Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, thanks for taking time out of your busy holiday schedule to stop by! And double thanks to Joyce, our holiday hostess, for sacrificing her valuable time Hodgepodging with us instead of putting up her snow village!!!

1. Are you doing anything special to mark this season of Advent? If so please share.

I vaguely remember having this sort of question in years past and I have a confession to make. I had never even heard of Advent until about 15 years ago. I know, odd. We don’t do anything with it, and I am still not 100% sure what it all about. 
2. Dasher, Dancer, Prancer, Vixen, Comet, Cupid, Donner, Blitzen…and of course you recall, the most famous reindeer of all…so, which reindeer name best describes you this week?

I am going to say Dasher because I feel like I have been dashing all over tarnation. I looked that word up, as I often do when I have heard something my whole life and realize I don’t know what in the Sam Hill it means. Now I’m going to have to look up Sam Hill.

tarnation

noun – uncountable
  • "damnation". Used in expressions such as, "How in tarnation…", "What in tarnation…", etc.

    I walked all over tarnation today.

    How in tarnation did you do that?

And dumb spell check is trying to tell me that tarnation is not even a word. I don’t get the whole damnation theme and have never considered that when I have used it.

1. Sam Hill

Sam Hill built the roads that connected Eastern Washington to the Coast in the early 1900’s. His estate, now an art museum located in Maryhill, WA (named after his daughter). Many thought he was crazy for thinking the roads could be engineered and completed. The use of his name when planning a task or acting in a way that is considered crazy or impossible.

What in the Sam Hill do you think you are doing?

You are welcome.

Anyway, back to the dashing. Monday was consumed by our drive to Chicago to drop off the goods to The Boy and The Dane, which will have a post of its own whenever the Sam Hill I can get around to it!!

The next two days are consumed by BSF stuff and working. I am filling in the nooks and crannies with all the other Christmas stuff that needs to get done.

Then there is work involved with getting my People ready for the Boy and The Dane’s wedding in 10 days.

Gotta dash!

3. What’s worse-too quiet or too loud? Which have you had more of lately?

I have no problem with too quiet, but too loud gets on my nerves. It seems to always be fairly quiet over here. Wait, take that back, Honey is very loud. I say it’s because his parents were deaf and he never had to be quiet!!!!

I don’t usually have the radio or television on in the house or car during the day.
4. This question comes to you from Zoanna over at

A Penchant for Pens-thanks Zo!
When you are administratively gifted, how often do you find yourself not trusting less gifted people to do what they’ve committed to do?  If you are not so gifted that way, but are reliable, how do you feel when the stronger person (in that area) goes ahead and covers it before giving you a chance to come through?

I do not consider myself administratively gifted, but feel I am reliable. If someone asked me to do something and then did it anyway, I would feel like they were rude and wasting my time, especially if I had already invested effort. I can’t say this happens very often. One thing did come to mind.

One of my tasks at BSF is to field questions, and sometimes to correctly answer their question I have to ask one or two of my own. Years ago I was at the table, doing my thang, and there was a person behind the table with me who was not typically there. A woman came up and asked me a question and I asked a clarifying question, as you do, I opened my mouth to answer and the other person jumped in and and answered like I probably didn’t know the answer. I thought it might have made her look a little know it all.  Probably not a hill to die on though.
5. What is your most dreaded task relating to the holidays? Your most looked forward to holiday task?

You know, any more it’s putting up that dang tree! I dread it!
6. Facebook has released its list of the ‘

most talked about’ topics of 2013. Pope Francis took the number one spot.  Does that surprise you? He was followed by election, royal baby, typhoon, and Harlem Shake. Your thoughts? What was your most talked about topic in 2013? (Facebook, around the kitchen table, or wherever it is you talk)

We probably talked about the election the most. It doesn’t really surprise me that we are not in step with Facebook! Our conversations have centered a little closer to home.
7. What’s something you consider a necessity that others might view as a luxury?

DaVinci sugar free CHAI with cream is a necessity to ME! Good conversations with our children is necessary. I need to have a certain amount of toilet paper on hand to feel settled. We have a lot of bathrooms and …..just because. Cats are needed :) 
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

No time, have to go make soup for our BSF fellowship after leaders meeting today!

Have a productive week!

6 Comments

  1. Hootin' Anni said,

    December 11, 2013 at 6:58 AM

    ….”all over tarnation”….I haven’t heard that expression in ages. A lot are answering Dasher for this particular question…it was a great question and takes a lot of thinking.

  2. jodaley said,

    December 11, 2013 at 7:46 AM

    Wait, wait, wait…you have a wedding in ten days???? How did I miss that??? I missed that! It’s exciting, yes? Best wishes to the bride and groom!

    Also, tarnation and Sam Hill were two of my dads favorite expressions-I heart them : )

  3. Tammy Doane said,

    December 11, 2013 at 8:14 AM

    OMG!! A wedding in 10 days! Oh My! Congratulations to the bride and groom.

  4. December 11, 2013 at 9:36 AM

    Thanks for the story behind Sam Hill. A phrase we used often and I never new how it got started.

  5. April said,

    December 11, 2013 at 9:54 AM

    I use the expression “all over tarnation” a lot, being that I’m from the south. Got it from my mom. Hope your soup making goes off without a hitch!

  6. Robin said,

    December 13, 2013 at 8:38 AM

    I’m catching up with your blog….a wedding? Amazing! And best wishes and blessings to all! (I’m so out of the loop!)


Leave a Reply

