Wednesday Hodgepodge

Welcome to The Hodgepodge! Click the button below to head over to Joyce’s and join up with the other Hodgepodgers, it’s a fun way to spend a Wednesday!

1. It was decided on Sunday the Denver Broncos will meet the Seattle Seahawks in this year’s  Superbowl. So when was the last time you bowled? Not where you thought this question was going is it?  Do you like to bowl? Are you any good?
Hmmmm, I am not sure. I know it has been in the last 6 years because I wrote about it on the blob. We used to always bowl every year or so with our Caregroup and include the kids. I would not say that it is something I would ever seek out, but I didn’t mind it every couple of years. I would also not say I was a good bowler, but I did alright and sometimes I even beat Honey!!

2.   Should sports stars be role models?
I think they certainly can be good role models if they live their lives with some sort of decency and integrity. Sadly, that is not always the case. Just because they know their way around a field or arena or can handle some sort of equipment does not a role model make.

3. January is National Oatmeal month…are you a fan? How do you like your oats?
I do like oatmeal, with Splenda and butter. And cooked. I never knew people ate uncooked oats until The Dane’s father came to visit!!

4. What is one book on your reading list for 2014?

Sparkly Green Earrings by Melanie Shankle, aka Big Mama, finally came in the mail, so there is that!!!!! I also would like to read The Lost Art of Mixing by Erica Bauermeister. I will be looking closely at this question on the other blogs I visit. I have gotten some good reading ideas out in the blogosphere!

5. What would you like your future self to say to your present self?
I would like her to tell me that everything is going to turn out fine, God comes through with immeasurably more than I could ever ask for!!!!!

6. When scrolling through the TV guide, what is one movie title that makes you want to stop, grab the popcorn, and watch for a while?

Well, there are SO many! Just the other night I came in almost at the beginning of The Bourne Identity, which I have seen at least 976 times. National Treasure, Armageddon, I think it’s called The Day After Tomorrow, but we always call Snow Day, and our family’s personal joke, Shooter. Oh, and You’ve Got Mail, always.
7. What are two style trends you hope never come back into fashion?

Flood pants and high waist, acid washed, mom jeans. Shudder! Even if they do, I will not be participating.
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

These two songs have been duke-ing it out to be my favorite for a couple of months now.

Chris Tomlin is my go to worship guy and I LOVE every word of this song.

I first heard this song when we went on a college visit last spring with Mousey to Union in Tennessee.

It speaks my love language, I would marry it if I could.

I guess these two songs are not random, they are inspired by a living God who cares for us. That is good to know.

Have an inspired week.

12 Comments

  1. Judy said,

    January 22, 2014 at 6:11 AM

    It looks like the styles we wore in the 80’s should not make a comeback. Do you remember the leisure suit?

  2. April said,

    January 22, 2014 at 6:12 AM

    Love me some Chris Tomlin! Both songs are winners, in my book! Ahh…yes, I remember acid washed jeans. Nope, not a fan, either! Of course, I was back when they were popular. Now, I feel REALLY old! 🙂

  3. jodaley said,

    January 22, 2014 at 6:40 AM

    Oh I should have put National Treasure on my list too. That’s one we always stop on, especially if it’s nearing the end and ‘the big reveal’ : ) Love me some Chris Tomlin too! Enjoy your day~

  4. Tammy Doane said,

    January 22, 2014 at 7:50 AM

    Love Chris Tomlin. Daughters beg me to not wear momma jeans.

    • Cathy said,

      January 22, 2014 at 7:59 AM

      I’d like to read that book by Big Mama too. Let us know what you think of it.

  5. Barbara said,

    January 22, 2014 at 8:54 AM

    I always enjoy reading the blog posts of gals who are seeking to honor our Heavenly Father. You have done that today. Blessings!

  6. Hootin' Anni said,

    January 22, 2014 at 9:23 AM

    I used to eat the oats [uncooked but with molasses] when we’d feed our horses. VERY good.
    Loved your answer to #5…well stated!

  7. warrenp94 said,

    January 22, 2014 at 2:48 PM

    Uncooked oatmeal?! That’s un-American! Wait…I guess that’s ok then isn’t it?

  8. Barb said,

    January 22, 2014 at 7:40 PM

    I am impressed with the fact you know how to put songs on your blog. 🙂 I don’t.

  9. Kathy said,

    January 22, 2014 at 8:32 PM

    People eat raw oats? I’d never heard that before.

    I just LOVE that song by Christian Stanfill!

    • Vickie said,

      January 26, 2014 at 11:40 AM

      Song “Just Say Jesus “. Byb7eventh Time Down is another one I love !!!! And yes I do love the two songs you posted also!!!

  10. Deb said,

    January 23, 2014 at 9:35 PM

    Shoulder pads, they used to seem so right….but if I try on one of my old coats I can’t imagine wearing it with those football player shoulders.


Leave a Reply

