Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys! Thanks for stopping by. Many thanks to  our leader Joyce, who has gathered us together 150 times for the Hodgepodge!

1. Describe a typical Sunday from your childhood.

We always got up and went to church, I know that! When I was younger we usually had Sunday dinner at home. I always loved the smell of a roast in the oven when we walked in the door. We did start eating out on Sundays when I was older. After dinner we just played until we had to go BACK to church Sunday night. That is certainly something that a lot of churches don’t do anymore.

I didn’t usually mind unless there was something really good on tv, like one of those specials that only came on once a year, like The Wizard of Oz or a holiday special.  Our kids can’t comprehend waiting a whole year to watch something special in their  always had a DVD world! I did ALWAYS want to watch The Wonderful World of Disney, the fireworks and Tinkerbell in the beginning were always so tantalizing!

2. How comfortable are you with uncertainty? Explain.

Fairly. It seems like we live in an uncertain world, and our family life has always had an edge of uncertainty regarding situations and health. I think we have always tried to do the best we could with what we had at the moment and let God handle all the other variables. It’s not a bad thing to acknowledge you are uncertain about life, but it would be bad if I were not certain of who holds my future.

3. What have you accomplished recently that might be described as crafty, as in ‘arts and crafts’ crafty? If crafty doesn’t work for you, how about handy? Or both?

I don’t know that it was crafty, but it was sort of handy.  I painted 3 bedrooms ans a bathroom last month in preparation for our new carpeting. I had help from Capri P  painting and decorating The Ab-Cats’s room and bath, but the other two were on my own. I wasn’t going to tackle them so quickly but I am SO glad I did!

4. Have you ever worked in a ‘food place’? What did you take away from the experience?

i have been a waitress twice, in very different types of establishments, so I would say I have some experience. The first was at a Friendly’s in our town. It was a lot of fun working with mostly young people like myself. I discovered I was a good waitress and pretty good with people.

The second was a hotel restaurant in Windsor, Ontario, shortly after Honey and I married.  That was a VERY interesting experience! It was a German restaurant and had a pretty specific clientele of German Canadians who liked to gather regularly and do German-y things, like drink and sing!

The hotel was owned by two men who were as different as night and day. Raymond (Ry-Moond)  from Germany, and his OBNOXIOUS  wife Jutta (Uta), and quiet, artistic Robert (Robert) From Austria. This was a very important point for him, he would correct you if you said he was German. Robert was the chef and ran a very precise and delicious kitchen staffed with mainly recent immigrants from Europe. There was only one other waitress for whom english was her native tongue.

Peter the chef was from Poland. His wife was a dancer, he was funny.  His sous chef was Zolt (Jolt) from Hungary, who was young and fun and liked to talk about bands and music. An older woman came in every afternoon to make strudel. she was from Germany and she taught me to make coffee with cold water always! I cannot remember her name.

The girls I knew the best were the other two waitresses, Suzy and Maria, both from Hungary, by way of Austria, each married and each had one child.  They had experienced such different lives  from my own. I liked talking with them and hearing about their lives.  I moved to another country to be with my husband, they left for much more dire reasons.

The last person was Gerhardt, the only other American in the joint. He drove over every weekend from Ann Arbor, Michigan to play accordion and visit with his countrymen and women. He told me about his family and grand kids, and that he was forced to be a soldier in Hitler’s army when he was fifteen.  He said it was awful and he hid a lot. He died before I left. I was glad to have met him.

I guess what I took away from that experience was a glimpse into the life of an immigrant. They so wanted a safe and better place to call home, to have opportunity to work, and work hard, for what they had, and a sweet sense of humor while doing it all without complaining.

I quit when we moved back to Michigan and never saw any of them again. I heard from Honey’s sister Rachel and brother in law Kenny that the place burned down years ago. I hope they are all doing well.

5. Cold turkey, talk turkey, what a turkey…in recent days, which turkey phrase or idiom best applies to you and why? Click on the word turkey if you need to read more about the meaning behind each phrase.

Talk turkey, and for reasons that will remain undisclosed!

6. If you could have any one guest join your Thanksgiving dinner table, who would it be?

It would have to be my Mama, or her Mama, can I have two, pretty please? And can you transport them from heaven?

7. What is one thing you must accomplish today?

Well, the hardest accomplishment we have had here in Florida has been choosing where to have dinner! Other than that, shaving my legs?!

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Honey went fishing with his friend Bob yesterday in Cape Coral and they dropped me off at a nearby Panera, where I was picked up by Capri Patt!!! It was SO fun being with her in Floridy! The best part of the whole day  was getting text updates from Capri Deb about the birth of her new TWIN grand babies that morning!

Thanks for stopping by!

1 Comment

  1. jodaley said,

    November 13, 2013 at 5:12 PM

    Sounds like an interesting work experience. I’ve been talking turkey all afternoon. Not sure I accomplished all that I needed too, but I’m worn out and was happy to see everyone leave. Sounds awful, but I’m a volunteer and have been put in a difficult and icky situation. Hope your ‘turkey’ situation is resolved peacefully.


Leave a Reply

