Sharing of the Stuff

Hi Guys, good Monday to the lot of you.

I feel a list coming on.

The Polar Vortex is officially a thing of the past. There was much meltage over the weekend and I am happy to pronounce our ice rink of a driveway is CLEAR!

I am also happy to report that the garbage men came, WOO HOO!!!

I broke in one of the thrift store fleece cardi’s. I chose……wisely. Did I mention that the black one has The Henry Ford embossed on it? I did not realize that was what they are calling The Henry Ford Museum these days.

We actually visited The Henry Ford when The Danes parents were here last month. That was when I received my education on the name change. You learn something new every day.

Well, maybe not every day, but hopefully a couple times a month. No, sometimes it’s every day!

When I visited the museum as a child, the only things I remembered were the HUGE locomotive and the red chair that Abraham Lincoln was shot in. That chair gave me nightmares for some time.

I think the first time I ever went was with my Tennessee cousins, Bill and Carolyn and their two children, Betsey and Billy. Billy’s middle name was Spawn of Satan. A mighty mean boy he was. At least in my 5-8 year old recollection.

I am on day 4 of a vile headache. I thought it might have been caused by the extreme temperature change. Now it’s just hanging on for spite.

The Ab-Cat and I went and saw Saving Mr. Banks with our pal The Peanuts Champ on Saturday. It was very good!

I spent the rest of the day on Google, checking P.L. Travers and Walt Disney and learned that as persnickety as Mrs. Travers was in the film, she was WAY WORSE in real life! I also learned she was not as prim and proper as she appeared. You can Google her yourself.

I also learned that Walt Disney died of lung cancer just a couple years after this time period. I thank him posthumously for his movies. They have given much joy to our children.

I joined The Ab-Cat at the library on Friday. Here are my selections;

002

From the left, Joy For Beginners. Erica Baumeister wrote the book I read and liked so much on vacation called The School of Essential Ingredients. I am hoping to love this as well. The one in the middle is Not The End Of The World by Kate Atkinson. I write down books that people recommend on their blogs. I was looking for another title by this author but could not find it so I tried this one. That is how I found the previously mentioned book. I had been LOOKING for Joy For Beginners and found the other! Can be a good way to discover a new author. The third is English as a Second Language by Megan Crane, whom I have never heard of. No one recommended this book or author. I saw it on the shelf, saw that she had several books, and decided to give it a whirl. Could go either way. On the far right we have Mia, ever the nosey Parker.

The Boy and The Dane are finally back in Chicago after their honeymoon in Florida. They evidentially had a horrendous time getting out of their layover city of Atlanta, due to thunderstorms. They were supposed to leave Florida at 8 a.m. and arrive in the Windy City at 1:17 p.m. The Boy said they finally got into Chicago around 8 in the evening! Well, they made a honeymoon memory!

I forgot to show this to you in the wedding posts.

003

This was in the wedding program. The Dane lost her Grandfather last year and we lost our Mom and Grandma almost four years ago. It was very touching and caught us all by surprise. There were tears. I have always loved that picture of The Boy and his Grandma. Forever present in our hearts.

Ok, that seems to be a good place to end. Go forth and do Monday!

I just realized that I forgot the gratitude thingy. Oh well, they say it takes 30 to create a habit.

***Thank you God for….

breaks in the weather. I can’t imagine being stuck for weeks and weeks.

water coming from our tap. Warren, our favorite friend from West Virginia, can’t use his water right now and it sounds like it is getting very problematic for them all. Prayers for resolution.

our Girls. I just love our Cat and Mouse, they make life full and fun!

NOW, have a good day.

3 Comments

  1. caprilis said,

    January 13, 2014 at 9:36 AM

    What a sweet thing for The Boy and The Dane to do. ❤
    Glad you're warming up in the Great White North

  2. Nan C said,

    January 13, 2014 at 7:31 PM

    I really like the pic of The Boy and Grandma, too. If I were his Momma I would cry too.

    • Capri K said,

      January 14, 2014 at 7:16 AM

      It REALLY took my Dad by surprise and he had to go out in the hall for a bit, and that caused my uncle to respond in kind. A chain reaction. I do love that picture! Did you have a good holiday? Your daughter is a very good driver! We followed her downtown and she did great!


Leave a Reply

