A Light at the End of the Tunnel

This is what we have been doing.

We are replacing ALL the carpet. Well, not the basement, but all four bedrooms, the hallway and stairs and the great room. Honey is a carpet ripping and rolling fool these days. As well as a staple pulling, shop vac-ing fiend. He has two more bedrooms to go before they install on Tuesday.

001

Our house is now an echo chamber. A dusty, ugly, echo chamber. I have learned something about myself, if I can’t see it, I don’t clean it. It was mighty dusty on top of the tv/stereo cabinet, and under the beds up by the headboards. YIKES!

016

I have to say, the cats are LOVING it!!!! They always love it when things are all joofered up. It’s like they have a new jungle to hang out in.

 017

Needless to say, there is not a square inch of our home that is not a disaster.

001

All that displaced stuff has to go somewhere.

020

It is all somewhere, in abundance! The only normal room in the house is the powder room.

021

I knew I wanted to paint The Ab-Cat’s room before the carpet came. I had actually told her I would redo her room for her birthday last February. I know, that is pitiful. In my defense, HURTY ELBOW!

She did pick out her colors, comforter and bathroom accessories, but then they just sat around in bags until last week. I will show you her completed room after carpet. It lacks a punch with the nasty subfloor everywhere.

What I did not plan on was painting The Boy and Mousey’s room. It was SO nice painting Abby’s room and not worrying about spilling on the carpet. I decided to hurry up and do the other two as well. Honey and I still like the paint in our room so HALLELUJAH and thank you Jesus for that!

Unfortunately, I had already stacked all of The Boy’s books, bedding and paraphernalia on the window seat in preparation for the carpet, so we had to move it again to slap paint on those walls.

002

The Boy has been notorious for sticking stuff up on his walls for the entire time he has resided in this room. With poster tabs, nails, pushpins and thumbtacks. I took everything down and spackled many holes. After my first coat of paint I had to spackle about THIRTY more!!!!!!

009

Ab’s room, sporting the subfloor.

003

Mousey also decided to paint. Her room wins the prize for the most painted in our house. She started with builders white, transformed to Buzz Blaster Blue and Leap Frog Green, then changed to this white on top, blue on the bottom thing that never really floated my boat.

003

Cutting, the bane of painting. My uniform for the last two weeks.

005 

I just have a tiny bit of ceiling touch up left to do in The Boy’s room but the furniture is stacked right there at the moment. I am going to spend today touching up a couple other rooms that have dings and then will spend a goodish amount of time de-furring our bedroom curtains. I have asked the question before but it bears asking again, how are our cats not bald?

Honey and I are finally going to get to use the king sized bed he found on Craigslist last winter. The frame has been decorating our garage since we brought it home. We have already put our old queen bed down in the guestroom and stacked the guestroom queen bed against the basement wall for The Boy and The Dane to take to Chicago. We have been sleeping in the guest room until we get it set up.

Today is Columbus Day and do you know what that means??? Mattress sales!!!!! And we are hoping we can get a king and have it delivered by Thursday or else we are going to have a slight problem. The Boy and The Dane arrive from Moody that night and she is going to want us out of her room!

We are very excited to finally get this done. It was all really supposed to happen last year but we didn’t get our act together. It seems like it has been a long time since we have done anything inside our house. The last several years were all focused on the outside trying to rectify the Sewer Debacle of 2010.

We finally see a light at the end of the carpet/painting tunnel!

Stay tuned!

4 Comments

  1. caprilis said,

    October 14, 2013 at 8:20 AM

    The Schmenkmans are busy as beavers these days! Can’t wait to see the new carpet!

  2. Barb said,

    October 14, 2013 at 7:00 PM

    Wow. That is a lot of work you have done.

  3. warrenp94 said,

    October 15, 2013 at 1:27 PM

    We slept on mattresses on our floor for 6 weeks as we waited for our new bed to arrive. And we are still working on my daughter’s room that we started in April…I like remodeling to age properly…

  4. Deb said,

    October 15, 2013 at 7:40 PM

    Can’t wait to help you reassemble and arrange and see the results on Friday!


Leave a Reply

