Tuesday Flotsam

We spent quite a bit of time last night playing guess how cold it is now? I can’t ever remember The Mitten behaving so, so……frostily. And FYI, our house is cold, but it is not 62, this thingy sits close to the door wall, so it’s a little skewed.

photo

It keeps saying online that the temps are about-12 for our area and the wind chills are about 30 below, but this device is in a sheltered place on our back porch, not exposed to wind, so I am going with the 26 below!

Mousey left for work at 6:30 and when she pushed the new automatic start on her little black car…..nothing. Dead as a doornail.

As dead as a doornail

Meaning

Dead, devoid of life (when applied to people, plants or animals). Finished with, unusable (when applied to inanimate objects).

I met her at the back door with the keys to garage parked Juanita, who started right up. She texted after arriving that the roads were not as bad as she had feared, or else Juanita is way better than her car! Could be a bit of both!

Well, I have no need to brave all that mess, so it looks like another homebound day for Capri Kel.

I am glad you are so gracious about the list format because I may just use it again for more random things that don’t fit neatly into a category.

The Boy told me to download Quiz Up on the iPad. I should not have done that. The game matches you up with random partners of like skill for a match of various trivia. As you know, I am a fountain of useless information, this could quite possibly keep me busy until the 12th of NEVER! I have mainly played 20th century history, but last night I discovered they have a Beatles category! I am a little rusty, but I should do very well here!!!! The kids like the Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings and Indiana Jones categories right nice.

Goomba did not visit with us yesterday, he opted to share his snow day with his mom at her work. Stacey had a picture on instagram of him sitting at a desk, working on some sort of a screen, looking very executive-ish!

I used my extra time to de-silver my part, finish my BSF lesson, Catch up on Words With Friends, read The Long Winter, watch a marathon of House Hunters- Where Are They Now, watch Stargate with The Ab-Cat, and you know, test the limits of my skills on Quiz Up.

Our house has been devoid of Christmas decorations since New Years Day. Hallelujah!!!!!!! Going to bed at 1 a.m. did not stop me from waking at the crack of dawn. After the Danes left at 9 to go back to Chicago, I had an entire day looming ahead of me with no plans. Honey helped me bring up all the boxes before he went back to bed and I just started packing up. I finished around 11 and then joined Honey for a nap. I was very glad to have it done. I always feel like everything needs a super good vacuuming and dusting after all the stuff has been sitting around for a month or so. Yay me!

Mousey and I are having hankerings to hit up a thrift store. We were going to take Danish Fred to the Value World when he was here, but time did not permit. We have no needs, just a strong desire for the hunt of a good bargain. Cheap entertainment. We have tentative plans to meet up with my Father and his wife Marilyn this week in their town for lunch and a field trip. When we visited them last month, our finely tuned thrift senses noticed a HUGE Salvation Army very near them! I am not kidding even a little when I say it was HUGE. They said they had been there briefly before and it sounds interesting. It won’t happen today, as Mousey is already guarding lives and will continue to do so until 4.

Maybe our new couches will come this month!

When my Uncle Bob was here over Christmas we discovered that we share a strange quirk. We knew we both had heels that require the previously mentioned Ped-Egg. We also have an inexplicable itch on our right hip in the winter. How can that be genetic?

Honey sent me this email last night.

Subject: Fwd: Keeping things in perspective………….

March 21, 2010 to October 1, 2013 is 3 years, 6 months and 10 days.
(December 7, 1941 to May 8, 1945 is 3 years, 5 months and 1 day)
What this means is that in the time we were attacked at Pearl Harbor
To the day Germany surrendered is not enough time for this Federal
Government to build a working webpage.  Mobilization of millions, building
Tens of thousands of tanks, planes, jeeps, subs, cruisers, destroyers,
Torpedoes, millions upon millions of guns, bombs, ammo, etc.  Turning
The tide in North Africa, invading Italy , D-Day, Battle of the Bulge, Race
To Berlin – all while we were also fighting the Japanese in the Pacific!
And they can’t build a freaking webpage?

Have a good perspective today.

4 Comments

  1. Laurie said,

    January 7, 2014 at 8:19 AM

    Did I miss something? I don’t think I knew that your Dad had a new wife.
    When did this happen? Was it hard for you? Details, please.
    The U.P. is NOT as cold as you “trolls” — only -10 here this A.M.

    • Capri K said,

      January 7, 2014 at 8:47 AM

      No, my parents have been divorced for about 45 years, both were remarried. My Father and Marilyn have been married forever and my Dad is still a widower. I probably haven’t been very clear because most people I have known a long time are aware. Sorry about that!

  2. tam said,

    January 7, 2014 at 10:54 AM

    De-silvering your part…hysterical!

    • Vickie said,

      January 7, 2014 at 11:37 PM

      Use some of your coconut oil on your itchy hip. It’s winter dry skin. Before I get out of the shower (still wet) I put coconut oil on my dry places. Works great
      and doesn’t make your towels smell rancid like kukuinut oil does


Leave a Reply

