Storms

Matthew 7:24,25

24 “Anyone who listens to my teaching and follows it is wise, like a person who builds a house on solid rock. 25 Though the rain comes in torrents and the floodwaters rise and the winds beat against that house, it won’t collapse because it is built on bedrock.

It is the week of Thanksgiving, there is talk of gratitude in the air. As it should be.

I can always think of things to be grateful for. The Lord has been good to me and shown Himself in ways that I am very thankful for. “God things” make life worth living.

It’s not so much the thankfulness that I struggle with, it’s the rain that comes in torrents, the rising floodwaters, and the never ending beating winds. It’s been a long time since I felt so tossed by storms. And for that I am thankful as well.

Everyone goes through storms, it is part of our life on this earth.

I remember our former BSF teaching leader once said that if you were not going through a storm right now, you were coming out of a storm, or God was preparing you to go through a storm. It is inevitable, the Christian life does not exempt you from bad weather. Sometimes all we can do is batten down the hatches, hold on, and keep looking to the One who can calm the storm. God is our anchor, our life preserver.

But that doesn’t mean that there is not destruction of property. Or serious injury or casualties. Or that your firm foundation is not scoured down to the bedrock. 

All around me I see fall out from storms. In my Bible study circle of 30 women I can tell you a dozen or more seriously sad tales of hurt, tragedy, and illness with the ability to steal life. Dear friends and loved ones who have had hearts cracked wide open and turned upside down, leaving bits of their lives scattered in a debris field a mile long. Disappointments, depression and dysfunction. Struggles of every shape and size. Satan is having a field day.

But do you know what else I see? I see faith in action. People lifting each other up in prayer, giving hugs and listening ears. Others helping in practical ways. I see prayers being answered. Maybe not answered how we think is easiest, like healing or removing the problem, but in other ways. Strength is given, burdens are carried, peace is found. All while enduring the storm.

I’m thankful for bedrock.

I guess that is what I am most grateful for this season.

Have a thankful Thanksgiving.

 

4 Comments

  1. caprilis said,

    November 27, 2013 at 10:05 AM

    I’m so thankful that you posted this. Hope you don’t mind, but I’m sharing this on Facebook.! Happy Thanksgiving to all of my favorite Schmenkmans! Love you all.

  2. deb said,

    November 27, 2013 at 11:48 AM

    Yes, a post worth sharing and pondering., Praying for you, and wishing you and yours a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  3. deb said,

    November 27, 2013 at 12:06 PM

    I was just talking with a family member about how Christianity is not like believing in Santa Claus(as someone has told me), but more of having an anchor for both storms and calm seasons. So we are not uprooted during the inevitable storms of our life or float away with the prevailing current. And here you have expanded on that so well. Thank you.

  4. Laurie said,

    November 28, 2013 at 9:17 AM

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours. Enjoy those “after turkey naps”.


Leave a Reply

