Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hi Guys, thanks for stopping by to Hodgepodge! Many thanks to Joyce, our gatherer, for all she does to make these Wednesdays happen!

1.  Are you a force to be reckoned with? In what way?

I looked that expression up to find out exactly what it meant.

a force to be reckoned with also a force to reckon with

a powerful and influential person or thing

Only at my house!
2. What are two things you love about the wintertime? Or, if love feels like too strong a word, what are two things you ‘like’ about winter?

I like no yard work and winter seems more….cozy.
3. Pomegranate, kumquat, persimmon, kiwi, and guava are all fruits said to have health benefits, particularly during the winter months. Do you have a favorite on the list? Are there any on the list you haven’t tried?

The only one I have tried is the kiwi. The Boy and The Dane are always bringing home strange new fruit to try. Some of it is nasty! One sucked all the moisture out of your mouth and made you pucker! I don’t know that name of that one.
4. I passed a local church yesterday and noticed they had this on their outdoor sign- ‘When all else fails, do the right thing.‘ Your thoughts?

Maybe they failed because they weren’t doing the right thing to begin with! Or else you could say that even if you were doing the right thing, continue to do the right thing. God sees us and I don’t think many regret doing the right thing.
5. Do you ski? According to one list I’ve seen, the top 5 ski destinations for 2014 are-St. Anton Austria, Whistler Canada, Cortina Italy, Tahoe USA, and Zermatt Switzerland.  Of the five listed, which would you most like to visit? We can make skiing optional if that helps the non-skiers with their answer.

I do not ski, nor do I wish to do so. I would be more than happy to visit ANY of those places! 

6.  What’s the last thing you looked for online? (Besides my blog!)

I was trying to gather some information about anodized aluminum cookware as a replacement for teflon. Anyone have an opinion?

7. What saying, slogan, quote, or motto have you seen lately that inspires you for the new year?

Perspective is everything when you are experiencing the challenges of life.

Joni Eareckson Tada  

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

One of the cds that I bought myself for Christmas is Here For You by Passion. My two favorite songs are by Chris Tomlin, All My Fountains and Lord I Need You, which comes as no surprise to me. For a long time I wasn’t listening to anything in my car. I used the time to pray or just think, but lately it had become a time to worry or ruminate on situations out of my control.

My dear friend Vickie encouraged me to return to worship music. She said our souls need it. And she was right.

*****Thank You God for…….

…Chris Tomlin, like David who sang before the Lord, is a man after your own heart.

…his ability to write songs that weave Your truth and Word into songs we can sing back to You like prayers.

…the wisdom of good friends who listen and point us to You. Priceless.

Thanks for stopping by, have a good week!

7 Comments

  1. jodaley said,

    January 15, 2014 at 7:09 AM

    I agree with your friend Vickie! It is hard sometimes to capture worry and turn it into prayer. I think praise music can turn my mood around faster than almost anything else.

  2. Theresa said,

    January 15, 2014 at 9:29 AM

    I have an opinion 🙂 I’d get rid of anything Teflon asap and replace it with stainless steel. I use cast iron for a griddle and do not have any Teflon. I don’t miss it at all.
    Great thoughts on worship music!

  3. April said,

    January 15, 2014 at 9:32 AM

    Love Chris Tomlin…his music gets me every time! Great quote from Joni…love her!

  4. Judy said,

    January 15, 2014 at 9:59 AM

    Got rid of teflon a long time ago. Cast iron is good instead.

  5. Robin said,

    January 15, 2014 at 1:53 PM

    I agree with the thoughts on the Teflon…get rid of it. I’m a stainless steel person after hearing years ago about aluminum contributing to Alzheimer’s. And love Chris Tomlin any day, all day!

  6. deb said,

    January 15, 2014 at 8:08 PM

    I mostly use stainless steel and cast iron…but I like having a nonstick fry pan available for eggs, etc. I’m concerned about the health risks of non stick and aluminum too…and keep its use to a minimum.

  7. automatic7 said,

    January 16, 2014 at 12:44 PM

    Girl you need a pomegranate adventure! They are so fun!! I like them in yogurt, cottage cheese, salads, etc. You can spit out the tiny seeds or just consume them for roughage. The juice is tangy and sweet–better than cranberry juice.


Leave a Reply

