Thrifting and Gratitude

Hi Guys, it would appear the Polar Vortex has moved on. It is in the 20s again, which believe it or not, feels nice! No more slap you in the face, steal your breath, ––degree wind chill. It might actually warm up enough to clear our ice and snow caked roads a bit. That would be nice!

In other good news, our frosted door hinge has thawed.

On the other hand, our entire street still has their garbage sitting at the curb…..since Sunday night. Jip said she got an email from someone in an official capacity, who said they are just not coming this week. I guess we are all early for next week. I notice that everyone’s garbage pile just keeps growing.

Mousey and I gave in to our urge to go thrifting yesterday. Because of the inclement weather and lack of customers, the store was in MUCH better shape than usual! Better organized, well stocked and maybe even cleaned.

I looked at a lot of stuff, but in keeping with my strict guidelines, things had to pass my 2 question test to get put in the cart. Do I need it and do I have room for it? That ruled some things out. I settled on a brand spanking new Lancome makeup bag for .80 pennies, three books for the Goomba/future grandchildren box at .80, .95, and .60 cents from the left.

I have to comment on the Take Me Out of the Bathtub book. We already have one of these,I think I bought it at a Schoolastic Warehouse sale. The author, Alan Katz and the illustrator, David Catrow have made 2 darling books! They are poems made to be sung to the tune of familiar childhood songs, such as I’m Still Here in the Bathtub sung to Take Me Out to the Ballgame or I.T.C.H.Y. sung to Bingo, or the always favorite He’s Got the Whole Beach in His Pants sung to He’s Got the Whole World in His Hands. It has been one of Goomba’s favorites for a while now and I was excited to see that it had a sequel, or a prequel! I guess it is a prequel because I just observed that the one we have is called I’m Still Here in the Bathtub.

We can now sing about Sock in the Gravy sung to Rockabye Baby, Ripped My Favorite T-Shirt sung to I’m a Little Teapot and Stinky, Stinky, Diaper Change sung to Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star, which I guarantee, he is going to LOVE. The pictures are so funny too!

003 

The other purchases were warm, zip up fleece cardi’s for $2 to 4 dollars each. These were very much needed because Honey has not been able to find his and has accused us Girls of theft. He can now lounge again in complete, warm comfort. The black one is for me, added to the two I have, because those 2 clash with some of my sleep pants, color wise. Many of you might not care about that, but I feel Mrs. Schnenkman will be uber proud of me! By default I get one of the red ones too. I bought 2 to give him a choice, so I get the other.

The real bargain of the month goes to Miss Mousey Ann! A super clean, very good condition, vintage Coach purse for $19.99! She is as pleased as she can be with her bargain! She looked it up on line and found it is going for $298.00.

004

We did find some clues to its age in a pocket, a ticket stub for a Detroit Tigers vs the Chicago White Sox  game and a movie stub for Notting Hill, both from 1999

005

Has to be Bargain of the Month!

I have been thinking about adding something to the end of my blob posts in 2014. Sort of like a gratitude journal or a thank you God section. I am still unclear if I should attempt an every post or once a week format. I am also unclear if it should be one thing or several. Since it’s Friday, I can start today and it can be either or! I could start every post and then switch to weekly if need be, that is the beauty of blob ownership! Here we go!

*******Thank you God for…

Only one dead car battery during the Polar Vortex. Honey took care of it and Mousey is back on the road.

Honey’s safe travels during the Polar Vortex. We don’t take safety for granted. Ever.

Causing the new urologist to do something that he hadn’t planned on doing, and finding out something that he was surprised to see. I know that was Your doing, You know all things.

You all are most welcome to join me and add what you are thankful for in the comments!

Have a good weekend!

3 Comments

  1. deb said,

    January 10, 2014 at 8:43 PM

    Wow, what a bargain, Mousey! Thank you for the kid book recommendations…haven’t heard of these. Today, I am thankful for my sweet little granddaughter who is turning ONE very soon.

  2. caprilis said,

    January 11, 2014 at 8:17 AM

    Yes… MATCHING is a virtue!
    Good job Mouse! Are you gonna turn around and sell it on e-bay?
    You need to Skype me and tell me what the doctor found!
    I blobbed!

  3. Cindy Stratton said,

    January 11, 2014 at 9:11 AM

    Good deals all the way around but the Coach bag – what a steal! I have one similar to that but shorter – I’ve had it since the 80’s- saw it on EBay for a ridiculous amount of money because it’s considered vintage as well. Love the makeup bag also – GORGEOUS.


Leave a Reply

