 AM

    Your description about beauticians and Miss Kitty had me laughing.
    I, too, like living where everything is conveniently located. I enjoy the country, but after living in the middle of no-where for 18 months, the novelty wore off quickly.

  3. August 28, 2013 at 9:31 AM

    Greatly enjoyed your post…especially about Biblical contentment…

  4. deb said,

    August 28, 2013 at 10:02 AM

    BC (Before Children) we had property in the boonies, expecting to build a house on it…but the practical suburbs won, with no regrets. Contentment…yes, I love what you said about it!


Leave a Reply

