Help Me Please!

Hi Guys! It’s Friday and I have a mattress update.

Good news on the mattress front! We discovered that the return ship has NOT sailed! WOO HOO to the nth degree!!!!!!!

We stopped by the store where we bought the uncomfortable trough mattress and talked with the salesman and he said we have options! Very first thing, they have to send someone out to determine if the mattress is defective, which never occurred to me. I just assumed it was my defective back.

Before anyone gets excited about this new development, I did some looking online and read some reviews of the ISeries by Serta (which I agree I should have done BEFORE purchasing) and several folks stated that this had happened to them too. They check the level of the bed when no one is on it, and I have to say it looks fine. It’s only after lying in it for about 10 minutes that the trough develops. We will see how they handle it when I explain that. They will probably say it has to look sunk in before they say it is defective.

I discovered many reviews that complained of the exact things I am complaining of using the EXACT same words! Words like trough, and giant hill in the middle of the bed, and low back pain, and I HATE THIS MATTRESS! I was glad to see that I am not alone. However, there were several people who said they loved it and it was the best night sleep they had ever had. They must have been small woodland animals, accustomed to sleeping in holes.

So there is jumping through that hoop next week. But then, even if they find no defect, we still have the option of exchanging the mattress for a new one that is sold in their store. This is a one time only option, which makes me nervous as a cat in a room full of rocking chairs. I thought we did pick a good one. Obviously we did not choose wisely and I am pretty sure they are not going to let me spend the night there for a month or so to see if we experience trough-age again!

As I talk about this subject with others, I am very surprised at the number of people who do not like their mattresses! They are on their 3rd or 4th mattress and still have no great love in their hearts for the ones they have. Honey and I must have really hit the mattress jackpot 24 years ago! Our almost 25, non pillow top, non foam of any kind mattress with a 4 year old, Sam’s Club purchased, memory foam pad is WAY better than that uncomfortable, brand spanking new thing we have now! The memory foam topper on our old bed was not trough-y, do they make mattresses that won’t do that? Because who would want that? Whose goal is to have to get up out of a hole to roll over??

While at the store the other night, Honey and I began the arduous process of lying on mattresses, again. Not too soft for him, not too hard for me. I am leery of the pillow top. I am leery of the foam. I fear the trough. We did try a Tempur-pedic that had controls on each side to help unequally yoked sleeping partners like ourselves. But it has foam and it costs twice as much, and I am not keen on paying twice as much for the privilege of sleeping in a trough on top of an air mattress.

This is where I ask you all to do us a solid, even you quiet ones. What kind of mattress do you have? How long have you had it? Pros/cons?  Pillow top, memory foam, air, or old fashioned coil and springs? Would you buy it again? I need DETAILS! Apparently there are a lot of us in the I HATE MY MATTRESS boat. Consider this a public service announcement, let’s hear some chatter!!!!!!!

7 Comments

  1. CapriLis said,

    January 17, 2014 at 10:04 AM

    I neither love, nor hate our mattress so I’m not going to be of much help. However, I’ve heard a LOT of rave reviews on the sleep number beds. YOU control the softness or firmness and you can keep changing it until you get it right. Sounds like a good plan for you.

  2. Cindy Stratton said,

    January 17, 2014 at 11:09 AM

    Well I have a pillowtop that is 10 yrs old (bought it in Florida at Clearwater Mattress) – it’s the type that you don’t flip – WHICH I HATE and apparently nowadays that’s all they make anymore. All you can do is turn it – BIG DEAL! I believe mine is a Serta firm or semi-firm – the mattress itself is fine – I just don’t like the ANTI-FLIP situation. My most favorite mattress was purchased on Woodward and 12 Mile just a year before I moved to Florida (back in 2003) and sold it to my friend Pat who still has it and loves it — it sat very high

  3. Pam D said,

    January 17, 2014 at 12:35 PM

    We bought our Sterns & Foster mattress and foundation from Art Van in November, 2012, and love it. No troughs! It is one mattress, but each side is a different firmness to accommodate our different sleeping preferences. It isn’t one of the sleep number beds, but each half of the mattress is made a different way. (We tried the sleep number at a hotel once and HATED – yes, H.A.T.E.D. – it. As it adjusted to us with each turn, it made noise. I don’t like noise, especially when I’m trying to sleep!) I hope you find what you need!

  4. Capri K said,

    January 17, 2014 at 4:58 PM

    Oklahoma Tammy says:
    We just bought a new king bed about 3 months ago and it has now been named “the bed” by everyone who has laid on it. First of all, about 5 or 6 years ago, our chiropractor told us to do just exactly what your Dr. said to do, right down to buying the memory foam at Sams. She also told us that when it came time to buy a new mattress do not get the pillowtop. She said the fibers in the pillowtops breakdown immediately, leaving those sink holes. The mattress itself is still good but has been ruined because of the broken down pillowtop. She also said not to get suckered into buying the most expensive, just make sure it is sturdy and firm. Then you put your memory foam on top. Now that being said, in November when we bought our bed, we chose a kingsize sleigh bed with an under dresser. That means our bed is on a platform, no boxsprings, with a firm reg. mattress and a Feildcrest 3′ memory foam topper from Target. LIFE CHANGING!!!!! It makes us kind of upset with ourselves that we didnt do this years ago. You would not beleive how far the toppers have come in the past few years. The Fieldcrest is a little bit pricier than our first, but the difference is definitely worth it. We both sleep great, no more headaches or back problems. It really is amazing. Hope this helps.

    • Capri K said,

      January 17, 2014 at 4:59 PM

      Thought I would include her thoughts, since we are all getting educated here!

  5. 3goodkids said,

    January 17, 2014 at 5:00 PM

    We have a stearns and foster we bought it probably about 19 or 20 years ago. It seems to be holding up well. It was pretty pricey (to me) at the time. I haven’t noticed any sagging, we do flip and turn ours regularly.It is not a pillow top or anything special.

  6. sajdear said,

    January 18, 2014 at 2:15 PM

    We have had an i-comfort for almost a year. It cannot be flipped either but did come with a guarantee not to form any troughs. So far we both are very comfortable.
    The thing we like most about it is that it gives and you don’t have to move several times during the night to get comfortable again. When one person moves the other one doesn’t even know because not only is it quiet but it doesn’t cause the other person to roll into them.
    Our chiropractor recommended it for Bill because he was on his feet 12 hours a day and that was hard on his back. It has helped his back tremendously.


Leave a Reply

