Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hello Hodgepodge People! Thanks, as always, to Joyce for gathering us together to talk!

1. What’s the best thing about growing older?

Hmmmm, there are a lot of things I like. I‘m glad I don’t have to go to school anymore. Glad a lot of the insecurities I felt growing up are gone. With age comes experience and perspective, very good items to have. 
2. When did you first feel like a grown up?

I don’t know, sometimes I still feel like the girl I always was, therefore I am an imposter!
3. Chocolate cake with white icing or white cake with chocolate icing?
Either or, I like cake.

4. What’s the nicest thing a stranger has ever done for you?

Our family has been very blessed by acts of kindness from strangers. When we had our car accident in 1995 and Abby was hospitalized for weeks, we heard from many that her name was on prayer chains all over the country. She was showered with presents from many who didn’t even know us but had heard of our situation through their friends. I think the prayers were the nicest thing. We were held up for a long time by the prayers of loved ones and those we didn’t even know. God hears.  
5.  What’s something you learned from your grandparents?

I learned many things from my grandparents, but I will share these two.

From one Grandma I learned that it is never too late to apologize for a mistake you made years earlier, even if you are in your 80s. I saw the result of that apology, it mattered a great deal to the one who received it.

From the other I learned that we are not too small for God to hear our prayers. I saw her in action and it imprinted on my heart.
6. Wednesday marks a sad day in the history of planet earth-9/11…what’s something you do (or can do) to bring peace to your little corner of the world?

Micah 6:8

He has shown you, O mortal, what is good.
And what does the Lord require of you?
To act justly and to love mercy
and to walk humbly[a] with your God.

I can’t control the behavior of others, only my own. I will try and live as God requires and just maybe it will spread peace in my little corner.

7.  Share a favorite quote, scripture, or song containing the word peace.

John 16:33

"I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world."

This has comforted me more times than I can count. A good reminder that having trouble is not uncommon to man, even though we think it should be. The last line is what we need to remember. Take heart! 
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Capri Patt showed me this commercial yesterday.

Love the spirit of it.

Thanks for stopping by!

3 Comments

  1. jodaley said,

    September 11, 2013 at 5:47 AM

    That is a great ad-I like it too. Sometimes I feel like an imposter too : )

  2. The Henrys said,

    September 11, 2013 at 6:02 AM

    Oh, what a beautiful ad! And your Micah verse has been one two of my kids learned at church camps this summer and has been quoted quite a bit around here lately! Love it!!!

  3. warrenp94 said,

    September 11, 2013 at 3:48 PM

    I never really felt like an adult until my son was born and was very sick…it was the weirdest thing to see him there apparently dying. It sobered me like nothing else ever has. He is fine now of course, but that instantly made me an adult.


Leave a Reply

