Spray Paint is Useful

I like to read blogs and watch television shows that repurpose things. Take something old or ugly and make it cute and useful again. I have participated in this exercise myself on occasion, but it has been a while.

When Capri Patt helped me redo The Ab-Cat’s room it became apparent that a few things she needed required a little sprucing up.

Exhibit A, her clothes hamper.

A useful engine to be sure. Probably 8 to 10 years old and showing signs of wear about a quarter of the way up its sides from wheelchair bumpage. Sorry spellcheck, you are going to have to live with bumpage. We have this bumpage ALL over our house; walls, table legs, fridge. It’s the way it is.

Beyond the bumpage, the hamper was the wrong color for her newly painted and redecorated bathroom. Despite the cosmetic difficulties, it remained in fine working condition, and that made us think of a makeover. 

Using Abby’s old torn shower curtain as a drop cloth and armed with some Lowe’s purchased, black matte spray paint, I covered up the unwanted color and the bumpage. All the while holding a hoodie, that someone left in the garage, over my nose. I beg to differ on hoodie spellcheck, it is totally a word on Words With Friends. Get it together man!!!

 005

Just a couple of coats to get into all the nooks and crannies, and now it is once again a fully functioning member of Abby’s bathroom! I had some paint left over to cover future bumpage. Just like winter, it will come again.

002

Exhibit B

Next up, shiny gold light fixture. I knew this would work because we had done the same thing to the same kind of light fixture in Mousey’s bathroom. I was hoping to avoid the second coat, bumpy/ripple hideous thing that happened when spraying Mousey’s, but alas, it was not possible. Honey had to work a little magic before I sprayed again.

 003

It’s not perfect, but I don’t really notice it when it is hanging. Goodbye shiny gold, you won’t be missed.

004

Exhibit C

Last, but not least, this was the reason I bought the spray paint in the first place. This little thing was from Abby’s first bedroom in this house. Very pink and purple and very not her anymore. We found it in her closet when we cleaned it out last summer.

She needed something to put her bills and receipts in, because I was getting a little tired of her Visa bill hanging around on the island until she paid it. My first thought was to cover it with some sort of pretty paper. My second thought was, nah, black is more classic, and quicker!

 001

Loving it!! Returned to function, love that too!!!

007

I now declare her room DONE!

3 Comments

  1. Laurie said,

    December 3, 2013 at 10:25 AM

    It all looks great. The sense of satisfaction in changing the physical appearance of an object and the idea of not throwing things away is a really good feeling. And, I really love the word “bumpage”.

  2. warrenp94 said,

    December 3, 2013 at 4:03 PM

    I have been sketchy checking blogs but the snow is back! Yeah for the snow!

    Cool room colors too…

  3. Honey's Older Sister said,

    December 3, 2013 at 8:57 PM

    I have an awful silver light fixture like Abby’s in my bathroom. What a great idea to just spray paint it. Love her colours. (p.s. — spell check — it is spelt colours in Canada).


Leave a Reply

