Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, happy week before Christmas! Last Hodgepodge of this year! Thanks, as always, to Joyce for gathering us for this weekly get together!

1. Do you believe in miracles?

Most certainly. Our God is a capital G God and He is still in the business of miracles! I have seen a few things that can not be explained in any other way.

Jeremiah 32:17

17 "Ah, Sovereign LORD, you have made the heavens and the earth by your great power and outstretched arm. Nothing is too hard for you.

2. What’s a recent fad you admit to trying?

I am not very faddish. I am not even sure if this qualifies. I have been expanding my wardrobe to include longer tops and sweaters to wear with leggings and jeggings and boots. I have waited for this fashion trend to make its way around again! It was popular the early 80s, then again in the 90s and I loved it then too. I am all about the comfort. I repeatedly ask my People if it looks like I am trying to look too young. I don’t want to resemble a Hag Barbie. They assure me it’s ok. GOOD, because it’s so dang comfortable!!!
3. Peppermint-are you a fan? If so, what’s your favorite food or beverage containing peppermint?

I like peppermint but I do not seek it out. The only time I intentionally use it is a splash of sugar free DaVinci syrup in my hot chocolate, YUM.
4. Break the ice, on thin ice, as cold as ice (emotionally, not literally)…which phrase have you run into most recently? Explain.

We will be breaking the ice this weekend with The Dane’s family and her and The Boy’s friends. We have never met them in person, but have heard a lot about them!

5. Have you ever broken or spilled something in someone else’s home? Still friends?

I did something to Schmenky’s dishwasher once while visiting her!! I pulled the top out to load some more things and the whole thing crashed down!!! I am pretty sure something broke. She did try and comfort me by saying it had happened before. Yes, we are still friends!!!!!!!
6.  ‘Tis the week before Christmas…are you feeling more like Buddy the Elf or the Grinch before his heart grew?

How about somewhere in between? I don’t know that I ever have as much enthusiasm as Buddy, but I am not terribly Grinchy either! I guess I am leaning a little more Grinch this year because I didn’t feel like decorating.
7. Share a favorite quote relating to Christmas.

This is from the song Mary Did You Know? by Mark Lowry.

Mary did you know that your baby boy is Lord of all creation?
Mary did you know that your baby boy would one day rule the nations?
Did you know that your baby boy is heaven’s perfect Lamb?
This sleeping child you’re holding is the great I am

That’s it in a nutshell, isn’t it?

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

I confess before God and all mankind that I hate shape wear!!!!!!! Getting some of it on is like wrestling with a rubber band. Or a boa constrictor!!

Thanks for stopping by and you have a Blessed Christmas!

10 Comments

  1. April said,

    December 18, 2013 at 7:57 AM

    Love, love, love “Mary, Did You Know?”! Gets right to the heart of what Christmas is all about.

  2. Tammy Doane said,

    December 18, 2013 at 8:10 AM

    Love the song, ‘Mary Did You Know’ Good luck this weekend, I am sure all will go well.

  3. Deb said,

    December 18, 2013 at 8:14 AM

    This will be a very special Christmas for you and your family!

  4. jodaley said,

    December 18, 2013 at 8:47 AM

    Oh you and I are in agreement on the shapewear-ugh! I love the line in that song that says, ” and when you kiss your little baby, you’ve kissed the face of God…’ so amazing to think about. Hope all goes well this weekend! I’ll be thinking of you!

  5. sterlingsop said,

    December 18, 2013 at 11:19 AM

    I love that song!! I heard it for the first time last year with CeeLo Green singing it, and it moved me to tears. Beautiful song and gets right to the heart of Christianity.

  6. Laurie said,

    December 18, 2013 at 6:41 PM

    I like that song, as well. But my favorite is “Mary’s Boy Child” — preferably sung by Harry Belafonte. Have a great holiday season, a beautiful wedding and companionship with the co-inlaws.

  7. warrenp94 said,

    December 19, 2013 at 9:18 AM

    I pretty much agree on peppermint. I like wintergreen a lot more…I might seek out cinnamon but prob not mints of any sort

    • Capri K said,

      December 19, 2013 at 10:02 AM

      Merry Christmas to you Friend Warren! And your loverly family! I think wintergreen is of the devil!

  8. December 19, 2013 at 3:33 PM

    Kelly, I think I commend you on the leggings, jeggings fad. I do like the riding boot fashion but at my age the best I can do is a “SLIGHTLY” skinny jean which means not a boot cut. Your are very courageous and very on point and very cute with the current fad. Fads come and go but I find they really go (I mean GOBE) after at least the age of 70+. Anyone for CORDS?

  9. December 19, 2013 at 3:43 PM

    I agree with you. I cleaned out my socks, tights, trousers socks, golf sock drawer yesterday and found 2 SPANXS panties with elastic type upper legs. I have no idea when I got them or for what reason because I tried them on yesterday and I think they looked worse that my wrinkly tummy and upper leg skin. I think pantyhose do an excellent job at smoothing the unsmooth. However, when I was a teenager myself and every respectable teenager wore a GIRDLE with hooks to attach our hosiery. Not sad to see that FAD go.


Leave a Reply

