Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, Happy New Year! Hope you are all ready to Hodgepodge! Thanks to our friend Joyce for another year of getting together!

1. Every January 1st since 1976 Lake Superior University has published a list of words they’d like to see banished from the Queen’s English.  Words may be banished due to misuse, overuse or just general uselessness (go here to read more about how the words were chosen).  Here are the words/phrases they’d like to see banished in 2014-
selfie, twerk/twerking, hashtag, Twittersphere, Mr. Mom, T-bone, ____on steroids, the suffixes-ageddon, and -pocalypse added to anything and everything, from the world of politics the words-intellectually/morally bankrupt and Obamacare, and from the world of sports the words-adversity and fan base
Which of these words/phrases would you most like to see banished from everyday speech and why? Is there a word not on the list you’d like to add?

I would like to see twerk/twerking banished from the planet! I wish I could scrub my mind with bleach to rid myself of the memory of Miley on the MTV Awards. And her mother is evidently so proud.  Sheesh.

2. What one unfinished project nags at you begging to be completed in this new year?

Only one? I can think of a few. A couple easier things would be to touch up some walls and then finish painting some doors in our hallway. What I would really like to do is finish my hair/craft room! That will require Honey’s time and money.
3. When did you last have a bowl of soup? What kind? Homemade or from a can? What’s your favorite soup?

Homemade please. We had soup on Sunday night, at the beginning of the Polar Vortex. I made a soup that I found on The Coop Keepers blog. Cheesy Potato Soup was perfect for the weather! I make a cheesy vegetable chowder that is pretty yummy.
4. Snowed in, snowed under, snow job…which one most applies to your life in recent days, figuratively speaking.

Snowed in and froze out due to the previously mentioned Polar Vortex!
5. What’s the funniest movie you’ve ever seen, or at least one of the funniest?

That is a very hard question. There are way too many to choose one so I will list a few that came to mind first. Galaxy Quest is an oldie but a goodie. Steve Carell’s newscast in Bruce Almighty made us laugh until we cried.
6.  In general, would you say you’re clumsy?

No, not really. I can certainly lack grace on occasion though!
7. Elvis Presley was born on Hodgepodge Day (January 8th) back in 1935.  Are you an Elvis fan?  What’s your favorite Elvis tune? If that’s too hard, which Elvis tune do you dislike the least?  Click here for a list of his songs.

I like Elvis in a nostalgic way. I don’t listen to him on purpose, but I do like his songs. Little Less Conversation is good, I am finding I am not sure of the names. Treat me like a fool, treat me mean and cruel, but love me is a good angsty song to sing along on. We’re caught in a trap, we can’t walk out because I love you too much baby, is good too.
8. Insert your own random thought here.

This is one of the hinges on our front door, the other one is fine! I guess we are going to have to fix or reseal something here so we can be ready for the next time we have 26 below zero temperatures!

006

Thanks for visiting  the frozen Mitten, have a good week!

6 Comments

  1. Tammy Doane said,

    January 8, 2014 at 6:46 AM

    Stay warm!! I thought I was cold with just 0-but 26 below 0 -Oh My!

  2. jodaley said,

    January 8, 2014 at 7:02 AM

    I forgot about Galaxy Quest-we loved that movie too. It was on TV over the holidays so I’ve seen it again recently. Stay warm! The temps are ridiculous!

  3. Deb said,

    January 8, 2014 at 10:01 AM

    Soooo cold! I discovered a window was cracked open about 1/4 inch…what a difference since closing it! Been making soup like crazy…chicken noodle, split pea, and today beef stew.

  4. January 8, 2014 at 11:12 AM

    Cleaning the fridge is an unfinished project that is weighing on my mind. I start it but never finish it. I also need to clean my closet.
    Happy New Year!

  5. January 8, 2014 at 1:50 PM

    Isn’t that soup divine? Thanks for stopping by! We are experiencing a balmy 20 degrees ABOVE zero today, and it feels like a heatwave. : -)

  6. Judy said,

    January 8, 2014 at 10:16 PM

    I have Elvis’s top recordings on an mp3 player and when we travel that is all we listen to.


Leave a Reply

