Monday List

Hey Guys! How about a good old Monday list?

The weather in Florida has been delicious! Only one rainy day and scattered cloudiness. No meatballs in sight.

We walked 5 mornings last week. Honey wanted to weekend walk. I said no can do.

Every night there is a show on TV about people buying a house in Alaska. It’s basically House Hunters in Alaska, they show you three and you have to choose.

Did you know it is not uncommon in Alaska to have an outhouse?

Because that’s what I want to do when it’s 40 degrees below zero, head outside to go potty.

Do you know how many times a day you go potty? I don’t know about you, but I go WAY too many times a day to live comfortably in Alaska!!!

They also have what they call a “dry house”, which means you have no running water and have to haul it in?

And you have to find someplace else to take a shower. Like at work, or pay $5 to take one at a laundromat.

Of course, that is exactly what our girls have been facing this week.

Honey had our hot water heater replaced on Halloween by Dumb and Dumber.

It has been nothing but problems.

Leaking, making noise, just sitting there looking all wonky.

Oh, and very iffy hot water.

Beeve has a friend who is coming to take a look at it today. He couldn’t come sooner because he was in Florida. Of course.

The very thing Honey was hoping to avoid, happened.

It’s a good thing his Jedi like mind skills are not that developed. Those first guys would have been in trouble.

We have seen two movies this week, at the BIG movies! Almost unheard of for us!

Captain Phillips and Thor. Both good in their own way.

I have read two good books. Not unheard of for me.

The Travelers Gift by Andy Andrews, which was good.

And The School of Secret Ingredients by Erica Baurmeister which was VERY good!

I was not ready for it to end, and in my research about the book after I finished (as I do) I realized the author has two other books. Joy For Beginners and The Lost Art of Mixing. In the latter, she revisits some of the characters! Oh I am SO excited!

I was telling Honey about the book, and suggesting he might like to read it because it talks about food and cooking, subjects near and dear to his heart, and I thought he might enjoy how the book described the process.

During the conversation I realized that I do not think about food in the same way. I wish I did, but I do not. Honey and I are unequally yoked.

Nonetheless, I loved the book!

I am now reading The Zookeepers Wife by Diane Ackerman. I have to finish it this week because Ab-Cat read it before me and we have had it checked out for three weeks.

Which is the public libraries limit.

I don’t want to go to prison or anything.

If I get to it, the next book on the list is the Book Thief. That would be two books set in the same WW2 era. It could be depressing. I have heard GREAT things about The Book Thief though.

It could not be as depressing as living in Alaska with no running water and an outhouse.

After all, I am only reading about WW2, not actually living the Alaskan dream.

I will keep that in mind.

3 Comments

  1. Laurie said,

    November 11, 2013 at 8:39 AM

    Your description of the Alaskan life reminds me of how it was when we first started coming to the U.P. in the 50’s . No amenities at all. There was no shower — you jumped in the lake with your bar of Ivory soap (because it floats). We still have outhouses although mine is a quite attractive art gallery !! It doesn’t get much use but it’s available for emergencies!!!

  2. Honey's Older Sister said,

    November 12, 2013 at 3:42 PM

    The Book Thief is worst than living in Alaska without running water. It is good though. You grew to love the characters. Enjoy your time in Florida and sure hope that darn water heater gets fixed and fixed properly. 🙂

  3. warrenp94 said,

    November 12, 2013 at 4:48 PM

    I thought Alaska and Michigan were about the same? I mean, both are so far north…too much snow!


Leave a Reply

