ABC’s in the D

The Ab-Cat and I went to Detroit for tutoring with ABC’s in the D last Saturday. We had heat, always a good day!!!

Last year was very bumpy for me. At the beginning of the year I had a basketball loving boy who was not interested in anything I had to say about learning or life, but that kid was there rain, shine or snowstorm. Then I got another boy who was so fun and so sweet and so willing to learn new things, but that boy’s attendance was as spotty as a leopard and he did not return to tutoring this year.

I didn’t know what to expect this year. They asked our preference, and I did request a younger child because the thought of teaching upper elementary math skills causes me to break out in hives. When the tutor assignments came out this year, I was given a boy in first or second grade. On the first day of tutoring, he was not there. The guy in charge paired me with a darling little kindergarten girl. When I passed him in the hall later that morning I looked him dead in the eyes and said very emphatically, I WANT HER!!!! He said he thought I might!

This precious little girl comes EVERY week and she is just darling! She is a little smarty pants for a kindergartener, very good at counting by multiples and recognizing letters. She loves to play games and is not above trying something she has never heard of before. She is very careful and is not above going back to erase and fix something that is not quite right. When I asked her if she would like to read a book she said, I can’t read. I told her she might be surprised. When we looked at the beginner reader and I pointed out words I thought she might know, she hesitantly read them. Pretty soon she read a whole sentence! I said who is a reader? She shyly pointed to herself and said I am. That is our little thing now, whether it’s who’s a reader, or who’s a writer, or who is learning to tell time, she confidently points to herself and says I AM!!!!!

She loves all colors, girly things, and when we did a Martin Luther King Jr. worksheet that asked them to draw a picture of what their dream is, she promptly drew a picture of herself, shopping at a Christmas store. Her favorite free time activity is an app on the iPad where she creates the most over decorated cookie you have ever seen! She wants to hold my hand and sit in my lap and last Saturday we jump roped together, which I have to tell you, I paid for later.

In our last moments of tutoring, before we headed up to the gym, she asked if I had a piece of paper. As I cleaned up our area, she was busy working on something. She folded it shyly and passed it to me.

001

Oh my goodness, be still my heart. I could tell she would have liked more time to decorate and color it all up. I told her I was going to put it on my refrigerator when I got home. She said Ok, you put a flower on it then.

I love her.

*****Thank you God for…

…giving me Leah to tutor.

…giving her the confidence to see she is a reader and a writer!

…knowing just what my heart needed at ABC’s in the D.

6 Comments

  1. Laurie said,

    January 21, 2014 at 8:05 AM

    Sounds like a match made in Heaven — or from Heaven. Enjoy the whole experience, you’ll make a tremendous difference.

    • caprilis said,

      January 21, 2014 at 8:20 AM

      Happy tears first thing in the morning 🙂

  2. deb said,

    January 21, 2014 at 8:36 AM

    Yes, tears from the heart here too. Laurie said it perfectly.

  3. Nan C said,

    January 21, 2014 at 10:04 AM

    Thank You, Lord! Those are definitely kisses on your cheek from Him!

  4. January 21, 2014 at 12:26 PM

    Oh My Word! Teared up at my desk while reading this! So beautiful! <3<3<3

  5. Barb said,

    January 21, 2014 at 6:51 PM

    And having her is appreciated all the more due to the difficulties the first 2 times.


Leave a Reply

