Six Years of Blog

I asked Honey last night if he knew what yesterday was. He said he did not, and was very surprised when I told him that the blob was SIX!!!!

I can hardly believe it myself. A kindergartner!

Six years ago Mrs. Schmenkman and I decided to dip our toes into the blogosphere, and here we are, still blogging along!

For me, the journey has changed as our children have aged. They are still good blob fodder, just not as frequently. To tell you the truth, I don’t know how I manage to fill posts, day after day, with the sort of things I ponder. According to WordPress, I posted 276 times last year, and that is a lot of lists, observances and useless information to share!

What I do know is it is the fabric of our lives, just like cotton. And I love the fabric, the touch AND the feel of it, and that is in good part due to Y’All!

 

I still love this space, still love the journal it provides for me and my ever forgetful brain, still love keeping in touch with loved ones and making new friends. It’s been a win/win for me, and I am looking forward to the sixth year of all the nonsense you have come to expect over here.

This is what I do every year on the blobs birthday, troll for comments. Comments from the regulars, the regular readers who seldom comment (and you know who you are, ALL of you!)  comments from the newbies, and comments from the lurkers, because there are a whole slew of you!!! It’s all The Blob wants for a birthday present, so it’s a pretty cheap date. Come on now, you can do it!!!!

Thanks for joining me and making this such a fun hobby!

15 Comments

  1. Pam said,

    January 23, 2014 at 7:07 AM

    Hey, I posted on your mattress situation. You can’t expect another post so quickly! (Happy birthday, blog!)

  2. Nan C said,

    January 23, 2014 at 7:45 AM

    Happy Birthday, Blob! (sounds like I’m talking to my hubs) May you have many more, covering things like retirement, more weddings and grandchildren… 😉

  3. caprilis said,

    January 23, 2014 at 8:59 AM

    I agree with Nan C… here’s to many more blobs filled with Schmenkman-isms. ❤ you!

  4. Kayte said,

    January 23, 2014 at 9:18 AM

    I am terrible about commenting on anything, but I am a regular reader and I love the lists.

  5. January 23, 2014 at 12:39 PM

    You know I love reading whatever you’re thinking about on ANY day that you post! It helps keep me informed about the happenings of our extended Dehostwaeler clan! Love you all! ❤ Happy 6th Birthday! <=0)

  6. Robin said,

    January 23, 2014 at 6:55 PM

    Happy Birthday, blob! Thank you for keeping us connected!

  7. Honey's Older Sister said,

    January 23, 2014 at 8:59 PM

    Happy Birthday Blob! I love reading “whatever”! Thank you for all that.

  8. Deb said,

    January 23, 2014 at 9:37 PM

    Happy Birthday to the Blob! Love you, love the blob!

  9. Laurie said,

    January 23, 2014 at 10:31 PM

    Happy Birthday, dear Blob. And a big thank you to it’s creator. So many days you have cheered me up, others have brought tears to my eyes (usually in a good way). You’ve made me think, smile and be thankful for so many things. Keep up the good work !!

  10. BFG said,

    January 24, 2014 at 6:12 AM

    Happy Birthday Blob– I smile every time is see “BLOB”
    always a good read- and many smiles and tears
    keep up the good work

    • Wendy said,

      January 24, 2014 at 9:43 AM

      I miss reading the blob at lunchtime since my company has now blocked “social media”! But I enjoy it when I can! Happy Birthday dear Blob! How time flies! Now I have to go back and find the mattress story!

  11. mousey said,

    January 24, 2014 at 12:49 PM

    Happy birffday

  12. JoanieK said,

    January 26, 2014 at 2:19 PM

    I don’t know how long I’ve been lurking here, but your blog is one of the few that I check almost daily for updates. I am the niece-in-law to many of the Capri’s, Joanie (married to Ben, son of Jim, if that helps). Love to read the clever and inspirational things you have to say. May you have a blessed new year!

  13. Vickie Smoker said,

    January 27, 2014 at 3:15 PM

    Happy Birthday to the Blob…keep it up! I do enjoy checking in and regret not commenting more. I will try to do better if you keep on writing.

  14. warrenp94 said,

    January 27, 2014 at 4:10 PM

    I feel like I used to have a lot more to say and it comes harder and harder now but I still love to do it because it amuses me to go back and re-read stuff. I guess I only really write it for me but I love getting to share with others…and I love getting some insight into my blog-friends’ lives! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

